Home › Schools › Big Ten › Rutgers University-New Brunswick

Rutgers University-New Brunswick

Conference (2026)
Big Ten
Control
Public
IPEDS UNITID
186380
City
New Brunswick, NJ
City population
57,133 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
Metro area
New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ (Metropolitan): 20,112,448 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
TV market (DMA)
New York, NY: rank #1, 7,494,510 TV homes (5.972% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank #1 (source)
New Brunswick (Middlesex County, NJ) is in the New York DMA
Endowment
$2.35B (FY2025) · scope: Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey (all campuses) · system or combined figure · source
Annual giving
not available (no fundraising total found; nothing estimated) · searched source
FY2024 raised $256M (2025 Budget Address, finance.rutgers.edu); FY2025 goal $275M, result not found.
Accounting proxy (not a fundraising total): Proxy: Rutgers Univ. Foundation Form 990 contributions ~$97.6M (FYE June 2025)

How to watch

Cheapest single package for every Rutgers Scarlet Knights game: ESPN Unlimited + Fox One bundle + Peacock Premium, $52.98/mo ($264.90 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $90.94 for the full season, $65.96 from Oct. 1. 7 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).

Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan

Sponsors, apparel & naming

  • Apparel: Nike brand: secondary source · not disclosed
    Current deal value NOT FOUND in public reporting during this pass (private school, foundation-held contract, or not searched). [SP35] [SP34]
  • Stadium naming: SHI International · $1.4M/yr
    SHI Stadium; ~ $1.45M/yr (total not captured). [SP60] [SP72]

Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming

Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.

EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)

Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.

This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 17 of 19 years.

$0$46M$93M$139M$185MFY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
EADA total revenueEADA total expensesEADA football revenue (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal revenueTotal expensesFootball revenueFootball expensesFB share of rev. (calc)Men's BB revenueMen's BB expensesWomen's BB revenueWomen's BB expensesAthletic student aidRecruitingAvg head coach salary, men's teamsFootball participantsUndergrad enrollmentSource
FY2025$171,679,918$171,679,918$75,922,954$75,922,95444%$16,076,899$16,076,899$7,528,347$7,528,347$25,297,337$2,958,026$1,334,23713736,570source
FY2024$155,852,426$155,852,426$61,952,063$61,952,06340%$15,552,016$15,552,016$7,189,621$7,189,621$25,090,860$3,560,956$1,273,27213335,051source
FY2023$130,221,793$130,221,793$49,812,329$49,812,32938%$13,483,073$13,483,073$7,807,108$7,807,108$21,164,955$3,598,914$1,073,50613134,630source
FY2022$130,891,215$130,891,215$43,987,227$43,987,22734%$10,503,109$10,503,109$6,848,945$6,848,945$18,131,606$2,764,981$904,50813234,361source
FY2021$90,714,615$90,714,615$35,075,181$35,075,18139%$7,925,210$7,925,210$4,912,809$4,912,809$16,921,486$571,435$845,30313033,769source
FY2020$89,840,300$89,840,300$32,874,357$32,874,35737%$8,249,544$8,249,544$5,321,701$5,321,701$14,896,549$1,620,901$677,20512234,233source
FY2019$83,053,040$83,053,040$26,698,913$26,698,91332%$7,545,360$7,545,360$5,450,614$5,450,614$15,308,082$2,038,476$641,59211833,981source
FY2018$78,205,862$78,205,862$25,939,804$25,939,80433%$8,333,665$8,333,665$4,985,066$4,985,066$16,425,790$2,014,834$593,57712033,619source
FY2017$78,439,668$78,439,668$25,423,916$25,423,91632%$8,168,723$8,168,723$4,197,164$4,197,164$12,886,190$1,680,977$697,48910733,939source
FY2016$78,845,894$78,845,894$25,236,282$25,236,28232%$6,147,089$6,147,089$4,420,669$4,420,669$12,891,905$1,268,907$378,69312233,294source
FY2015$65,125,833$65,125,833$26,903,695$20,158,19341%$5,790,981$5,083,432$4,166,123$4,166,123$11,314,062$1,265,685$404,85511132,272source
FY2014$70,133,960$70,133,960$20,812,200$19,218,20830%$5,864,737$4,663,303$3,689,918$3,689,918$10,303,586$969,251$319,50011531,630source
FY2013$71,851,419$71,851,419$19,522,057$19,522,05727%$4,663,032$4,663,032$4,035,221$4,035,221$10,402,285$858,692$265,12511029,928source
FY2012$57,480,304$57,480,304$21,314,486$21,314,48637%$5,342,302$4,366,444$3,923,045$3,923,045$10,296,879$724,732$402,09511729,662source
FY2011$53,436,027$53,436,027$19,217,487$19,217,48736%$4,172,922$3,616,763$882,521$3,227,178$9,558,152$718,843$451,92611428,829source
FY2010$55,564,642$55,564,642$19,494,261$19,494,26335%$4,634,026$4,495,147$3,735,301$3,735,300$8,953,847$699,737$447,10711927,537source
FY2009$54,304,756$54,147,484$19,738,023$19,738,02336%$4,772,797$3,793,356$3,925,892$3,925,892$8,434,254$772,380$408,44612526,382source
FY2008$50,181,300$49,953,265$18,144,191$18,144,19136%$4,833,020$3,724,976$3,687,353$3,687,353$7,641,998$697,539$450,46111924,810source
FY2007$44,050,960$44,050,960$15,643,682$15,643,68236%$3,909,977$3,296,879$2,855,402$2,855,402$6,931,629$604,174$228,34411424,477source

Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)

NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.

$0$52M$105M$157M$209MFY05FY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
KN total athletic revenuesKN total athletic expensesKN subsidy (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal athletic revenuesTotal athletic expensesFootball spendingFootball coaching salariesConf./NCAA/media/postseasonTicket salesDonor contributionsSponsorship/licensingInst./govt supportStudent feesSubsidy (calc)Subsidy share (calc)Coaches comp.Non-coaching staff comp.Scholarships/aidFacilities/debt/equip.Coaching severanceInst. NIL rev. shareAnnual debt serviceAthletics debt outstandingSource
FY2025$146,638,066$193,831,838$76,085,134$21,524,446$78,467,243$15,846,777$8,122,577$2,679,994$15,035,273$15,835,271$30,870,54421%$47,739,809$31,427,918$34,292,268$38,127,252$110,566$0$13,996,500$48,840,000source
FY2024$136,755,755$178,263,181$64,414,464$17,752,260$66,656,418$14,733,345$9,139,129$8,628,534$14,079,138$14,538,668$28,617,80621%$40,211,736$29,894,019$25,894,213$36,060,126$1,011,010—$13,675,716$51,400,000source
FY2023$125,478,340$153,523,767$49,499,164$13,618,771$60,601,843$14,783,535$8,010,257$7,203,165$12,569,451$13,540,176$26,109,62721%$34,404,336$25,717,451$21,895,047$31,128,072$2,581,688—$10,771,293$53,865,000source
FY2022$109,601,529$138,439,077$43,644,477$13,573,733$49,214,268$13,049,333$9,005,919$7,524,131$11,199,216$12,835,080$24,034,29622%$30,281,436$21,654,168$18,715,322$31,489,067$1,967,776—$15,657,819$56,235,000source
FY2021$87,992,302$118,394,474$33,122,635$12,187,225$31,580,145$14,105$7,884,587$3,259,310$32,337,340$10,545,834$42,883,17449%$25,760,518$22,051,152$17,376,340$30,279,967$2,485,921—$12,717,396$58,515,000source
FY2020$103,642,415$114,203,981$33,400,119$8,907,000$31,019,014$8,414,231$4,613,715$7,032,680$15,864,239$12,654,098$28,518,33728%$21,471,359$21,964,026$15,282,500$27,274,269$3,188,556—$11,245,459$74,530,000source
FY2019$103,251,280$103,167,344$27,084,872$7,694,112$29,380,920$10,535,678$7,303,315$6,140,882$17,697,804$12,161,591$29,859,39529%$20,045,400$19,848,759$15,560,764$23,116,101$117,158—$7,335,023$77,390,000source
FY2018$100,745,386$102,518,486$26,868,608$6,777,665$27,649,568$10,764,623$9,161,713$6,163,955$18,086,588$11,894,203$29,980,79130%$18,205,764$19,451,932$16,824,971$21,111,250$2,017,961—$5,573,000$80,170,000source
FY2017$96,883,027$99,193,280$27,702,376$6,096,416$17,652,638$12,824,201$8,125,201$5,664,841$21,320,750$11,766,728$33,087,47834%$16,663,015$17,529,531$14,006,618$21,502,002$5,416,948—$5,665,000$82,870,000source
