Home › Schools › Big Ten › University of Wisconsin-Madison

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Conference (2026)
Big Ten
Control
Public
IPEDS UNITID
240444
City
Madison, WI
City population
286,233 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
Metro area
Madison, WI (Metropolitan): 709,685 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
TV market (DMA)
Madison, WI: rank #77, 443,220 TV homes (0.353% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank not found
Endowment
$4.92B (FY2025) · scope: University of Wisconsin Foundation (WFAA) · source
Universities of Wisconsin system fund listed separately ($0.67B)
Annual giving
$414.4M (FY2025) · donor commitments to UW-Madison (WFAA) · source
WFAA also transferred a record $548.8M to UW units

How to watch

Cheapest single package for every Wisconsin Badgers game: Fox One + Peacock Premium, $32.98/mo ($164.90 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $98.94 for the full season, $65.96 from Oct. 1. 6 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).

Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan

Sponsors, apparel & naming

  • Apparel: Under Armour brand: secondary source · $104.5M · 7 yrs + 3-yr option
    Under Armour renewal approved Nov 25, 2025: minimum gross value $104.5M (vs $96.75M prior); 7 yrs (2026-2033) + 3-yr option to 2036; $3M signing bonus; $3.8M cash/yr; $500K min royalty/yr; product allotment $3.2M (wholesale); $175K/yr NIL commitment; $75K marketing fund; royalty 16.5% rising to 25%. CONFLICT SBJ lists $4.05M cash and $6.4M product per year vs regents memo $3.8M cash and $3.2M product (wholesale) - SBJ may include royalty/retail valuation [SP35] [SP39] [SP40] [SP38] [SP34]

Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming

Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.

EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)

Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.

This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 1 of 19 years.

$0$51M$103M$154M$206MFY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
EADA total revenueEADA total expensesEADA football revenue (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal revenueTotal expensesFootball revenueFootball expensesFB share of rev. (calc)Men's BB revenueMen's BB expensesWomen's BB revenueWomen's BB expensesAthletic student aidRecruitingAvg head coach salary, men's teamsFootball participantsUndergrad enrollmentSource
FY2025$190,503,289$180,525,755$112,319,593$40,903,44859%$19,869,281$12,464,124$760,053$5,120,630$18,628,785$2,366,445$1,567,75612235,196source
FY2024$183,762,847$172,873,023$106,732,837$42,297,44858%$18,419,029$11,934,106$1,280,386$4,755,305$17,894,587$2,703,041$1,332,69812434,001source
FY2023$190,554,690$173,758,101$104,160,933$53,898,31055%$18,394,677$11,037,237$1,230,869$4,419,467$17,805,994$2,238,331$1,164,02712133,547source
FY2022$143,998,339$132,104,285$88,651,808$30,560,72362%$15,279,071$8,828,295$752,441$3,628,905$18,031,717$1,784,480$942,38811931,884source
FY2021$101,110,054$101,110,054$48,559,349$21,077,31948%$9,831,234$6,200,287$311,234$3,438,255$17,916,739$147,227$759,13411229,986source
FY2020$143,954,553$137,465,083$87,408,161$29,316,11861%$19,453,045$8,584,987$984,485$3,982,182$16,705,714$1,163,294$826,42911729,750source
FY2019$151,369,153$140,536,659$89,944,636$31,714,09059%$21,701,868$8,548,485$2,070,214$4,340,513$16,003,368$1,438,122$828,76411528,942source
FY2018$146,385,704$136,040,169$82,423,665$30,153,25656%$22,438,795$10,636,714$2,010,049$5,987,741$17,060,111$1,224,327$772,12311528,559source
FY2017$139,430,724$127,296,328$73,548,409$33,147,28753%$23,168,473$9,564,602$1,725,172$5,018,291$15,356,203$1,076,278$713,32311528,201source
FY2016$130,045,544$129,566,181$71,220,684$30,731,31555%$22,808,750$9,834,445$1,620,997$5,519,016$13,937,362$1,128,310$622,23511728,157source
FY2015$125,790,567$122,975,876$44,797,138$26,643,79336%$21,309,114$7,473,012$1,638,185$3,344,856$11,296,439$1,000,867$677,96311227,867source
FY2014$124,928,916$122,114,227$47,284,723$31,282,92938%$19,370,860$7,596,206$1,577,454$3,275,770$10,980,855$1,026,757$564,62212028,183source
FY2013$146,366,405$143,884,191$50,641,993$31,811,28035%$19,225,982$6,520,779$1,607,505$3,004,986$10,706,738$934,893$514,91311327,892source
FY2012$101,490,339$99,962,504$48,416,449$24,231,29748%$17,144,598$6,839,111$1,680,300$3,280,276$10,257,354$835,484$394,14112027,475source
FY2011$93,594,766$92,939,345$43,296,599$23,662,92546%$16,353,313$6,394,547$1,507,930$3,486,137$9,595,256$765,384$444,80010727,374source
FY2010$93,901,820$90,122,238$38,662,971$22,041,49141%$17,666,311$7,539,418$1,451,081$2,959,932$9,390,949$800,746$554,86411627,145source
FY2009$89,842,749$87,679,682$40,005,517$22,711,91445%$14,900,715$5,446,455$1,472,997$3,077,725$9,097,129$792,789$362,36210627,423source
FY2008$93,452,334$91,342,337$37,733,698$22,979,03140%$14,962,970$5,982,027$1,475,075$3,026,456$8,505,629$754,972$435,47112228,999source
FY2007$82,579,472$81,401,732$34,105,991$19,771,06441%$14,332,269$5,315,234$1,450,748$3,084,846$7,965,672$747,066$327,64712027,219source

Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)

NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.

$0$53M$107M$160M$214MFY05FY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
KN total athletic revenuesKN total athletic expensesKN subsidy (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal athletic revenuesTotal athletic expensesFootball spendingFootball coaching salariesConf./NCAA/media/postseasonTicket salesDonor contributionsSponsorship/licensingInst./govt supportStudent feesSubsidy (calc)Subsidy share (calc)Coaches comp.Non-coaching staff comp.Scholarships/aidFacilities/debt/equip.Coaching severanceInst. NIL rev. shareAnnual debt serviceAthletics debt outstandingSource
FY2025$197,927,246$193,630,009$41,495,307$14,948,470$77,920,947$38,384,715$26,219,033$24,757,630$10,421,859$0$10,421,8595%$33,193,725$43,094,721$33,606,697$43,122,096$1,590,446$0$9,884,016$130,627,132source
FY2024$190,637,312$186,740,863$49,682,268$14,513,864$64,801,590$36,659,428$42,720,190$24,300,279$3,015,557$0$3,015,5572%$32,209,757$37,937,762$18,938,929$35,637,666$1,371,170—$10,814,784$105,688,770source
FY2023$197,723,038$194,020,289$64,357,070$14,338,127$63,977,692$33,765,220$51,190,409$26,756,124$3,619,737$0$3,619,7372%$30,738,541$36,245,997$18,355,452$54,785,136$16,747,075—$13,309,120$101,421,914source
FY2022$150,100,977$147,807,183$39,255,866$11,527,815$62,776,957$38,117,093$7,054,061$25,012,976$3,028,185$0$3,028,1852%$25,092,815$31,056,478$18,679,577$43,858,991$388,500—$10,727,128$96,580,689source
FY2021$106,916,838$127,088,011$27,914,023$8,733,710$46,639,131$28,783$28,178,799$22,434,431$3,098,590$0$3,098,5903%$21,026,300$27,050,259$18,021,191$44,954,645$29,000—$8,560,385$101,278,116source
FY2020$148,198,907$149,196,055$36,707,380$10,374,233$66,835,967$35,519,462$13,132,331$13,709,751$2,561,672$0$2,561,6722%$24,252,528$32,012,240$17,573,659$36,495,841$131,734—$9,169,299$78,556,514source
FY2019$157,660,107$154,621,828$40,412,322$9,326,437$70,717,610$33,285,210$17,780,846$13,403,386$3,029,000$0$3,029,0002%$22,699,508$34,291,152$16,649,822$40,337,094$384,907—$11,056,168$83,682,269source
FY2018$151,966,795$149,798,158$38,285,426$9,530,592$68,473,460$32,506,180$15,478,578$13,185,627$2,967,000$0$2,967,0002%$22,084,888$33,204,048$17,207,930$39,111,924$378,340—$10,451,767$90,808,422source
FY2017$143,420,668$142,930,591$33,147,288$6,778,138$53,866,756$28,773,188$24,110,895$13,763,465$2,843,000$0$2,843,0002%$18,437,364$31,212,599$16,324,620$37,656,988$628,669—$11,840,554$97,177,966source
