University of Utah
- Conference (2026)
- Big 12 (Joined Big 12 Aug 2, 2024 (from Pac-12))
- Control
- Public
- IPEDS UNITID
- 230764
- City
- Salt Lake City, UT
- City population
- 218,428 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
- Metro area
- Salt Lake City-Murray, UT (Metropolitan): 1,308,377 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
- TV market (DMA)
- Salt Lake City, UT: rank #28, 1,163,520 TV homes (0.927% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank #27 (source)
- Endowment
- $2.07B (FY2025) · scope: The University of Utah · source
- Annual giving
- $518.5M (FY2025) · total fundraising (+53%) · source
How to watch
Cheapest single package for every Utah Utes game: ESPN Unlimited + Fox One bundle + HBO Max Standard, $58.48/mo ($292.40 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $118.89 for the full season, $106.91 from Oct. 1. 6 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).
Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan
Sponsors, apparel & naming
- Apparel: Under Armour brand: secondary source · not disclosed · adidas 7 yrs from 2027
- Multimedia rights: Crimson Brand Partners (Utah/Otro Capital JV) · not disclosed
Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming
Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.
EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)
Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.
This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 7 of 19 years.
| Fiscal year | Total revenue | Total expenses | Football revenue | Football expenses | FB share of rev. (calc) | Men's BB revenue | Men's BB expenses | Women's BB revenue | Women's BB expenses | Athletic student aid | Recruiting | Avg head coach salary, men's teams | Football participants | Undergrad enrollment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $125,167,576 | $118,667,209 | $95,930,953 | $41,410,554 | 77% | $16,981,671 | $8,954,515 | $764,775 | $5,015,772 | $16,643,646 | $2,376,960 | $1,118,270 | 126 | 23,669 | source |
| FY2024 | $111,749,094 | $111,749,094 | $72,804,610 | $43,371,848 | 65% | $11,780,734 | $8,294,961 | $872,487 | $4,900,796 | $14,902,423 | $2,579,530 | $1,126,128 | 127 | 22,272 | source |
| FY2023 | $111,483,459 | $110,060,805 | $75,135,497 | $40,457,816 | 67% | $15,036,488 | $11,803,281 | $748,165 | $4,383,158 | $12,994,286 | $2,273,776 | $1,115,322 | 151 | 21,189 | source |
| FY2022 | $97,107,481 | $90,906,746 | $66,755,247 | $33,743,482 | 69% | $10,934,704 | $10,353,132 | $411,158 | $3,658,065 | $12,245,226 | $1,987,174 | $900,178 | 123 | 20,294 | source |
| FY2021 | $71,380,496 | $71,380,496 | $53,093,029 | $21,386,170 | 74% | $3,834,221 | $8,475,318 | $124,602 | $2,539,746 | $11,793,156 | $302,545 | $954,465 | 132 | 18,660 | source |
| FY2020 | $89,893,359 | $84,559,544 | $62,643,143 | $31,759,405 | 70% | $9,140,259 | $8,638,948 | $286,673 | $3,187,136 | $11,546,191 | $1,433,471 | $1,090,868 | 132 | 18,534 | source |
| FY2019 | $94,177,912 | $86,281,327 | $63,181,908 | $29,262,589 | 67% | $10,511,632 | $8,965,613 | $214,491 | $3,163,899 | $10,970,056 | $1,975,183 | $965,249 | 131 | 18,130 | source |
| FY2018 | $82,467,618 | $74,368,191 | $55,835,312 | $25,609,244 | 68% | $9,754,858 | $8,808,011 | $284,709 | $3,249,683 | $10,354,038 | $1,962,836 | $997,101 | 129 | 17,840 | source |
| FY2017 | $74,774,278 | $70,332,270 | $51,559,243 | $24,483,890 | 69% | $8,754,441 | $8,454,976 | $263,803 | $2,949,242 | $9,944,679 | $1,878,142 | $975,630 | 127 | 17,081 | source |
| FY2016 | $70,346,405 | $65,328,348 | $47,685,530 | $22,044,668 | 68% | $8,876,677 | $8,053,466 | $260,679 | $3,131,258 | $9,588,312 | $1,594,911 | $823,892 | 114 | 16,787 | source |
| FY2015 | $64,629,551 | $62,881,439 | $42,931,079 | $19,553,655 | 66% | $8,343,112 | $6,103,014 | $210,660 | $2,667,852 | $8,019,394 | $1,139,069 | $600,158 | 125 | 16,912 | source |
| FY2014 | $59,005,590 | $57,819,434 | $36,850,739 | $16,139,584 | 62% | $6,628,333 | $4,227,533 | $133,947 | $2,141,826 | $7,431,611 | $1,062,846 | $533,981 | 118 | 17,035 | source |
| FY2013 | $51,792,903 | $51,792,903 | $27,640,267 | $14,362,313 | 53% | $5,425,714 | $4,155,280 | $148,573 | $2,194,830 | $7,524,835 | $1,198,411 | $442,399 | 127 | 17,297 | source |
| FY2012 | $46,153,197 | $46,153,197 | $20,759,062 | $14,835,266 | 45% | $5,937,555 | $3,685,514 | $172,957 | $1,779,216 | $6,990,293 | $1,073,578 | $433,747 | 123 | 16,846 | source |
| FY2011 | $38,091,533 | $36,944,373 | $21,235,202 | $11,426,280 | 56% | $6,220,172 | $3,516,570 | $316,948 | $1,741,658 | $6,009,431 | $753,608 | $382,758 | 124 | 16,139 | source |
| FY2010 | $31,859,038 | $31,859,038 | $14,690,174 | $9,896,863 | 46% | $6,235,593 | $3,118,371 | $217,508 | $1,394,301 | $5,791,367 | $689,477 | $389,516 | 121 | 14,953 | source |
| FY2009 | $31,776,878 | $30,983,856 | $16,388,182 | $9,848,706 | 52% | $6,022,417 | $2,516,621 | $155,937 | $1,358,949 | $5,162,658 | $631,414 | $349,815 | 111 | 14,359 | source |
| FY2008 | $26,949,005 | $26,949,005 | $12,088,406 | $7,987,363 | 45% | $5,919,672 | $2,461,429 | $320,154 | $1,266,932 | $4,697,265 | $571,332 | $236,949 | 118 | 21,421 | source |
| FY2007 | $25,913,332 | $25,913,332 | $11,184,198 | $8,163,679 | 43% | $5,320,911 | $2,461,267 | $236,158 | $1,239,284 | $4,686,228 | $496,101 | $229,138 | 118 | 2 | source |
Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)
NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.
