University of Southern California
- Conference (2026)
- Big Ten (Joined Big Ten Aug 2, 2024 (from Pac-12))
- Control
- Private
- IPEDS UNITID
- 123961
- City
- Los Angeles, CA
- City population
- 3,869,089 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
- Metro area
- Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim, CA (Metropolitan): 12,844,441 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
- TV market (DMA)
- Los Angeles, CA: rank #2, 5,835,790 TV homes (4.650% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank #2 (source)
- Endowment
- $9.03B (FY2025) · scope: University of Southern California · source
- Annual giving
- not available (no fundraising total found; nothing estimated) · searched source
Accounting proxy (not a fundraising total): GAAP proxy: $717M contribution revenue (USC 2025 Financial Report)
How to watch
Cheapest single package for every USC Trojans game: Fox One + Peacock Premium, $32.98/mo ($164.90 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $85.95 for the full season, $65.96 from Oct. 1. 5 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).
Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan
Sponsors, apparel & naming
- Apparel: Nike brand: secondary source · not disclosedCurrent deal value NOT FOUND in public reporting during this pass (private school, foundation-held contract, or not searched). [SP35]
- Multimedia rights: Learfield (from 2026; previously Playfly) · not disclosed · 15 yrs
- Stadium naming: United Airlines · $69M ($4.3M/yr) · 16 yrsUnited Airlines Field at the LA Memorial Coliseum; >$69M over 16 yrs (2018). [SP68]
Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming
Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.
EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)
Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.
This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 19 of 19 years.
| Fiscal year | Total revenue | Total expenses | Football revenue | Football expenses | FB share of rev. (calc) | Men's BB revenue | Men's BB expenses | Women's BB revenue | Women's BB expenses | Athletic student aid | Recruiting | Avg head coach salary, men's teams | Football participants | Undergrad enrollment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $234,029,848 | $234,029,848 | $74,014,972 | $74,014,972 | 32% | $13,074,782 | $13,074,782 | $9,610,324 | $9,610,324 | $28,643,971 | $6,783,390 | $1,935,002 | 116 | 20,071 | source |
| FY2024 | $242,378,198 | $242,378,198 | $74,868,267 | $74,868,267 | 31% | $13,886,793 | $13,886,793 | $7,247,724 | $7,247,724 | $24,741,327 | $5,922,264 | $1,773,757 | 113 | 20,386 | source |
| FY2023 | $212,013,703 | $212,013,703 | $69,117,490 | $69,117,490 | 33% | $10,943,295 | $10,943,295 | $6,096,280 | $6,096,280 | $22,455,716 | $4,440,363 | $1,756,529 | 116 | 20,057 | source |
| FY2022 | $187,650,353 | $187,650,353 | $69,910,492 | $67,655,498 | 37% | $7,241,439 | $9,496,433 | $5,687,731 | $5,687,731 | $21,810,828 | $4,217,479 | $1,404,959 | 131 | 20,110 | source |
| FY2021 | $122,345,826 | $122,345,826 | $29,432,107 | $29,357,314 | 24% | $7,145,203 | $7,174,744 | $3,221,775 | $3,156,242 | $21,969,214 | $615,655 | $986,679 | 133 | 18,560 | source |
| FY2020 | $127,801,994 | $127,801,994 | $53,380,160 | $36,363,652 | 42% | $6,540,372 | $7,031,040 | $2,952,488 | $2,957,804 | $19,618,944 | $1,493,257 | $868,797 | 118 | 19,449 | source |
