Home › Schools › SEC › University of Texas at Austin

University of Texas at Austin

Conference (2026)
SEC (Joined SEC July 1, 2024 (from Big 12))
Control
Public
IPEDS UNITID
228778
City
Austin, TX
City population
1,002,632 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
Metro area
Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos, TX (Metropolitan): 2,620,945 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
TV market (DMA)
Austin, TX: rank #34, 1,029,800 TV homes (0.821% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank #32 (source)
Endowment
$6.49B (FY2025) · scope: UT Austin (institution-level; UT System reports each institution separately) · system or combined figure · source
UT System total in NACUBO: $27.17B (includes share of Permanent University Fund).
Annual giving
not available (no fundraising total found; nothing estimated) · searched source
University-wide FY2025 fundraising total not published in sources found. Athletics alone (Longhorn Foundation) reported >$171M cash+pledges in 2024-25.

How to watch

Cheapest single package for every Texas Longhorns game: ESPN Unlimited, $31.99/mo ($159.95 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $46.92 for the full season, $35.94 from Oct. 1. 6 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).

Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan

Sponsors, apparel & naming

  • Apparel: Nike brand: secondary source · $250M ($16.7M/yr) · 15 yrs
    Nike 15-yr deal (2015) worth $250M: $20M upfront, $6.5M cash/yr, plus apparel; ~$16M+/yr avg. [SP35] [SP58] [SP54] [SP34]

Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming

Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.

EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)

Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.

This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 1 of 19 years.

$0$93M$185M$278M$371MFY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
EADA total revenueEADA total expensesEADA football revenue (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal revenueTotal expensesFootball revenueFootball expensesFB share of rev. (calc)Men's BB revenueMen's BB expensesWomen's BB revenueWomen's BB expensesAthletic student aidRecruitingAvg head coach salary, men's teamsFootball participantsUndergrad enrollmentSource
FY2025$343,106,827$277,413,781$171,892,714$70,405,62850%$17,377,540$22,209,288$2,445,545$10,400,257$16,217,249$5,755,764$2,619,78411840,554source
FY2024$320,312,665$237,475,591$200,736,464$61,775,57163%$22,984,020$15,116,082$2,896,746$9,399,299$15,089,065$5,783,497$2,264,95212139,617source
FY2023$261,353,404$199,292,967$180,647,352$58,732,17469%$22,629,647$16,092,106$2,614,231$10,047,120$14,443,213$4,474,954$1,667,55712338,444source
FY2022$230,503,008$192,754,766$161,532,860$50,633,15670%$23,637,212$15,854,899$2,543,747$8,105,409$12,924,025$4,509,873$1,924,81511638,062source
FY2021$150,273,687$150,273,687$97,223,872$42,702,37365%$10,349,523$17,483,966$1,673,929$5,808,519$11,916,680$1,266,972$1,784,85212237,272source
FY2020$191,737,849$149,499,361$144,426,105$39,503,07675%$13,322,731$10,494,885$1,886,797$7,092,327$11,054,968$1,658,781$1,775,06812037,362source
FY2019$215,829,101$175,172,054$156,147,208$43,200,27072%$16,493,236$11,649,912$2,305,200$5,335,344$12,342,843$2,764,622$1,631,24611537,894source
FY2018$210,370,940$184,373,919$143,064,180$41,250,78768%$18,495,410$11,357,338$2,770,515$5,591,029$12,132,092$3,150,947$1,493,27511537,510source
FY2017$207,127,309$182,898,924$141,173,444$43,306,70368%$17,567,914$11,430,951$2,689,305$6,273,294$11,583,124$2,163,400$1,426,02312537,026source
FY2016$182,104,126$155,282,073$127,465,311$30,268,82670%$17,982,782$10,271,419$1,964,453$5,287,394$10,643,090$1,590,166$1,474,21511736,357source
FY2015$179,555,311$152,853,239$121,382,436$29,814,80468%$16,679,102$11,301,014$1,751,385$5,519,671$9,261,070$1,351,429$1,598,89812636,072source
FY2014$161,035,184$145,984,816$112,508,162$38,425,93870%$14,962,686$9,597,235$1,655,541$5,375,145$9,658,662$1,463,990$1,639,23713936,597source
FY2013$165,691,486$138,205,604$109,400,688$27,675,40366%$16,896,653$8,991,640$1,619,530$4,688,863$8,966,936$1,405,178$1,566,35813936,724source
FY2012$163,295,114$129,234,974$103,813,684$25,896,20364%$18,478,466$8,603,853$1,582,747$5,016,002$8,461,287$1,457,857$1,416,67512135,320source
FY2011$150,295,932$125,978,117$95,749,684$24,507,35264%$16,437,705$8,195,360$1,754,321$4,877,921$8,231,139$1,470,389$1,380,26811735,267source
FY2010$143,555,354$113,952,320$93,942,815$25,112,33165%$15,602,348$8,887,250$1,769,333$4,532,021$7,676,544$1,257,768$1,505,00811235,107source
FY2009$138,459,149$112,935,132$87,583,986$22,569,08663%$14,770,278$7,891,661$1,918,013$4,557,124$7,230,597$1,322,467$1,202,01211334,372source
FY2008$120,288,370$100,982,596$72,952,397$20,049,65161%$12,892,079$7,663,097$1,824,894$4,508,797$6,392,888$1,291,852$1,004,23211636,835source
FY2007$105,048,632$89,313,533$63,798,068$17,565,00661%$14,678,656$6,594,163$2,270,876$4,531,362$6,855,213$1,156,826$903,89011433,063source

Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)

NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.

$0$102M$205M$307M$410MFY05FY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
KN total athletic revenuesKN total athletic expensesKN subsidy (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal athletic revenuesTotal athletic expensesFootball spendingFootball coaching salariesConf./NCAA/media/postseasonTicket salesDonor contributionsSponsorship/licensingInst./govt supportStudent feesSubsidy (calc)Subsidy share (calc)Coaches comp.Non-coaching staff comp.Scholarships/aidFacilities/debt/equip.Coaching severanceInst. NIL rev. shareAnnual debt serviceAthletics debt outstandingSource
FY2025$352,547,602$379,284,528$73,881,569$25,448,841$33,603,713$70,984,006$171,165,773$51,956,322$0$0$00%$57,050,284$50,276,855$22,614,579$129,493,455$1,634,721$3,235,078$22,495,414$192,165,000source
FY2024$331,905,866$327,782,612$65,770,599$22,900,116$40,752,965$60,908,564$137,010,938$68,790,147$0$0$00%$48,636,656$42,886,538$16,131,169$127,313,481$7,225,932—$21,597,596$201,108,000source
FY2023$271,129,326$233,916,669$61,042,363$16,959,333$44,067,730$63,251,701$89,262,018$54,674,883$0$0$00%$40,361,384$40,589,891$15,139,646$56,008,742$5,406,983—$21,730,144$209,659,000source
FY2022$239,290,648$227,240,679$51,550,666$16,202,231$42,221,104$57,543,166$77,974,073$44,494,340$0$0$00%$40,679,020$36,658,504$13,697,568$65,836,230$8,264,903—$9,484,383$217,910,000source
FY2021$152,696,006$167,324,290$43,648,896$18,126,723$35,356,036$11,004,779$60,080,498$39,317,356$0$0$00%$43,105,708$31,853,401$12,487,589$29,821,998$6,377,823—$7,890,805$167,910,000source
FY2020$200,772,813$178,668,974$41,849,062$16,841,590$38,248,065$58,531,545$52,470,365$39,092,794$0$0$00%$34,466,544$36,646,957$11,835,907$47,832,613$1,214,132—$14,777,601$174,900,000source
FY2019$223,879,781$207,428,044$43,039,170$15,354,854$40,836,228$67,081,013$51,197,476$47,060,048$0$0$00%$32,492,276$37,549,464$13,085,131$67,710,775$2,830,588—$17,253,356$181,605,000source
FY2018$219,402,579$217,327,009$40,936,348$11,295,725$33,735,993$66,771,366$53,245,181$47,184,531$0$0$00%$26,211,512$42,055,348$12,655,927$64,190,646$7,846,472—$18,325,472$190,565,000source
FY2017$214,830,647$217,363,094$41,173,727$11,075,865$32,091,475$72,457,216$46,019,194$45,919,839$0$0$00%$24,632,746$39,789,220$12,767,491$46,443,506$9,206,061—$18,329,365$200,154,000source
