Home › Schools › SEC › University of South Carolina

University of South Carolina

Conference (2026)
SEC
Control
Public
IPEDS UNITID
218663
City
Columbia, SC
City population
147,035 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
Metro area
Columbia, SC (Metropolitan): 879,918 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
TV market (DMA)
Columbia, SC: rank #76, 450,440 TV homes (0.359% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank not found
Endowment
$1.15B (FY2025) · scope: University of South Carolina and Affiliated Foundations · source
Annual giving
$259.7M (FY2025) · private support (record) · source

How to watch

Cheapest single package for every South Carolina Gamecocks game: ESPN Unlimited, $31.99/mo ($159.95 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $70.88 for the full season, $47.92 from Oct. 1. 7 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).

Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan

Sponsors, apparel & naming

  • Apparel: Nike brand: secondary source · $77.5M · 10 yrs
    Nike from July 1, 2026 (ending 19 yrs with UA): 10 yrs, $70M (product) + $5M cash compensation + $2.5M supplemental product allowance + 15% of net sales of Nike Gamecocks items. Prior UA 2016 extension $71.5M. UW regents memo calls it "almost entirely based on product allotments, with limited cash payments." [SP35] [SP36] [SP39] [SP34]

Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming

Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.

EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)

Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.

This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 4 of 19 years.

$0$55M$110M$166M$221MFY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
EADA total revenueEADA total expensesEADA football revenue (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal revenueTotal expensesFootball revenueFootball expensesFB share of rev. (calc)Men's BB revenueMen's BB expensesWomen's BB revenueWomen's BB expensesAthletic student aidRecruitingAvg head coach salary, men's teamsFootball participantsUndergrad enrollmentSource
FY2025$204,566,524$203,259,302$76,513,171$55,859,50137%$15,446,053$11,074,153$13,119,360$13,119,360$13,759,918$3,400,822$700,07211929,015source
FY2024$183,652,273$183,652,273$78,496,729$47,559,96543%$13,355,149$9,879,237$11,511,993$11,511,993$13,366,666$3,301,919$460,00411727,245source
FY2023$160,420,147$160,420,147$68,709,125$42,855,53143%$11,564,622$7,953,678$10,767,616$10,767,616$12,534,179$2,754,750$388,08712225,960source
FY2022$144,815,377$144,815,377$63,834,042$37,272,77444%$12,604,227$11,792,521$9,537,698$9,537,698$12,736,727$2,076,220$390,31012125,423source
FY2021$135,157,387$130,364,710$43,854,572$43,854,57232%$7,726,175$6,612,640$6,070,115$6,070,115$13,287,031$372,977$674,27911526,070source
FY2020$137,094,212$137,094,212$69,255,386$34,170,80751%$10,267,956$8,230,497$3,089,470$6,925,738$12,592,161$1,338,895$354,01711726,119source
FY2019$140,295,659$140,146,333$65,004,536$36,206,78146%$11,093,661$8,561,964$2,207,171$6,833,386$12,437,745$2,104,205$369,96411925,312source
FY2018$140,084,150$139,972,480$64,415,927$33,317,64546%$11,112,728$9,969,479$2,598,370$8,497,345$11,863,022$2,099,153$376,53211624,578source
FY2017$136,032,845$135,499,095$60,264,364$34,794,85844%$11,948,781$9,282,730$2,046,234$7,086,553$11,564,624$1,928,262$359,84612123,947source
FY2016$122,331,092$121,905,024$59,629,815$29,970,03149%$9,647,770$7,080,820$1,530,532$5,407,201$11,702,605$1,458,238$338,10311223,328source
FY2015$113,172,545$112,732,275$59,768,622$31,357,21553%$8,795,178$6,852,555$1,581,246$6,475,016$6,983,444$1,325,408$335,91911022,952source
FY2014$98,439,097$98,218,707$55,615,454$26,103,03956%$8,040,730$7,051,872$927,216$4,465,181$6,718,198$1,198,126$363,11410922,408source
FY2013$90,484,422$90,115,914$49,266,878$24,975,71654%$7,870,858$6,535,615$597,735$3,731,999$8,113,853$1,097,374$310,69811621,527source
FY2012$87,608,352$87,073,273$48,065,096$22,063,21655%$7,660,497$7,302,405$187,234$3,430,395$8,411,213$950,181$291,74511320,589source
FY2011$83,704,667$82,941,941$45,464,058$22,482,47954%$7,849,818$4,618,566$45,550$2,993,399$8,466,914$859,063$213,32211119,725source
FY2010$79,991,754$78,295,029$58,266,159$22,794,21173%$9,190,794$4,023,386$133,286$2,935,155$8,390,340$910,415$181,87511218,881source
FY2009$76,254,236$75,597,562$57,118,519$19,885,70075%$8,101,086$5,137,854$128,425$3,283,849$7,911,934$849,408$159,77311218,188source
FY2008$66,545,953$64,516,437$50,433,037$13,694,95576%$7,896,200$3,987,057$131,219$2,291,989$8,200,912$878,556$139,44110917,150source
FY2007$60,544,530$57,167,414$41,275,362$12,423,60268%$6,673,717$3,632,815$2,142,171$2,142,171$7,631,631$745,043$137,77610716,729source

Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)

NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.

