Home › Schools › Big Ten › Pennsylvania State University

Pennsylvania State University

Conference (2026)
Big Ten
Control
Public
IPEDS UNITID
214777
City
State College (University Park), PA
City population
40,844 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
Metro area
State College, PA (Metropolitan): 157,393 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
TV market (DMA)
Johnstown-Altoona-State College, PA: rank #112, 285,520 TV homes (0.228% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank #111 (source)
Endowment
$5.06B (FY2025) · scope: Pennsylvania State University (all campuses) · system or combined figure · source
Annual giving
$563.5M (FY2025) · total fundraising commitments (record); $369.5M cash/outright · source

How to watch

Cheapest single package for every Penn State Nittany Lions game: ESPN Unlimited + Fox One bundle + Peacock Premium, $52.98/mo ($264.90 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $103.93 for the full season, $65.96 from Oct. 1. 6 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).

Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan

Sponsors, apparel & naming

  • Apparel: Adidas brand: secondary source · $300M ($30M/yr) · 10 yrs (2026-2036)
    Adidas from July 1, 2026 (ending 33-yr Nike run); ~ $300M over 10 years incl. cash, product and NIL benefits (On3 sources). [SP35] [SP36] [SP37]
  • Multimedia rights: Playfly Sports · not disclosed
    Playfly MMR client (per SBJ); terms not captured. [SP24]
  • Stadium naming: West Shore Home · $50M ($3.3M/yr) · 15 yrs
    West Shore Home Field at Beaver Stadium; $50M over 15 yrs. [SP67]

Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming

Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.

EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)

Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.

$0$69M$137M$206M$275MFY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
EADA total revenueEADA total expensesEADA football revenue (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal revenueTotal expensesFootball revenueFootball expensesFB share of rev. (calc)Men's BB revenueMen's BB expensesWomen's BB revenueWomen's BB expensesAthletic student aidRecruitingAvg head coach salary, men's teamsFootball participantsUndergrad enrollmentSource
FY2025$254,397,122$231,709,762$150,314,572$77,386,09759%$15,174,250$14,434,548$782,052$5,101,960$24,365,001$4,565,668$1,188,90613041,448source
FY2024$220,283,390$199,046,216$120,244,417$61,584,15255%$11,850,082$10,994,677$626,243$4,799,426$24,122,094$4,787,569$1,161,88512840,951source
FY2023$201,533,972$191,411,846$114,274,945$57,959,74357%$16,583,320$13,059,514$1,102,841$5,021,216$23,388,386$4,774,523$979,98912240,475source
FY2022$193,624,925$174,110,034$107,077,464$53,515,67755%$12,010,259$8,626,920$1,690,271$4,999,926$22,362,565$3,313,914$118,43412564,560source (note)
FY2021$131,512,404$130,924,694$47,204,178$33,135,02936%$9,695,019$7,583,437$1,337,558$3,989,101$21,290,346$919,533$103,99312264,544source (note)
FY2020$165,077,390$148,922,362$101,678,317$50,608,20262%$10,527,187$7,458,301$1,141,826$4,608,735$21,673,848$2,448,529$754,32312366,279source
FY2019$164,529,325$151,044,038$100,133,983$48,538,95661%$11,344,446$7,343,831$1,063,835$6,159,827$23,281,337$3,071,338$672,27912739,267source
FY2018$165,373,212$146,570,031$100,098,956$45,569,89261%$10,949,652$7,180,241$847,407$4,864,624$20,261,209$2,708,780$614,89812439,683source
FY2017$144,017,062$130,346,662$81,106,066$39,163,72056%$11,376,448$5,900,115$1,009,123$4,616,726$20,084,738$2,464,120$623,20011739,883source
FY2016$132,306,528$122,260,577$75,462,597$36,163,15157%$11,228,157$5,658,177$1,110,674$4,592,081$18,828,887$2,161,721$549,02312839,294source
FY2015$127,930,142$117,818,050$71,305,219$35,146,62356%$11,326,195$5,342,457$857,786$4,041,361$15,750,323$1,997,753$534,58611539,077source
FY2014$117,590,993$108,772,934$68,018,381$31,488,03658%$10,386,880$5,533,367$1,092,888$4,324,201$14,679,249$2,398,794$447,05511138,543source
FY2013$104,751,468$100,514,997$58,722,182$28,637,14456%$10,476,597$4,976,952$796,593$4,061,779$14,811,085$1,694,983$449,99411637,619source
FY2012$108,252,284$94,201,202$66,210,503$30,206,69261%$9,612,001$5,056,643$811,031$3,734,178$12,814,311$1,424,219$270,98712437,360source
FY2011$116,118,026$84,498,339$72,747,734$19,519,28863%$9,485,900$4,851,361$724,885$3,549,873$12,289,069$1,128,129$262,49212136,954source
FY2010$106,614,724$80,260,637$70,208,584$19,780,93966%$8,384,315$4,147,124$827,499$3,181,099$11,144,183$966,814$215,65112137,077source
FY2009$95,978,243$76,499,957$61,767,717$19,131,95764%$7,761,060$4,407,895$730,048$3,029,656$11,131,814$938,448$207,92412136,329source
FY2008$91,570,233$79,275,354$53,766,038$16,537,70559%$7,763,214$3,647,983$695,859$2,885,306$10,596,768$935,014$123,32711134,997source
FY2007$76,327,504$71,974,048$44,014,052$14,609,82858%$5,642,120$3,645,693$699,062$2,833,499$10,271,781$681,762$107,19111636,612source

Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)

NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.