FY2016$132,788,726$130,433,373$30,731,315$6,039,836$46,990,102$30,959,974$21,499,693$7,728,295$2,805,000$0$2,805,0002%$17,530,861$28,684,779$14,593,769$33,889,374$299,577—$12,556,348$105,087,305source
FY2015$123,895,543$118,691,112$30,689,254$6,255,875$41,012,419$28,532,895$22,816,373$6,218,970$7,850,256$0$7,850,2566%$18,130,413$26,057,186$11,996,523$30,774,263$326,424—$12,767,002$111,136,348source
FY2014$127,910,918$125,096,235$31,282,930$5,750,269$38,279,556$27,556,037$38,456,619$4,616,212$8,073,360$0$8,073,3606%$15,931,618$23,775,800$11,051,092$43,227,981$0—$12,577,792$117,033,186source
FY2013$149,141,405$146,659,187$31,811,279$6,150,040$34,535,593$27,675,492$58,907,876$4,289,089$7,859,675$0$7,859,6755%$15,885,784$21,768,187$10,754,708$65,934,345$0—$11,734,276$124,779,662source
FY2012$103,803,040$102,275,206$24,231,299$6,218,048$28,764,498$27,569,088$19,703,260$4,703,863$7,127,453$0$7,127,4537%$15,849,964$21,188,637$10,300,834$25,588,867$0—$9,803,713$121,003,319source
FY2011$96,288,191$95,623,345$23,662,925$5,210,829$28,585,223$27,333,229$14,911,158$3,251,109$7,237,901$0$7,237,9018%$14,148,064$21,039,370$9,638,465$22,593,014$0—$9,933,107$91,077,543source
FY2010$96,038,912$92,259,330$22,041,488$4,001,971$27,069,667$25,732,357$19,247,563$3,133,799$5,485,202$0$5,485,2026%$14,557,280$20,023,294$9,431,937$21,074,628$0—$10,194,863$87,735,827source
FY2009$91,806,135$89,643,069$22,711,914$3,943,126$26,197,145$26,036,340$16,209,704$3,339,279$5,318,624$0$5,318,6246%$12,241,645$19,792,468$9,098,129$20,785,536$0—$10,334,526$93,262,608source
FY2008$95,118,124$93,008,125$22,905,094$4,021,220$25,813,500$26,936,910$18,777,294$2,705,018$5,262,870$0$5,262,8706%$12,805,872$18,076,787$8,788,071$25,882,254$0—$10,298,577$98,669,792source
FY2007$84,312,381$83,134,641—$0$20,613,613$25,426,650$13,749,727$3,361,791$6,027,947$0$6,027,9477%$11,030,636$17,020,136$8,193,060$20,563,574————source
FY2006$78,948,241$78,845,355$22,893,611$4,146,873$16,410,950$21,538,228$19,106,871$2,439,632$5,730,773$0$5,730,7737%$9,900,140$15,053,358$7,721,169$22,254,868$0—$9,000,000$109,000,000source
FY2005$75,814,556$75,719,048$21,993,983$3,784,267$15,173,561$21,072,976$20,269,398$1,745,883$5,454,018$0$5,454,0187%$9,363,248$14,263,238$7,867,347$19,695,284$0—$7,060,919$113,443,842source
Data credit: Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database, a joint project of the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics and the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, Syracuse University.