Home › Schools › SEC › University of Oklahoma

University of Oklahoma

Conference (2026)
SEC (Joined SEC July 1, 2024 (from Big 12))
Control
Public
IPEDS UNITID
207500
City
Norman, OK
City population
130,943 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
Metro area
Oklahoma City, OK (Metropolitan): 1,512,813 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
TV market (DMA)
Oklahoma City, OK: rank #47, 762,700 TV homes (0.608% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank #45 (source)
Norman (Cleveland County) is in the Oklahoma City DMA
Endowment
$2.10B (FY2025 (June 30, 2025)) · scope: Endowments held by OU Foundation that benefit OU (approx.) · source
OU not in NACUBO FY2025 public list. OU Foundation: ~$2.77B investable assets, ~$2.1B endowments benefiting OU. IPEDS FY25 figure (~$1.61B, per search index of OU IPEDS finance filing) conflicts/uses a different definition.
Annual giving
$352.0M (FY2025) · total gifts (record; incl. $113M athletics) · source
Student newspaper report

How to watch

Cheapest single package for every Oklahoma Sooners game: ESPN Unlimited, $31.99/mo ($159.95 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $58.90 for the full season, $41.93 from Oct. 1. 7 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).

Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan

Sponsors, apparel & naming

  • Apparel: Jordan (Nike) brand: secondary source · $70M
    Nike/Jordan Brand deal (2018) worth up to ~ $70M (OU Daily, via NBC Sports). Current terms not found. [SP35] [SP57] [SP34]
  • Multimedia rights: Learfield (Sooner Sports Properties) · not disclosed
    Learfield local arm also made exclusive NIL partner (July 2025). [SP33]

Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming

Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.

EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)

Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.

This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 1 of 19 years.

$0$63M$127M$190M$253MFY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
EADA total revenueEADA total expensesEADA football revenue (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal revenueTotal expensesFootball revenueFootball expensesFB share of rev. (calc)Men's BB revenueMen's BB expensesWomen's BB revenueWomen's BB expensesAthletic student aidRecruitingAvg head coach salary, men's teamsFootball participantsUndergrad enrollmentSource
FY2025$234,426,470$234,426,470$126,247,146$71,184,82654%$9,769,244$14,250,771$2,618,570$8,756,319$19,619,031$6,387,881$1,481,02712820,429source
FY2024$188,933,196$188,623,620$124,879,959$65,814,05066%$14,808,965$12,416,133$2,976,664$7,150,305$19,073,458$5,884,214$1,486,33512619,121source
FY2023$183,919,881$181,311,331$134,727,441$61,996,92373%$14,478,267$12,129,422$3,075,625$6,399,371$18,610,704$5,514,733$1,458,63611918,479source
FY2022$186,948,657$185,625,893$132,659,502$54,176,63771%$14,034,622$12,406,055$2,825,081$5,877,418$16,374,799$4,003,621$1,776,28611918,220source
FY2021$153,657,898$152,686,359$101,119,170$40,551,25166%$13,352,755$10,855,754$2,063,450$5,432,576$15,517,520$345,270$1,454,28112018,539source
FY2020$159,116,738$157,494,530$101,881,969$41,455,78364%$8,477,462$9,669,952$2,064,744$6,393,611$15,854,829$2,259,117$1,268,35911618,820source
FY2019$159,286,136$159,138,410$94,817,907$43,453,31560%$12,355,263$10,072,404$2,854,726$6,403,803$15,911,968$2,757,195$1,259,09611918,856source
FY2018$175,325,500$157,594,460$102,321,307$39,088,10258%$13,473,566$10,205,245$3,251,438$6,221,340$15,017,184$2,584,821$1,135,83511618,852source
FY2017$155,209,855$139,503,590$95,876,446$37,848,19962%$13,190,742$9,201,538$3,703,885$6,372,082$13,808,619$2,306,697$1,271,74511518,218source
FY2016$150,371,578$134,898,708$94,142,098$35,854,26663%$12,030,130$10,582,714$2,084,098$6,239,607$12,244,528$1,993,926$1,269,54711817,893source
FY2015$135,660,070$124,732,244$78,737,409$30,316,60958%$10,907,532$9,191,997$1,987,252$5,807,901$12,004,962$2,254,629$1,199,60211717,711source
FY2014$129,220,692$116,540,775$71,370,051$28,107,66655%$9,948,655$8,106,591$2,226,884$5,596,048$11,171,401$1,758,151$1,040,46511517,399source
FY2013$123,805,661$106,340,398$69,647,986$24,533,90556%$8,380,083$7,372,069$2,292,929$5,411,291$9,296,979$1,521,797$986,92211017,960source
FY2012$106,456,616$98,160,767$59,630,425$24,097,64356%$8,011,804$6,813,149$2,585,358$4,787,260$8,967,059$1,445,034$956,51911517,648source
FY2011$104,338,843$96,274,366$58,811,324$23,191,40256%$8,437,785$8,445,816$2,422,812$4,317,979$9,249,117$1,263,567$1,213,78011516,995source
FY2010$98,661,765$88,539,861$58,295,888$20,150,76959%$8,626,247$5,720,497$2,599,538$3,930,399$7,713,954$1,466,199$830,48811517,131source
FY2009$81,487,835$81,404,992$42,638,431$20,799,93352%$6,753,149$5,409,808$1,448,696$4,126,551$7,115,478$1,573,690$646,70711417,075source
FY2008$77,098,009$76,945,883$40,922,446$18,863,32353%$6,369,446$5,063,968$1,315,675$3,601,491$5,550,169$1,208,116$560,33911916,994source
FY2007$69,430,569$69,266,317$37,263,255$18,790,70154%$5,829,692$4,231,966$1,187,273$3,445,903$5,285,294$1,120,762$128,88112516,404source

Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)

NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.

$0$69M$137M$206M$275MFY05FY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
KN total athletic revenuesKN total athletic expensesKN subsidy (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal athletic revenuesTotal athletic expensesFootball spendingFootball coaching salariesConf./NCAA/media/postseasonTicket salesDonor contributionsSponsorship/licensingInst./govt supportStudent feesSubsidy (calc)Subsidy share (calc)Coaches comp.Non-coaching staff comp.Scholarships/aidFacilities/debt/equip.Coaching severanceInst. NIL rev. shareAnnual debt serviceAthletics debt outstandingSource
FY2025$205,670,266$254,538,960$63,821,802$19,000,671$16,550,441$54,512,302$98,240,268$19,200,045$0$0$00%$41,373,989$29,267,348$26,375,277$103,996,061$1,585,214$0$18,332,034$210,025,998source
FY2024$208,829,776$212,479,127$60,534,764$17,642,370$42,084,237$47,177,358$78,553,962$25,194,391$0$0$00%$38,822,648$28,174,295$19,520,040$67,896,073$2,508,428—$15,750,566$219,589,697source
FY2023$199,295,570$205,514,920$57,968,084$17,397,319$47,565,687$48,206,341$66,076,355$23,411,285$0$0$00%$35,994,409$29,328,315$18,887,413$66,014,758$1,068,633—$14,994,111$186,567,840source
FY2022$177,320,217$182,403,214$49,555,763$17,793,635$49,505,080$46,977,771$43,180,134$20,266,752$0$0$00%$33,757,740$24,816,220$17,457,999$61,311,924$25,383—$10,446,598$192,263,635source
FY2021$143,668,948$145,100,455$38,210,376$16,159,472$42,674,268$11,056,719$61,291,407$19,783,007$2,000,889$0$2,000,8891%$32,983,850$17,497,188$16,151,142$47,779,909$355,055—$10,970,716$199,391,420source
FY2020$159,116,745$162,958,014$41,455,784$16,388,860$47,524,530$43,126,229$43,907,897$15,163,596$0$0$00%$31,838,431$21,790,732$15,958,027$41,351,767$446,825—$14,990,328$204,257,046source
FY2019$163,126,695$163,835,791$42,752,259$13,547,216$48,603,300$42,947,375$45,566,195$15,337,859$0$0$00%$29,115,829$21,978,083$15,967,266$45,664,670$995,825—$14,803,742$211,398,218source
FY2018$175,325,500$153,189,153$39,820,566$11,202,018$41,831,996$42,227,007$62,977,461$14,045,255$0$0$00%$26,243,527$21,150,588$15,056,236$43,451,873$465,918—$15,276,164$218,352,804source
FY2017$155,238,481$138,456,780$37,795,695$13,489,644$40,749,612$42,142,811$45,504,839$14,106,074$0$0$00%$26,747,190$18,722,982$14,015,222$29,485,106$138,478—$6,672,000$210,710,000source
