Home › Schools › Big 12 › West Virginia University

West Virginia University

Conference (2026)
Big 12
Control
Public
IPEDS UNITID
238032
City
Morgantown, WV
City population
30,293 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
Metro area
Morgantown, WV (Metropolitan): 141,995 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
TV market (DMA)
Pittsburgh, PA: rank #27, 1,167,890 TV homes (0.931% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank not found
Monongalia County (Morgantown) is assigned by Nielsen to the Pittsburgh DMA as an 'orphan' county; a 2018 FCC market modification lets satellite subscribers also receive Clarksburg-Weston (DMA #172) stations
Endowment
$889.02M (FY2025) · scope: West Virginia University Foundation · source
Annual giving
$260.7M (FY2025) · new gifts and pledges (WVU Foundation) · source

How to watch

Cheapest single package for every West Virginia Mountaineers game: ESPN Unlimited + Fox One bundle + HBO Max Standard, $58.48/mo ($292.40 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $152.85 for the full season, $107.89 from Oct. 1. 5 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).

Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan

Sponsors, apparel & naming

  • Apparel: Nike brand: secondary source · not disclosed
    Current deal value NOT FOUND in public reporting during this pass (private school, foundation-held contract, or not searched). [SP35] [SP34]

Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming

Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.

EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)

Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.

This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 12 of 19 years.

$0$32M$63M$95M$127MFY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
EADA total revenueEADA total expensesEADA football revenue (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal revenueTotal expensesFootball revenueFootball expensesFB share of rev. (calc)Men's BB revenueMen's BB expensesWomen's BB revenueWomen's BB expensesAthletic student aidRecruitingAvg head coach salary, men's teamsFootball participantsUndergrad enrollmentSource
FY2025$117,413,366$117,413,366$47,642,113$35,250,56941%$10,222,908$10,222,908$5,476,114$5,476,114$11,152,786$2,412,091$239,35712716,811source
FY2024$106,013,297$106,013,297$44,818,776$23,220,34842%$12,797,948$11,075,724$4,586,148$4,586,148$11,457,178$1,901,845$382,47811617,050source
FY2023$103,142,400$103,142,400$18,824,929$23,920,36418%$8,713,368$11,185,351$3,448,193$4,753,640$10,834,601$2,096,030$1,326,34412117,543source
FY2022$97,067,706$97,067,706$19,787,210$22,292,12220%$8,371,424$9,728,135$3,305,196$4,858,250$10,410,301$1,882,410$1,289,69613518,018source
FY2021$64,937,194$64,937,194$13,221,177$16,839,24120%$3,730,048$7,499,341$2,518,625$3,419,901$8,830,604$287,359$1,064,69913718,724source
FY2020$92,884,748$92,884,748$18,962,505$22,221,31720%$8,228,788$10,355,093$2,952,484$4,301,544$9,816,455$1,358,915$1,168,03412719,366source
FY2019$101,095,223$101,095,223$24,692,746$22,290,03524%$8,484,584$10,798,893$3,091,144$4,697,807$10,624,981$1,833,633$1,220,35713219,565source
FY2018$98,851,233$98,851,233$20,543,010$20,961,31921%$7,282,004$10,196,409$3,117,037$4,761,617$10,074,915$1,546,909$1,212,02712620,712source
FY2017$92,593,373$92,593,373$22,453,097$20,122,09524%$6,846,053$9,453,611$2,472,850$4,385,284$11,262,545$1,497,015$1,132,49412820,524source
FY2016$91,412,352$91,412,352$19,300,894$18,531,91721%$6,216,753$9,322,717$2,043,017$4,508,241$10,782,753$1,450,156$1,034,14012520,532source
FY2015$87,265,473$87,265,473$22,510,492$17,367,76926%$6,416,996$9,549,182$1,990,891$4,360,159$9,276,129$1,421,416$1,016,39813120,863source
FY2014$77,626,819$71,278,379$18,606,609$16,981,45724%$5,548,249$7,769,328$1,340,928$3,664,090$8,905,887$1,303,575$1,111,53012321,027source
FY2013$77,706,696$73,501,592$26,190,883$15,977,31734%$7,283,876$7,124,653$2,415,033$3,363,341$8,397,419$1,318,021$912,56812821,118source
FY2012$80,019,885$79,064,291$24,457,152$14,119,29831%$11,252,270$4,350,983$3,961,616$2,569,789$6,388,586$1,037,450$713,12612521,139source
FY2011$58,003,719$58,003,719$19,960,732$13,230,22634%$7,968,819$5,333,891$449,549$2,800,146$6,732,497$726,989$514,40612820,809source
FY2010$62,030,104$56,607,917$29,467,612$14,330,23648%$13,306,654$6,377,761$2,895,854$2,287,745$7,031,509$946,857$535,31913320,260source
FY2009$55,658,165$53,368,035$28,952,873$15,900,88452%$9,632,187$5,963,760$902,641$2,085,716$6,359,990$1,105,115$461,62613920,533source
FY2008$54,262,716$49,052,709$27,552,053$17,778,68651%$7,909,235$5,183,423$558,053$1,999,215$6,663,670$1,411,754$464,42213221,115source
FY2007$46,970,708$42,720,691$25,174,217$13,810,78754%$5,751,575$3,616,895$229,541$1,668,663$5,780,382$1,099,391$468,66314920,590source

Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)

NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.

$0$35M$71M$106M$141MFY05FY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
KN total athletic revenuesKN total athletic expensesKN subsidy (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal athletic revenuesTotal athletic expensesFootball spendingFootball coaching salariesConf./NCAA/media/postseasonTicket salesDonor contributionsSponsorship/licensingInst./govt supportStudent feesSubsidy (calc)Subsidy share (calc)Coaches comp.Non-coaching staff comp.Scholarships/aidFacilities/debt/equip.Coaching severanceInst. NIL rev. shareAnnual debt serviceAthletics debt outstandingSource
FY2025$128,116,313$130,706,709$34,153,489$9,659,086$40,413,221$23,573,673$31,342,719$9,550,743$4,200,000$3,948,358$8,148,3586%$21,577,685$23,633,325$20,713,766$25,669,880$3,860,162$0$10,661,900$132,672,511source
FY2024$108,279,411$109,927,633$25,322,965$8,150,106$36,263,821$19,849,864$26,735,222$10,733,514$4,200,000$3,555,088$7,755,0887%$19,471,223$17,239,052$13,287,173$28,304,953$1,218,500—$13,287,355$137,400,866source
FY2023$105,960,843$103,142,400$24,219,155$8,324,094$40,965,875$17,805,317$23,415,077$9,664,752$3,200,000$3,284,720$6,484,7206%$19,579,935$17,365,899$12,475,178$25,144,547$699,452—$10,662,438$144,545,532source
FY2022$105,193,311$97,067,706$24,342,556$8,715,591$45,667,084$18,763,866$14,672,758$9,657,719$5,500,000$3,387,649$8,887,6498%$19,940,708$15,847,048$11,056,024$26,580,890$169,215—$0$148,865,494source
FY2021$72,982,006$64,814,692$17,233,863$6,979,619$33,838,581$1,904,599$15,292,854$5,596,371$8,987,832$3,006,753$11,994,58516%$16,961,882$14,063,975$10,527,541$10,541,943$457,865—$0$143,449,616source
FY2020$86,869,104$90,208,214$22,221,319$7,455,228$36,528,383$17,842,046$10,923,407$10,331,890$0$3,839,995$3,839,9954%$17,994,476$15,914,885$10,190,348$24,262,768$212,215—$8,587,273$106,346,379source
FY2019$102,680,928$98,249,890$24,046,517$9,021,256$39,149,530$19,226,587$19,017,866$10,503,679$0$3,902,899$3,902,8994%$19,214,691$15,862,653$11,011,020$26,540,478$0—$8,177,665$109,333,190source
FY2018$102,684,423$91,807,281$21,038,496$7,254,667$32,403,915$17,069,314$29,903,164$9,329,878$0$4,107,003$4,107,0034%$16,565,149$16,374,363$11,481,009$17,777,892$0—$9,248,041$189,878,553source
FY2017$110,565,870$89,196,193$19,505,650$6,647,028$32,213,942$20,222,242$34,599,908$7,129,742$0$4,167,480$4,167,4804%$15,168,754$16,006,085$11,024,922$16,013,931$0—$9,381,712$109,905,832source