FY2016$187,981,158$181,493,246$28,672,761$10,525,109$30,351,948$60,870,893$42,159,118$36,778,341$0$0$00%$24,210,316$34,395,565$11,747,308$35,003,554$3,470,182—$18,339,853$209,324,000source
FY2015$183,521,028$183,062,661$25,862,105$9,911,011$25,241,592$63,288,302$44,273,349$32,891,717$0$0$00%$23,757,430$37,510,413$10,640,141$35,735,742$992,226—$18,194,546$218,095,000source
FY2014$161,035,187$154,128,877$34,885,037$12,518,126$23,941,351$53,655,400$37,633,031$31,955,783$0$0$00%$25,375,094$35,714,699$10,842,276$27,222,914$784,400—$18,217,793$233,002,000source
FY2013$165,691,486$146,807,585$27,105,130$11,262,720$21,740,373$60,860,735$37,386,271$33,421,518$0$0$00%$24,415,065$30,823,731$9,956,345$26,524,179$0—$18,176,024$242,597,000source
FY2012$163,295,115$138,269,710$24,773,663$10,977,409$21,031,130$59,207,378$40,747,347$28,703,901$0$0$00%$23,429,972$30,095,878$9,350,290$26,687,534$140,953—$17,633,494$232,646,000source
FY2011$150,295,926$133,686,815$24,864,162$9,992,129$14,874,179$61,196,689$37,337,126$22,840,191$0$0$00%$22,230,725$27,681,115$8,957,818$25,653,581$0—$17,529,538$226,527,000source
FY2010$143,555,354$130,436,534$23,839,404$10,172,734$15,089,676$56,741,662$37,110,292$22,065,642$0$0$00%$22,395,656$25,119,487$8,444,494$26,062,065$0—$16,312,034$221,582,000source
FY2009$138,459,149$127,651,428$22,540,547$8,459,184$14,541,813$55,394,209$37,291,370$18,164,827$0$0$00%$19,701,680$24,631,001$7,891,315$24,712,108$0—$14,655,014$222,488,000source
FY2008$120,288,370$110,996,365$19,136,137$6,841,895$11,538,023$44,691,119$35,057,421$16,639,171$0$1,832,229$1,832,2292%$17,810,365$22,704,142$6,993,766$18,822,203$0—$10,013,768$203,738,000source
FY2007$105,048,632$97,235,567$16,716,359$0$10,748,157$44,562,934$27,190,731$9,367,724$0$1,884,145$1,884,1452%$15,821,280$20,923,646$7,475,102$16,129,684$0—$7,788,240$202,765,000source
FY2006$97,756,776$90,738,962$17,135,973$5,387,910$12,570,536$34,280,260$26,507,774$9,744,813$0$1,690,855$1,690,8552%$14,106,648$20,029,368$6,617,234$16,262,351$0—$6,875,380—source
FY2005$89,651,682$82,400,829$13,909,263$0$11,673,179$33,507,576$22,324,445$8,588,107$1,353,382$1,673,928$3,027,3103%$12,401,022$18,520,598$5,745,775$15,899,036$0—$7,679,142$64,435,000source
Data credit: Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database, a joint project of the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics and the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, Syracuse University.