FY2016$150,373,216$132,611,840$39,893,246$12,283,798$39,003,051$39,747,466$46,641,355$16,449,721$0$0$00%$25,416,335$18,076,236$12,485,841$33,092,402$25,148—$8,339,500$214,200,000source
FY2015$134,269,349$128,260,251$35,369,766$11,640,718$31,546,830$39,263,430$32,147,093$20,877,150$0$0$00%$24,262,369$17,941,871$12,065,436$28,385,649$455,740—$9,239,000$110,356,000source
FY2014$129,226,692$113,366,698$27,600,571$10,279,674$31,181,666$36,940,264$33,363,102$12,798,803$0$0$00%$21,918,720$18,042,745$11,352,361$30,103,747$155,101—$9,876,036$114,994,970source
FY2013$123,805,661$102,447,553$25,140,633$10,002,520$28,504,230$37,770,523$34,487,196$12,805,600$0$0$00%$21,274,516$17,552,157$9,457,432$26,269,678$72,662—$9,527,000$120,054,000source
FY2012$106,456,616$96,250,328$23,674,490$10,223,952$16,621,386$36,281,486$32,580,273$13,153,909$0$0$00%$20,773,036$15,635,655$9,376,376$24,100,500$107,411—$9,001,121$125,123,844source
FY2011$104,338,844$94,363,928$23,277,520$9,771,667$16,562,326$35,856,411$28,671,113$12,131,029$0$0$00%$18,969,694$14,620,614$9,439,275$22,668,044$2,066,261—$8,255,560$87,014,027source
FY2010$98,512,287$87,678,197$19,242,511$8,117,665$13,866,094$35,416,091$26,601,241$11,375,376$0$0$00%$16,727,351$14,520,751$8,001,631$25,141,217$0—$8,704,701$91,343,420source
FY2009$81,487,835$81,404,991$20,104,378$6,649,899$17,074,420$34,087,657$14,166,960$10,836,829$0$0$00%$14,452,846$13,866,248$7,841,339$21,863,498$117,999—$8,464,502$95,981,466source
FY2008$77,098,008$76,945,882$18,533,245$6,303,238$12,990,647$35,162,720$13,255,316$9,651,372$0$150,000$150,0000%$12,951,543$12,652,242$7,346,156$21,417,966$0—$7,725,697$94,651,649source
FY2007$69,430,571$69,266,318$17,942,907$5,897,043$12,302,797$31,054,702$12,096,410$8,092,781$0$150,000$150,0000%$11,958,296$10,377,845$6,964,478$18,452,302$137,109—$5,981,200$91,798,000source
FY2006$64,521,972$64,322,580$15,812,516$6,333,566$11,065,627$29,284,212$10,820,720$7,375,647$0$150,000$150,0000%$11,485,172$9,858,062$5,491,769$20,371,837$0—$6,367,100$84,970,000source
FY2005$63,382,024$62,897,773$15,539,986$0$12,412,816$28,599,675$10,096,423$7,340,313$0$150,000$150,0000%$9,790,344$10,638,227$5,148,388$19,629,555$0—$6,382,000$86,605,000source
Data credit: Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database, a joint project of the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics and the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, Syracuse University.