Home › Schools › SEC › University of Tennessee, Knoxville

University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Conference (2026)
SEC
Control
Public
IPEDS UNITID
221759
City
Knoxville, TN
City population
202,021 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
Metro area
Knoxville, TN (Metropolitan): 968,137 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
TV market (DMA)
Knoxville, TN: rank #60, 584,100 TV homes (0.465% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank #61 (source)
Endowment
$1.18B (FY2025 (June 30, 2025)) · scope: UT Knoxville campus endowment (UT Foundation) · source
UT System total (NACUBO FY2025): $1.915B. UTFI page shows Knoxville value fell from $1.540B (2024) to $1.179B (2025) - unexplained drop, treat with caution.
Annual giving
$428.0M (FY2025) · philanthropic support to UT Knoxville (record) · source
UT System total $492.8M

How to watch

Cheapest single package for every Tennessee Volunteers game: ESPN Unlimited, $31.99/mo ($159.95 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $63.89 for the full season, $46.92 from Oct. 1. 6 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).

Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan

Sponsors, apparel & naming

  • Apparel: Adidas brand: secondary source · not disclosed · 10 yrs
    Adidas from July 2026 (leaving Nike), 10 yrs, includes NIL money for select athletes. Financial terms NOT DISCLOSED (run through a nonprofit foundation; not obtainable by records request per USA Today). [SP35] [SP36] [SP38] [SP34]

Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming

Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.

EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)

Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.

This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 7 of 19 years.

$0$77M$154M$231M$308MFY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
EADA total revenueEADA total expensesEADA football revenue (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal revenueTotal expensesFootball revenueFootball expensesFB share of rev. (calc)Men's BB revenueMen's BB expensesWomen's BB revenueWomen's BB expensesAthletic student aidRecruitingAvg head coach salary, men's teamsFootball participantsUndergrad enrollmentSource
FY2025$285,364,027$285,364,027$162,539,638$61,240,43757%$35,316,920$20,241,922$4,352,348$7,559,834$23,708,468$5,125,917$2,988,55012329,542source
FY2024$204,906,178$204,906,178$143,399,351$56,987,22870%$26,803,595$14,123,055$3,381,026$6,883,174$21,519,779$4,625,415$2,238,05012627,832source
FY2023$191,271,254$180,206,473$137,093,561$49,565,80272%$19,097,170$15,619,680$3,237,076$7,538,346$19,281,580$3,611,785$2,234,86812725,798source
FY2022$152,662,163$152,662,163$100,982,596$39,755,02166%$16,069,180$14,365,527$2,406,892$5,911,132$17,623,268$3,224,520$1,669,43813023,852source
FY2021$129,094,424$117,865,373$60,808,468$29,609,31547%$13,683,650$9,674,480$3,101,616$4,155,596$14,689,579$476,729$1,407,39812722,896source
FY2020$136,807,801$136,807,801$91,615,408$38,115,08667%$16,899,321$10,504,401$3,184,798$5,217,050$14,150,001$2,271,015$1,433,18413021,972source
FY2019$135,818,717$135,106,988$91,022,335$35,170,59967%$17,003,826$10,554,613$3,504,184$5,136,192$14,838,853$3,634,031$1,271,33412521,433source
FY2018$142,686,084$142,686,084$93,890,299$45,343,68566%$15,978,734$8,386,526$3,871,125$4,873,207$14,149,301$3,218,082$1,027,73012620,909source
FY2017$139,659,550$128,944,788$110,673,571$32,600,25479%$18,322,729$6,977,691$3,944,384$4,583,377$13,516,363$2,728,226$1,094,03012520,719source
FY2016$135,949,847$123,844,487$107,103,765$28,158,83579%$18,595,510$6,989,935$4,397,709$5,098,213$12,988,277$2,482,167$1,111,80212620,467source
FY2015$121,837,383$108,735,063$94,377,857$24,511,03277%$16,927,676$6,068,357$4,837,245$4,813,394$11,789,796$2,117,498$935,39513520,178source
FY2014$103,542,112$103,481,232$70,478,510$21,670,08868%$17,358,362$5,615,677$7,052,275$4,270,690$10,353,692$2,593,977$810,96413119,685source
FY2013$109,925,351$109,899,761$55,359,423$27,850,35150%$13,320,098$4,856,478$4,852,962$3,753,604$10,338,710$2,476,492$772,47613519,483source
FY2012$105,869,282$105,869,282$52,590,771$19,786,61750%$14,521,082$5,689,254$4,094,317$6,172,601$9,529,062$2,311,186$616,04312119,838source
FY2011$102,495,204$102,480,757$56,831,514$19,135,65055%$13,785,893$6,863,233$4,958,365$5,892,060$8,873,639$2,296,023$675,58212120,122source
FY2010$100,730,439$96,671,459$56,593,946$17,357,34556%$13,301,579$6,478,312$5,230,451$6,022,984$8,105,045$1,906,529$769,08411219,686source
FY2009$92,524,125$92,524,125$42,805,360$22,962,80946%$12,576,715$5,464,911$3,795,813$5,505,854$7,580,237$1,928,816$921,26211920,252source
FY2008$88,719,798$87,420,748$40,264,212$16,240,91845%$11,495,823$6,551,454$4,120,592$4,233,078$7,574,184$1,789,299$875,93713719,781source
FY2007$95,401,868$92,557,525$31,193,706$13,903,18433%$7,301,964$3,611,347$2,404,777$2,628,217$8,427,139$2,005,677$546,28613718,739source

Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)

NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.

$0$82M$164M$246M$328MFY05FY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
KN total athletic revenuesKN total athletic expensesKN subsidy (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal athletic revenuesTotal athletic expensesFootball spendingFootball coaching salariesConf./NCAA/media/postseasonTicket salesDonor contributionsSponsorship/licensingInst./govt supportStudent feesSubsidy (calc)Subsidy share (calc)Coaches comp.Non-coaching staff comp.Scholarships/aidFacilities/debt/equip.Coaching severanceInst. NIL rev. shareAnnual debt serviceAthletics debt outstandingSource
FY2025$304,117,549$288,186,290$74,017,787$17,996,691$66,036,392$52,163,720$113,589,853$33,004,839$7,137,633$1,000,000$8,137,6333%$45,631,967$48,532,287$32,164,244$48,642,441$0$0$12,732,343$327,732,018source
FY2024$234,058,790$231,812,046$75,905,015$17,771,830$55,742,912$46,411,884$76,696,288$21,807,114$11,448,699$1,000,000$12,448,6995%$42,136,358$38,691,470$22,853,780$46,322,613$2,345,833——$198,128,432source
FY2023$202,097,305$191,032,519$59,112,823$16,462,404$54,899,799$39,753,883$64,748,049$23,914,209$596,445$25,156$621,6010%$35,890,274$36,040,365$21,015,249$39,486,499$0—$11,731,095$129,425,869source
FY2022$154,566,935$157,108,637$47,194,884$11,135,116$55,171,105$35,110,289$35,483,274$17,750,734$204,849$0$204,8490%$29,806,404$32,582,973$18,412,355$29,923,114$0—$10,469,411$98,354,302source
FY2021$132,920,757$132,163,159$45,899,235$10,806,841$77,000,228$9,993,848$24,215,604$15,648,190$248,470$0$248,4700%$24,646,787$26,659,422$15,791,445$24,985,340$5,392,353—$10,797,923$103,617,943source
FY2020$140,335,769$140,824,626$55,730,413$12,391,674$50,563,776$35,541,922$29,014,894$14,128,030$0$0$00%$26,590,337$27,434,014$15,317,708$33,945,825$0—$16,887,238$103,468,846source
FY2019$143,765,903$142,976,173$52,739,842$10,997,829$47,978,505$36,159,453$33,528,934$13,544,222$0$0$00%$24,636,613$26,335,531$15,322,641$33,819,969$873,806—$16,934,050$115,093,801source
FY2018$143,545,115$150,030,497$58,832,994$10,203,236$45,724,170$35,938,797$35,704,713$14,094,742$0$105,092$105,0920%$21,843,304$25,770,210$14,530,655$35,004,293$13,768,072—$16,877,235$127,796,821source
FY2017$145,653,191$134,880,229$51,295,405$9,992,513$45,563,336$36,781,724$35,428,068$14,902,218$0$0$00%$20,832,053$23,081,999$13,956,360$38,108,707$1,002,658—$19,851,117$137,665,022source