FY2016$105,140,368$85,900,652$16,645,015$6,456,188$30,561,573$19,354,989$33,485,350$11,426,783$47,298$3,992,498$4,039,7964%$14,442,710$17,484,748$10,161,108$17,668,264$0—$9,357,114$113,750,062source
FY2015$90,523,565$87,265,473$17,367,769$6,566,150$21,934,805$18,536,077$25,887,300$10,966,959$118,216$4,284,949$4,403,1655%$15,154,570$14,535,323$9,461,508$19,837,136$0—$7,130,784$116,965,768source
FY2014$77,626,819$76,618,251$17,161,159$6,848,499$16,332,547$18,816,376$19,689,619$11,711,970$131,485$4,310,037$4,441,5226%$14,588,974$13,313,809$9,006,681$11,916,103$325,000—$5,557,307$12,917,940source
FY2013$77,706,698$73,501,593$16,135,413$5,972,155$12,704,992$21,411,615$23,916,171$4,509,641$131,485$4,330,002$4,461,4876%$12,713,246$13,370,684$8,737,980$14,198,722$313,577—$3,959,041$12,676,862source
FY2012$80,064,869$92,968,960$17,190,592$5,357,593$14,412,202$21,559,658$22,751,667$3,234,875$144,986$4,346,254$4,491,2406%$11,198,339$13,144,560$8,138,086$12,580,443$1,680,902—$3,210,839$30,646,570source
FY2011$60,451,426$61,709,469$12,835,298$0$10,774,197$17,498,204$18,361,108$4,477,953$146,246$4,219,457$4,365,7037%$11,379,790$13,947,231$7,158,470$9,558,315$1,545—$3,857,573$31,338,268source
FY2010$62,030,104$56,607,917$14,330,236$3,966,922$10,821,192$17,552,292$15,729,528$5,926,855$152,392$4,102,845$4,255,2377%$9,480,599$6,884,874$7,948,195$11,521,905$1,546—$3,756,000$38,056,000source
FY2009$55,658,165$53,368,035$15,900,884$3,895,846$8,604,209$16,630,357$15,491,852$6,466,556$202,230$3,953,618$4,155,8487%$8,667,998$6,685,552$6,617,228$11,104,340$1,546—$4,146,000$40,000,000source
FY2008$54,262,716$49,052,709$17,778,686$3,818,842$9,838,509$14,691,173$14,663,736$5,608,873$161,562$3,490,753$3,652,3157%$7,657,024$5,718,727$6,663,670$8,212,690————source
FY2007$46,970,708$42,720,691$13,810,787$3,302,814$7,187,677$12,689,591$13,388,404$4,584,355$172,918$3,338,312$3,511,2307%$6,236,626$5,825,474$5,870,382$9,240,628$6,449——$35,487,646source
FY2006$49,917,536$39,160,670$11,942,160$2,700,852$8,221,512$9,666,049$19,725,057$4,486,561$143,214$2,891,027$3,034,2416%$5,644,878$5,256,638$5,699,400$8,599,054$6,449—$1,772,000$35,906,000source
FY2005$33,541,339$35,853,722$11,328,836$2,524,887$7,146,522$7,671,251$6,917,286$3,936,757$153,821$2,626,805$2,780,6268%$5,169,922$4,737,035$5,346,496$7,518,175$6,449—$1,266,000$37,050,000source
Data credit: Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database, a joint project of the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics and the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, Syracuse University.