FY2016$83,974,159$83,974,159$25,174,838$5,520,939$11,483,214$13,757,852$8,980,761$6,279,407$17,188,776$11,421,897$28,610,67334%$13,983,250$8,795,921$12,898,975$16,180,307$3,663,380—$4,830,940$85,500,000source
FY2015$70,558,935$70,558,935$18,660,865$3,756,340$11,262,350$13,845,553$9,886,024$6,390,207$12,939,997$10,863,906$23,803,90334%$11,500,591$9,442,477$11,314,062$13,083,310$0—$4,895,187$88,060,000source
FY2014$76,656,339$76,656,339$19,699,664$3,416,960$9,269,466$10,466,489$8,113,992$7,678,049$26,017,575$10,323,090$36,340,66547%$11,226,988$10,301,115$10,623,500$12,510,549$0—$4,952,146$90,555,000source
FY2013$78,989,475$78,989,475$19,753,420$4,329,772$9,511,703$8,782,103$6,131,982$2,046,662$37,118,708$9,877,989$46,996,69760%$11,222,549$9,715,962$10,402,285$11,366,581$2,266,716—$6,040,406$92,985,000source
FY2012$64,038,720$64,038,720$21,338,849$4,988,467$9,773,663$10,044,989$9,013,610$2,660,407$18,477,322$9,518,734$27,996,05644%$11,566,113$9,142,078$10,296,880$12,513,304$409,489—$5,941,454$95,350,000source
FY2011$60,190,100$60,190,100$19,510,550$5,699,041$6,354,691$9,329,987$7,657,866$1,067,969$19,443,173$9,032,350$28,475,52347%$12,060,783$8,099,702$9,558,152$12,409,178$0—$6,089,000$97,655,000source
FY2010$64,203,255$64,203,255$26,833,762$5,275,871$9,156,101$12,390,580$9,198,611$1,545,527$18,426,587$8,441,092$26,867,67942%$12,447,067$9,413,643$8,953,847$11,284,512$833,125—$6,000,000$100,000,000source
FY2009$58,513,863$58,354,222$22,414,351$4,991,068$7,998,219$9,780,816$7,951,689$1,600,756$17,937,921$7,794,629$25,732,55044%$11,941,181$9,614,083$8,434,254$6,260,710$547,087—$2,000,000$95,000,000source
FY2008$52,012,491$51,748,813$18,779,278$5,014,163$7,904,157$8,353,115$7,554,789$1,021,608$15,256,553$6,980,728$22,237,28143%$11,389,518$8,407,467$7,693,148$3,827,636$0—$0$25,000,000source
FY2007$43,886,496$44,819,848$15,747,670$3,758,121$7,470,416$4,549,838$5,814,041$1,055,719$13,849,266$6,447,790$20,297,05646%$9,331,583$7,520,674$6,935,471$4,026,728$0—$0$0source
FY2006$41,192,258$41,824,257$13,191,330$0$6,234,164$3,845,565$4,863,963$1,168,352$14,384,303$5,807,996$20,192,29949%$8,483,764$7,275,748$6,598,167$4,016,339$0—$0$0source
FY2005$37,997,629$37,997,629$10,731,676$2,191,322$4,814,360$3,699,541$4,251,944$1,036,803$14,567,049$5,314,905$19,881,95452%$7,501,605$6,757,011$6,304,682$3,166,454$136,730—$0$0source
Data credit: Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database, a joint project of the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics and the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, Syracuse University.