$0$69M$138M$206M$275MFY05FY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
KN total athletic revenuesKN total athletic expensesKN subsidy (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal athletic revenuesTotal athletic expensesFootball spendingFootball coaching salariesConf./NCAA/media/postseasonTicket salesDonor contributionsSponsorship/licensingInst./govt supportStudent feesSubsidy (calc)Subsidy share (calc)Coaches comp.Non-coaching staff comp.Scholarships/aidFacilities/debt/equip.Coaching severanceInst. NIL rev. shareAnnual debt serviceAthletics debt outstandingSource
FY2025$254,867,598$254,643,919$89,186,987$25,297,372$89,583,248$50,362,976$64,557,754$25,114,673$0$0$00%$48,620,564$41,149,516$31,749,106$41,535,188$1,746,632$18,368,391$22,934,838$534,650,181source
FY2024$220,758,927$215,108,075$64,463,970$21,918,048$63,119,840$50,557,204$37,002,681$15,162,017$0$0$00%$43,493,181$38,303,258$24,122,094$40,951,591$929,482—$14,819,769$163,111,257source
FY2023$202,200,023$202,073,671$62,719,789$18,610,804$59,131,311$47,936,612$40,764,372$14,762,879$0$0$00%$39,311,528$39,287,584$23,388,386$37,969,530$1,631,623—$11,652,047$172,556,298source
FY2022$181,227,448$170,542,050$57,627,338$16,187,012$56,624,859$44,678,657$39,248,059$14,612,870$0$0$00%$32,502,673$30,867,035$22,362,565$32,555,142$1,023,003—$36,765,320$88,257,779source
FY2021$106,159,518$130,050,505$36,069,157$17,521,278$42,574,553-$1,028,999$22,483,488$13,820,055$0$0$00%$32,123,782$26,302,871$21,290,346$27,601,371$427,930—$11,819,572$121,913,943source
FY2020$165,077,390$157,908,311$48,768,610$18,482,095$55,520,424$43,012,270$30,494,428$13,911,850$0$0$00%$33,293,914$27,541,179$21,673,848$30,672,073$582,672—$4,840,780$99,818,308source
FY2019$164,529,326$160,369,805$46,240,016$15,764,741$54,629,945$40,968,559$31,499,197$14,890,040$0$0$00%$32,412,937$29,715,573$20,860,088$32,934,668$319,517—$3,845,450$54,850,575source
FY2018$165,373,214$155,184,697$45,219,641$14,196,742$54,330,817$38,187,382$34,917,579$13,890,649$0$0$00%$29,816,321$26,517,915$20,261,209$35,363,980$148,135—$3,845,450$58,057,318source
FY2017$144,017,055$138,724,055$39,791,466$11,426,104$40,357,928$35,500,704$30,779,975$13,772,177$0$0$00%$25,458,059$25,247,339$20,084,737$29,108,233$188,066—$3,835,917$60,455,231source
FY2016$132,248,076$129,349,149$35,647,905$11,327,633$36,331,547$35,188,377$26,183,278$12,754,339$0$0$00%$24,724,443$23,068,045$18,828,887$22,120,516$500,547—$2,917,693$63,032,146source
FY2015$125,720,619$122,271,407$33,528,252$11,226,373$35,532,118$37,037,403$27,700,192$7,599,351$0$0$00%$23,675,506$19,621,961$15,750,323$19,649,538$171,169—$2,967,487$49,684,630source
FY2014$117,590,990$117,440,639$30,300,992$10,602,752$27,765,756$38,006,892$24,169,749$4,890,787$0$0$00%$22,746,542$16,310,701$15,216,958$22,008,530$1,265,927—$2,854,686$46,479,619source
FY2013$104,751,464$110,737,200$18,780,930$0$26,283,182$33,395,879$24,480,517$5,086,773$0$0$00%$20,023,614$15,159,147$14,811,085$21,202,465$1,547,297—$2,852,984$48,383,590source
FY2012$108,252,281$107,389,258$18,380,701$0$27,624,289$34,729,535$25,504,557$4,444,416$0$0$00%$18,572,357$12,932,960$12,814,311$24,717,253$956,330—$2,878,546$50,198,888source
FY2011$116,118,025$101,336,483$15,049,592$0$26,248,787$35,634,458$34,286,648$5,517,643$0$0$00%$14,098,568$11,543,088$12,289,069$30,443,765$0—$3,572,170$51,936,329source
FY2010$106,614,724$88,041,921$14,071,560$0$23,185,325$41,836,815$20,993,951$5,984,967$0$0$00%$11,632,238$10,488,960$12,047,246$24,830,369$0—$3,892,779$54,233,779source
FY2005$60,785,496$60,218,635$8,072,104$0$10,737,529$23,369,904$13,733,690$4,618,077$0$0$00%$6,616,593$6,280,944$8,080,557$17,129,964$0—$4,000,000$65,000,000source
Data credit: Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database, a joint project of the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics and the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, Syracuse University.