$0$55M$110M$166M$221MFY05FY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
KN total athletic revenuesKN total athletic expensesKN subsidy (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal athletic revenuesTotal athletic expensesFootball spendingFootball coaching salariesConf./NCAA/media/postseasonTicket salesDonor contributionsSponsorship/licensingInst./govt supportStudent feesSubsidy (calc)Subsidy share (calc)Coaches comp.Non-coaching staff comp.Scholarships/aidFacilities/debt/equip.Coaching severanceInst. NIL rev. shareAnnual debt serviceAthletics debt outstandingSource
FY2025$204,566,524$203,259,302$55,859,501$17,658,174$65,809,483$33,353,886$18,285,009$10,684,070$43,704,106$0$43,704,10621%$41,421,355$42,969,051$25,574,628$47,483,051$463,203$0$13,019,052$153,235,000source
FY2024$183,458,097$183,652,272$47,559,965$14,716,364$53,818,909$30,808,745$34,395,692$10,304,675$22,138,658$0$22,138,65812%$33,972,532$39,211,997$19,837,320$49,079,383$440,486—$13,014,844$158,880,000source
FY2023$160,489,386$160,420,148$42,855,531$12,572,575$54,897,823$29,118,428$35,203,708$11,508,016$4,505,213$0$4,505,2133%$29,240,786$34,148,373$19,984,445$37,689,519$0—$13,020,510$164,250,000source
FY2022$142,210,807$144,815,377$37,272,775$9,821,724$54,619,422$24,301,862$33,833,869$8,669,665$1,086,848$0$1,086,8481%$26,470,487$30,427,158$18,211,521$34,239,558$3,076,500—$11,925,903$169,360,000source
FY2021$135,157,386$130,364,709$43,854,572$10,468,102$75,993,960$9,977,137$14,130,910$11,870,232$15,826,856$0$15,826,85612%$24,374,598$25,353,019$15,893,819$28,335,633$15,225,663—$12,354,796$162,830,000source
FY2020$133,011,012$133,776,318$34,170,806$11,176,866$46,119,345$30,968,984$25,724,220$7,406,314$0$0$00%$25,187,611$28,275,710$15,089,363$34,933,765$630,386—$13,972,531$167,545,000source
FY2019$140,695,659$136,879,732$36,606,779$11,037,536$46,362,912$28,706,383$31,763,030$10,610,643$0$0$00%$24,581,434$27,689,503$19,401,849$33,270,005$282,273—$12,734,673$173,600,000source
FY2018$140,084,150$134,863,557$33,317,644$9,564,090$44,193,324$28,611,572$38,059,706$9,633,727$0$0$00%$22,753,376$24,877,966$16,418,748$37,198,484$910,269—$12,146,836$178,200,000source
FY2017$136,032,845$129,317,382$34,794,858$7,761,186$43,659,607$28,018,240$38,810,243$9,522,931$0$0$00%$19,689,343$23,916,971$16,113,310$34,966,070$394,783—$10,381,840$186,280,000source
FY2016$122,331,092$116,735,510$29,970,031$9,630,318$39,166,979$25,236,246$30,346,425$4,535,817$0$0$00%$20,460,660$21,773,774$14,848,950$29,719,019$606,333—$10,751,736$151,270,000source
FY2015$113,172,545$107,430,044$28,478,476$8,595,598$33,125,333$29,958,915$31,209,408$4,143,324$0$0$00%$18,998,278$19,038,098$13,047,438$25,354,205$0—$8,140,728$154,750,000source
FY2014$98,619,479$95,762,786$26,187,352$8,116,353$23,163,539$21,346,746$30,203,751$4,267,844$3,039,303$2,592,673$5,631,9766%$18,277,553$17,609,608$12,430,711$17,435,794$0—$8,136,628$119,250,000source
FY2013$90,484,422$89,097,412$24,975,717$7,075,280$22,843,433$20,086,353$25,887,641$4,107,225$0$2,537,697$2,537,6973%$15,870,043$16,048,729$9,062,390$19,748,725$0—$8,162,102$121,915,000source
FY2012$87,608,352$84,963,037$22,197,204$6,150,724$23,627,727$20,049,785$25,165,877$3,578,562$0$2,338,268$2,338,2683%$13,851,603$14,933,004$8,836,380$16,938,466$2,241,128—$13,686,684$124,563,640source
FY2011$83,813,226$80,525,711$22,482,479$5,889,468$23,107,123$19,763,502$24,393,202$3,068,423$0$2,248,275$2,248,2753%$13,289,795$13,545,690$8,468,686$17,968,498$0—$35,266,404$112,923,321source
FY2010$79,879,193$78,295,030$22,796,732$4,520,795$21,378,286$19,044,853$23,987,283$3,098,527$0$2,146,293$2,146,2933%$10,870,798$13,128,686$10,245,248$21,746,703$0—$23,819,110$82,789,845source
FY2009$76,117,140$75,597,812$20,544,570$4,229,424$15,363,924$21,688,752$24,537,424$3,304,160$0$2,098,087$2,098,0873%$10,271,296$12,934,941$9,244,435$21,934,635$383,836—$3,298,014$68,327,902source
FY2008$66,545,953$64,516,437$14,330,240$3,569,265$12,141,346$20,821,727$18,039,591$2,983,978$0$1,987,931$1,987,9313%$9,318,658$11,144,532$9,040,952$17,683,922————source
FY2007$60,544,531$57,167,414$14,656,554$2,991,555$13,041,672$18,918,142$17,390,312$2,173,742$0$1,197,375$1,197,3752%$8,179,174$10,137,637$8,267,643$13,154,793————source
FY2006$52,058,257$53,098,347$13,191,604$2,945,350$11,864,116$13,892,489$16,295,776$1,857,787$280,000$597,515$877,5152%$7,959,550$9,825,545$8,029,812$10,140,006$55,941——$27,928,823source
FY2005$46,280,330$48,935,414$10,331,418$2,923,820$9,317,077$11,273,772$16,247,202$1,621,490$280,000$574,387$854,3872%$7,807,938$7,422,736$6,896,591$8,456,519$480,000—$13,406,894$30,636,666source
Data credit: Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database, a joint project of the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics and the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, Syracuse University.