| FY2019 | $118,687,120 | $118,687,120 | $50,046,008 | $32,124,522 | 42% | $6,275,440 | $6,901,843 | $2,836,460 | $2,894,674 | $19,068,144 | $2,045,761 | $875,024 | 116 | 19,047 | source |
| FY2018 | $116,948,216 | $116,948,216 | $60,171,935 | $32,949,542 | 51% | $5,961,525 | $6,488,543 | $3,000,920 | $3,032,810 | $17,760,104 | $1,742,344 | $760,325 | 110 | 18,465 | source |
| FY2017 | $113,174,912 | $113,174,912 | $59,837,839 | $30,184,975 | 53% | $5,457,322 | $5,775,866 | $2,960,163 | $2,983,417 | $17,253,531 | $1,627,399 | $627,701 | 107 | 18,070 | source |
| FY2016 | $106,195,078 | $106,195,078 | $51,240,237 | $31,186,065 | 48% | $4,948,398 | $5,266,779 | $2,709,500 | $2,836,654 | $16,108,663 | $1,548,014 | $534,645 | 109 | 18,015 | source |
| FY2015 | $105,919,366 | $105,919,366 | $45,886,944 | $30,575,240 | 43% | $4,678,781 | $4,771,128 | $2,626,668 | $2,707,730 | $14,512,831 | $1,400,431 | $540,266 | 112 | 17,898 | source |
| FY2014 | $106,528,649 | $106,528,649 | $44,841,874 | $30,275,084 | 42% | $6,818,145 | $6,916,841 | $2,820,166 | $2,863,788 | $13,796,131 | $1,220,188 | $483,024 | 104 | 17,578 | source |
| FY2013 | $97,802,254 | $97,802,254 | $43,809,684 | $23,049,962 | 45% | $5,523,833 | $5,562,585 | $2,524,194 | $2,531,955 | $13,505,588 | $1,088,363 | $647,202 | 110 | 17,497 | source |
| FY2012 | $84,149,146 | $84,149,146 | $34,410,822 | $23,123,733 | 41% | $4,809,914 | $4,854,498 | $2,271,128 | $2,271,714 | $12,528,684 | $1,254,857 | $568,556 | 108 | 16,617 | source |
| FY2011 | $75,707,273 | $75,707,273 | $31,148,724 | $19,423,723 | 41% | $3,717,501 | $4,181,515 | $146,798 | $2,320,047 | $11,586,659 | $992,414 | $461,579 | 107 | 16,563 | source |
| FY2010 | $75,748,665 | $75,748,665 | $29,080,117 | $20,820,468 | 38% | $3,535,629 | $4,548,364 | $128,277 | $2,042,273 | $10,851,235 | $885,475 | $591,408 | 108 | 15,984 | source |
| FY2009 | $80,151,282 | $80,151,282 | $35,203,483 | $21,370,573 | 44% | $3,830,563 | $4,719,236 | $224,551 | $1,932,338 | $11,297,622 | $912,060 | $651,516 | 106 | 15,839 | source |
| FY2008 | $76,409,919 | $76,409,919 | $28,595,881 | $20,963,700 | 37% | $4,457,028 | $4,764,822 | $194,146 | $2,036,208 | $10,877,442 | $971,767 | $642,254 | 109 | 15,600 | source |
| FY2007 | $76,383,688 | $76,383,688 | $31,705,207 | $18,699,944 | 42% | $3,747,231 | $4,149,235 | $259,210 | $2,199,916 | $10,836,337 | $903,799 | $570,265 | 109 | 16,729 | source |
Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)
NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.
Not covered: Knight-Newhouse includes public schools only.
Form 990 compensation (private school)
IRS Form 990 Schedule J / Part VII via ProPublica, FY2025 (990 tax year 2024, FYE June 2025). Total = reportable compensation from the filing organization and related organizations. Names and titles as filed. Only the highest-paid employees are listed, so “not listed” does not mean unpaid. Not comparable with EADA or Knight-Newhouse figures.
| Position | Name (as filed) | Title (as filed) | Total comp. | Base | Bonus |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Football head coach | LINCOLN RILEY | HEAD FOOTBALL COACH | $11,802,958 | $10,355,294 | $100,000 |
| Men's basketball head coach | ERIC MUSSELMAN | Head Men's Basketball Coach as of 4/04/24 [title from Schedule O] | $6,104,853 | $3,300,862 | $0 |
| Athletic director | not listed | ||||
All athletics people listed: LINCOLN RILEY (HEAD FOOTBALL COACH): $11,802,958 ; ERIC MUSSELMAN (Head Men's Basketball Coach as of 4/04/24 [title from Schedule O]): $6,104,853. EIN 951642394. Filing on ProPublica.