Vanderbilt University
- Conference (2026)
- SEC
- Control
- Private
- IPEDS UNITID
- 221999
- City
- Nashville (Nashville-Davidson balance)
- City population
- 721,074 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
- Metro area
- Nashville-Davidson--Murfreesboro--Franklin, TN (Metropolitan): 2,197,416 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
- TV market (DMA)
- Nashville, TN: rank #26, 1,199,400 TV homes (0.956% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank #25 (source)
- Endowment
- $10.86B (FY2025) · scope: Vanderbilt University · source
- Annual giving
- $345.0M (FY2025) · new commitments (record) · source
Financial report shows other measures (GAAP contributions ~$240M)
How to watch
Cheapest single package for every Vanderbilt Commodores game: ESPN Unlimited, $31.99/mo ($159.95 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $70.88 for the full season, $46.92 from Oct. 1. 6 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).
Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan
Sponsors, apparel & naming
- Apparel: Nike brand: secondary source · not disclosedCurrent deal value NOT FOUND in public reporting during this pass (private school, foundation-held contract, or not searched). [SP35]
- Stadium naming: FirstBank · not disclosed · 10 yrsFirstBank Stadium; 10-yr; value not disclosed. [SP71]
Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming
Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.
EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)
Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.
This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 10 of 19 years.
| Fiscal year | Total revenue | Total expenses | Football revenue | Football expenses | FB share of rev. (calc) | Men's BB revenue | Men's BB expenses | Women's BB revenue | Women's BB expenses | Athletic student aid | Recruiting | Avg head coach salary, men's teams | Football participants | Undergrad enrollment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $146,388,389 | $146,388,389 | $44,124,525 | $44,124,525 | 30% | $13,322,320 | $13,322,320 | $8,319,805 | $8,319,805 | $21,497,633 | $2,866,689 | $2,191,976 | 116 | 7,166 | source |
| FY2024 | $140,707,218 | $140,707,218 | $43,613,902 | $43,613,902 | 31% | $17,187,364 | $17,187,364 | $8,375,585 | $8,375,585 | $21,485,076 | $3,873,391 | $1,824,466 | 117 | 7,086 | source |
| FY2023 | $125,133,666 | $125,133,666 | $37,029,861 | $37,029,861 | 30% | $14,586,531 | $14,586,531 | $7,915,818 | $7,915,818 | $19,799,468 | $3,750,491 | $1,886,872 | 108 | 7,078 | source |
| FY2022 | $110,941,948 | $110,941,948 | $33,582,944 | $33,582,944 | 30% | $13,587,388 | $13,587,388 | $7,990,789 | $7,990,789 | $19,334,994 | $3,051,509 | $1,680,200 | 105 | 7,042 | source |
| FY2021 | $101,424,573 | $98,162,624 | $38,858,838 | $38,858,838 | 38% | $10,399,670 | $10,399,670 | $5,226,079 | $5,226,079 | $17,027,906 | $784,557 | $1,466,200 | 112 | 6,983 | source |
| FY2020 | $88,849,982 | $88,849,982 | $33,385,110 | $29,215,452 | 38% | $14,072,415 | $14,072,415 | $6,034,138 | $6,034,138 | $16,794,043 | $1,619,231 | $1,575,183 | 111 | 6,824 | source |
| FY2019 | $86,186,155 | $84,191,143 | $32,108,897 | $28,610,632 | 37% | $10,876,435 | $9,901,818 | $4,401,360 | $4,401,360 | $15,759,619 | $1,831,744 | $1,394,480 | 104 | 6,781 | source |
| FY2018 | $80,093,541 | $74,070,975 | $30,331,584 | $23,476,754 | 38% | $9,739,474 | $7,761,696 | $5,511,406 | $5,511,406 | $15,448,385 | $1,764,347 | $1,288,644 | 102 | 6,791 | source |
| FY2017 | $80,335,651 | $69,803,910 | $29,036,478 | $23,316,024 | 36% | $9,378,279 | $7,168,389 | $5,173,024 | $5,173,024 | $15,314,915 | $1,568,049 | $1,347,098 | 104 | 6,808 | source |