| Fiscal year | Total athletic revenues | Total athletic expenses | Football spending | Football coaching salaries | Conf./NCAA/media/postseason | Ticket sales | Donor contributions | Sponsorship/licensing | Inst./govt support | Student fees | Subsidy (calc) | Subsidy share (calc) | Coaches comp. | Non-coaching staff comp. | Scholarships/aid | Facilities/debt/equip. | Coaching severance | Inst. NIL rev. share | Annual debt service | Athletics debt outstanding | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $140,252,864 | $135,560,135 | $51,792,175 | $17,058,252 | $43,714,395 | $14,035,708 | $49,862,630 | $15,717,133 | $6,168,381 | $6,458,932 | $12,627,313 | 9% | $28,061,533 | $23,991,208 | $20,026,822 | $24,997,872 | $1,990,894 | $0 | $9,192,448 | $90,742,848 | source |
| FY2024 | $109,793,853 | $126,835,478 | $52,345,937 | $17,806,243 | $33,831,618 | $14,836,499 | $29,748,969 | $11,262,851 | $7,416,289 | $6,221,532 | $13,637,821 | 12% | $29,420,279 | $21,571,459 | $15,259,413 | $20,852,436 | $360,221 | — | $9,639,560 | $95,875,729 | source |
| FY2023 | $126,256,291 | $124,453,484 | $51,843,385 | $16,176,969 | $41,364,705 | $12,841,187 | $34,899,703 | $12,196,867 | $12,028,639 | $6,117,811 | $18,146,450 | 14% | $27,417,418 | $20,279,506 | $13,467,982 | $20,711,957 | $3,552,511 | — | $9,992,949 | $101,205,305 | source |
| FY2022 | $115,719,266 | $111,880,434 | $40,071,987 | $13,843,569 | $44,412,634 | $15,286,819 | $28,843,990 | $8,365,175 | $7,375,102 | $6,141,558 | $13,516,660 | 12% | $24,245,391 | $17,607,591 | $12,813,550 | $19,979,274 | $3,886,948 | — | $9,994,199 | $106,176,947 | source |
| FY2021 | $51,021,217 | $82,056,884 | $22,975,592 | $9,887,970 | $21,579,858 | $29,620 | $8,014,646 | $7,578,142 | $6,681,429 | $5,933,069 | $12,614,498 | 25% | $19,762,762 | $17,079,755 | $12,246,298 | $14,617,137 | $1,714,565 | — | $8,114,050 | $111,836,274 | source |
| FY2020 | $97,217,204 | $95,185,806 | $33,317,718 | $11,795,175 | $38,945,635 | $18,498,658 | $11,931,812 | $11,610,979 | $6,907,784 | $6,041,538 | $12,949,322 | 13% | $23,167,963 | $17,898,523 | $12,075,084 | $14,054,915 | $482,850 | — | $4,640,015 | $42,928,194 | source |
| FY2019 | $99,526,695 | $96,000,514 | $31,061,561 | $9,796,049 | $37,259,417 | $19,931,102 | $12,399,426 | $12,150,918 | $6,615,020 | $5,979,493 | $12,594,513 | 13% | $20,609,929 | $15,926,209 | $12,344,714 | $14,528,256 | $1,272,824 | — | $4,644,345 | $45,135,410 | source |
| FY2018 | $91,386,593 | $87,578,834 | $29,808,363 | $9,088,760 | $36,030,558 | $18,730,043 | $9,638,735 | $9,927,600 | $6,417,276 | $5,956,842 | $12,374,118 | 14% | $19,170,085 | $13,181,124 | $10,894,082 | $13,427,178 | $932,486 | — | $4,644,965 | $47,696,330 | source |
| FY2017 | $83,672,639 | $81,620,307 | $26,761,391 | $7,565,305 | $35,011,216 | $17,097,290 | $9,031,413 | $5,544,140 | $6,364,677 | $6,057,038 | $12,421,715 | 15% | $17,286,516 | $12,958,784 | $10,688,218 | $12,495,897 | $758,652 | — | $4,177,853 | $75,022,912 | source |