FY2016$140,448,955$128,011,504$44,106,181$8,667,810$42,976,028$36,844,478$34,082,765$14,536,065$0$0$00%$19,927,317$21,793,387$13,695,302$34,984,899$411,349—$19,145,698$146,265,539source
FY2015$126,584,033$113,413,325$38,920,641$7,927,182$34,084,190$34,674,844$33,361,421$14,921,151$0$0$00%$18,160,180$20,470,689$12,359,984$32,908,480$0—$17,630,987$155,890,037source
FY2014$107,499,732$106,153,854$32,731,417$7,099,979$26,997,216$32,572,479$26,773,796$8,682,056$250,000$1,000,000$1,250,0001%$16,933,891$20,137,487$10,943,538$26,689,776$0—$19,336,406$182,598,930source
FY2013$111,579,779$110,269,194$29,798,832$7,664,192$27,029,907$34,788,050$24,258,597$4,370,771$11,434,056$1,000,000$12,434,05611%$16,879,375$19,277,240$12,112,750$24,231,712$7,969,849—$18,573,275$199,055,265source
FY2012$102,884,286$101,292,015$0$0$26,631,230$33,922,547$25,449,117$6,114,894$0$1,000,000$1,000,0001%$17,287,551$21,547,697$10,940,126$22,321,040$25,000—$10,523,880$192,488,808source
FY2011$104,368,992$97,580,406$21,115,163$5,737,462$24,849,533$35,689,435$27,945,480$4,633,521$0$1,000,000$1,000,0001%$16,046,482$21,052,279$10,858,953$20,272,360$3,719,295—$10,142,066$187,245,330source
FY2010$115,729,599$111,670,619$19,190,135$6,178,420$24,455,464$36,109,495$27,936,952$4,534,002$12,552,020$1,000,000$13,552,02012%$17,807,565$18,177,636$10,638,233$34,653,590$575,893—$7,657,353$188,099,727source
FY2009$102,795,708$105,972,740$24,337,466$0$18,445,355$31,722,592$23,678,685$5,756,137$11,695,239$1,000,000$12,695,23912%$15,955,910$17,732,024$10,093,985$32,503,845$6,593,625—$10,492,330$165,568,681source
FY2008$101,806,196$100,507,146$18,070,311$5,046,066$17,514,150$29,403,335$26,405,309$4,154,643$12,382,629$1,000,000$13,382,62913%$16,655,628$16,333,622$9,780,350$31,665,592$0—$8,015,031$124,215,628source
FY2007$97,289,613$94,445,270$13,903,184$0$14,108,907$27,975,950$22,962,277$13,422,665$6,010,715$1,000,000$7,010,7157%$13,633,189$15,336,642$8,427,139$23,604,511————source
FY2006$73,807,262$70,565,159$11,946,390$0$13,370,104$21,116,829$19,147,636$4,025,430$5,032,607$1,000,000$6,032,6078%$11,835,944$14,413,804$6,655,276$18,505,521$135,361—$4,632,170$63,105,919source
FY2005$71,295,394$71,783,012$13,586,845$4,224,673$10,642,885$26,266,777$14,862,415$4,557,627$7,546,536$0$7,546,53611%$11,349,641$12,846,288$6,274,670$18,761,428$1,674,567—$6,928,013$57,014,388source
Data credit: Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database, a joint project of the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics and the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, Syracuse University.