| FY2016 | $78,793,574 | $71,253,541 | $26,782,777 | $22,154,178 | 34% | $9,171,563 | $8,181,142 | $4,403,108 | $4,403,108 | $14,569,366 | $1,349,338 | $1,786,744 | 98 | 6,813 | source |
| FY2015 | $70,661,736 | $68,615,451 | $27,409,392 | $24,136,525 | 39% | $9,919,002 | $9,919,002 | $4,674,110 | $4,674,110 | $13,991,172 | $1,245,435 | $1,837,531 | 107 | 6,775 | source |
| FY2014 | $63,724,520 | $63,724,520 | $24,975,402 | $21,504,346 | 39% | $8,552,626 | $7,075,750 | $4,417,447 | $4,417,447 | $13,026,816 | $1,539,969 | $1,345,548 | 108 | 6,755 | source |
| FY2013 | $61,122,469 | $61,122,469 | $22,628,642 | $21,279,144 | 37% | $8,766,682 | $7,084,431 | $5,574,838 | $5,574,838 | $13,111,849 | $1,512,151 | $1,344,997 | 115 | 6,712 | source |
| FY2012 | $55,836,373 | $55,836,373 | $21,282,267 | $18,524,921 | 38% | $9,342,207 | $8,602,286 | $5,050,794 | $5,071,612 | $12,121,992 | $1,364,617 | $1,273,341 | 112 | 6,726 | source |
| FY2011 | $55,632,098 | $49,864,555 | $22,455,110 | $16,507,997 | 40% | $8,732,026 | $7,411,745 | $5,106,214 | $4,680,429 | $11,973,374 | $1,068,482 | $959,572 | 105 | 6,813 | source |
| FY2010 | $49,915,713 | $45,726,384 | $22,506,492 | $14,152,061 | 45% | $9,182,578 | $6,930,433 | $4,565,188 | $4,565,188 | $10,896,592 | $941,516 | $779,836 | 105 | 6,729 | source |
| FY2009 | $45,582,274 | $44,111,900 | $18,564,940 | $14,181,678 | 41% | $8,021,361 | $7,000,487 | $4,685,004 | $4,685,004 | $11,026,391 | $874,825 | $855,737 | 109 | 6,572 | source |
| FY2008 | $45,521,855 | $45,521,855 | $16,924,277 | $14,999,780 | 37% | $7,495,815 | $7,495,815 | $5,168,110 | $5,168,110 | $9,804,194 | $940,362 | $764,986 | 105 | 6,532 | source |
| FY2007 | $39,021,876 | $39,021,876 | $15,219,537 | $13,382,699 | 39% | $6,620,614 | $6,237,243 | $793,918 | $4,172,493 | $9,254,162 | $740,517 | $557,613 | 105 | 6,378 | source |
Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)
NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.
Not covered: Knight-Newhouse includes public schools only.
Form 990 compensation (private school)
IRS Form 990 Schedule J / Part VII via ProPublica, FY2025 (990 tax year 2024, FYE June 2025). Total = reportable compensation from the filing organization and related organizations. Names and titles as filed. Only the highest-paid employees are listed, so “not listed” does not mean unpaid. Not comparable with EADA or Knight-Newhouse figures.
| Position | Name (as filed) | Title (as filed) | Total comp. | Base | Bonus |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Football head coach | Clark Lea | Head Football Coach [title from Schedule O] | $4,354,357 | $4,082,289 | $194,000 |
| Men's basketball head coach | Mark Byington | Head Men's Basketball Coach (eff. 5-15-2024) [title from Schedule O] | $2,710,329 | $2,477,196 | $100,000 |
| Athletic director | Candice S Lee | Vice Chancellor for Athletics and University Affairs and Athletic Director [title from Schedule O] | $1,396,932 | $1,203,476 | $93,000 |
All athletics people listed: Jerry Stackhouse (Head Men's Basketball Coach (until 5-1-2024) [title from Schedule O]): $4,788,385 ; Clark Lea (Head Football Coach [title from Schedule O]): $4,354,357 ; Mark Byington (Head Men's Basketball Coach (eff. 5-15-2024) [title from Schedule O]): $2,710,329 ; Timothy C Corbin (Head Baseball Coach [title from Schedule O]): $2,047,379 ; Candice S Lee (Vice Chancellor for Athletics and University Affairs and Athletic Director [title from Schedule O]): $1,396,932. EIN 620476822. Filing on ProPublica.
Schedule J Part III severance note: Certain Individuals Listed in Form 990, Schedule J, Part II received a severance payment in connection to their termination of status as an officer or employee. 1 payout was made under a severance agreement: Jerry Stackhouse: $3,460,000