| FY2016 | $79,447,512 | $78,051,971 | $24,727,560 | $6,781,096 | $32,796,954 | $16,976,245 | $8,549,247 | $5,400,513 | $5,835,686 | $6,084,769 | $11,920,455 | 15% | $15,425,501 | $11,600,794 | $10,683,237 | $13,250,701 | $442,990 | — | $3,843,365 | $79,208,469 | source |
| FY2015 | $62,441,552 | $58,734,014 | $18,817,619 | $5,839,925 | $24,310,041 | $13,100,456 | $7,978,494 | $3,759,182 | $2,873,927 | $5,926,012 | $8,799,939 | 14% | $13,349,206 | $9,930,179 | $8,667,970 | $6,836,233 | $633,055 | — | $2,047,675 | $76,555,586 | source |
| FY2014 | $56,470,310 | $50,531,606 | $16,062,071 | $5,638,864 | $16,523,190 | $13,679,024 | $9,967,838 | $3,391,602 | $3,778,955 | $6,083,151 | $9,862,106 | 17% | $11,313,635 | $10,320,752 | $8,093,457 | $4,297,544 | $83,419 | — | $2,049,525 | $50,212,538 | source |
| FY2013 | $46,855,283 | $49,520,152 | $15,670,497 | $4,841,174 | $10,446,957 | $12,039,126 | $7,457,524 | $3,351,855 | $4,184,344 | $6,055,156 | $10,239,500 | 22% | $10,114,828 | $8,852,560 | $8,034,269 | $4,787,260 | $425,666 | — | $1,988,488 | $25,195,000 | source |
| FY2012 | $40,838,218 | $43,719,503 | $15,713,226 | $4,696,792 | $5,302,325 | $11,287,925 | $8,361,527 | $3,106,605 | $3,969,621 | $6,012,882 | $9,982,503 | 24% | $9,618,557 | $6,942,147 | $7,534,981 | $4,381,039 | $516,667 | — | $1,006,328 | $3,000,000 | source |
| FY2011 | $38,091,538 | $36,846,478 | $11,781,103 | $3,379,792 | $4,154,554 | $10,393,556 | $7,600,616 | $2,716,878 | $3,968,970 | $5,412,597 | $9,381,567 | 25% | $7,626,743 | $5,763,732 | $6,559,477 | $3,465,165 | $341,757 | — | $3,545,000 | $400,000 | source |
| FY2010 | $30,882,390 | $31,742,827 | $10,660,873 | $3,017,818 | $4,175,348 | $7,887,230 | $5,750,835 | $1,798,128 | $4,369,890 | $4,168,754 | $8,538,644 | 28% | $7,171,708 | $4,685,752 | $6,108,470 | $2,862,574 | $175,000 | — | $1,265,000 | $7,545,000 | source |
| FY2009 | $32,026,436 | $31,302,138 | $10,423,458 | $2,968,754 | $6,239,295 | $7,873,997 | $5,213,246 | $2,041,903 | $3,988,518 | $3,719,204 | $7,707,722 | 24% | $6,613,125 | $4,546,308 | $5,557,562 | $2,701,014 | $175,000 | — | $1,190,000 | $8,810,000 | source |
| FY2008 | $27,447,140 | $27,928,663 | $8,947,125 | $2,400,289 | $3,745,121 | $7,179,957 | $4,887,461 | $1,899,841 | $3,479,363 | $3,633,154 | $7,112,517 | 26% | $6,009,370 | $3,588,571 | $4,992,312 | $2,623,488 | $175,000 | — | $1,125,000 | $10,000,000 | source |
| FY2007 | $25,913,332 | $26,328,003 | $8,161,549 | $0 | $4,345,600 | $7,386,628 | $4,554,345 | $401,719 | $3,301,654 | $3,558,403 | $6,860,057 | 26% | $5,253,798 | $3,527,042 | $5,085,619 | $3,019,975 | $53,693 | — | — | — | source |
| FY2006 | $25,046,766 | $24,477,346 | $6,985,956 | $2,214,605 | $3,134,133 | $7,692,268 | $4,876,238 | $75,769 | $3,058,901 | $3,478,743 | $6,537,644 | 26% | $5,343,629 | $3,403,275 | $4,254,977 | $2,226,000 | $0 | — | $0 | $0 | source |
| FY2005 | $25,506,145 | $21,311,639 | $6,917,088 | $0 | $7,219,234 | $6,971,262 | $3,668,651 | $98,100 | $2,671,796 | $3,330,990 | $6,002,786 | 24% | $4,537,221 | $2,787,545 | $4,633,152 | $1,693,760 | $42,662 | — | — | — | source |