Home › Schools › Big Ten › Ohio State University

Ohio State University

Conference (2026)
Big Ten
Control
Public
IPEDS UNITID
204796
City
Columbus, OH
City population
938,396 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
Metro area
Columbus, OH (Metropolitan): 2,242,028 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
TV market (DMA)
Columbus, OH: rank #35, 1,018,390 TV homes (0.812% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank #34 (source)
Endowment
$8.62B (FY2025) · scope: The Ohio State University · source
Annual giving
$825.4M (FY2025) · new fundraising activity: gifts, pledges, planned gifts, private grants (record); $628.3M cash receipts · source

How to watch

Cheapest single package for every Ohio State Buckeyes game: Fox One + Peacock Premium, $32.98/mo ($164.90 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $85.95 for the full season, $65.96 from Oct. 1. 5 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).

Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan

Sponsors, apparel & naming

  • Apparel: Nike brand: secondary source · $252M ($16.8M/yr) · 15 yrs (2018-2033)
    Nike 15-yr deal (signed 2016, runs 2018-2033) worth $252M total (~$16.8M/yr cash+product). [SP35] [SP58] [SP54] [SP34]
  • Multimedia rights: Learfield · not disclosed · through 2036
    Extension through 2036 converted to a revenue-share model (Jan 2026); no guarantee disclosed; AD Ross Bjork: "the largest deal ... toward any collegiate property" expected. [SP27] [SP20]

Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming

Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.

EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)

Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.

This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 3 of 19 years.

$0$80M$159M$239M$319MFY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
EADA total revenueEADA total expensesEADA football revenue (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal revenueTotal expensesFootball revenueFootball expensesFB share of rev. (calc)Men's BB revenueMen's BB expensesWomen's BB revenueWomen's BB expensesAthletic student aidRecruitingAvg head coach salary, men's teamsFootball participantsUndergrad enrollmentSource
FY2025$295,265,883$295,265,883$160,549,826$92,359,30954%$23,355,035$13,158,683$7,163,564$7,163,564$29,622,164$4,109,922$1,221,95012242,955source
FY2024$262,172,467$262,172,467$111,646,810$78,586,38443%$24,494,484$21,527,439$7,630,290$7,630,293$25,758,349$4,282,343$1,144,73112041,782source
FY2023$249,698,974$234,409,941$127,355,183$72,409,50651%$23,638,698$13,062,023$1,277,839$6,565,977$23,555,566$3,879,870$1,038,88312442,186source
FY2022$246,605,307$209,874,565$109,176,080$69,127,91144%$23,575,794$11,903,830$693,032$5,198,359$24,234,695$3,370,408$849,19512742,905source
FY2021$141,201,562$141,201,562$43,835,452$43,835,45231%$15,418,363$9,481,027$3,588,286$3,588,286$20,411,664$578,668$741,49312442,540source
FY2020$225,542,037$189,098,494$115,510,031$52,616,23051%$22,020,260$10,549,049$790,523$5,128,196$21,358,547$2,015,358$712,73512542,586source
FY2019$209,102,666$198,624,066$115,091,304$60,076,74355%$24,953,122$10,996,364$794,802$4,954,594$21,620,826$2,862,134$726,87013142,646source
FY2018$203,514,189$187,169,632$110,661,057$46,444,13454%$24,056,371$20,653,121$1,363,355$5,501,545$20,964,348$2,819,239$1,042,26712841,824source
FY2017$175,885,823$160,186,410$89,893,135$38,446,47051%$18,250,063$9,293,589$974,803$4,648,585$19,737,466$2,196,532$743,58713041,666source
FY2016$169,904,847$151,863,902$86,646,061$37,378,14651%$19,872,727$9,142,079$1,077,796$5,034,790$18,486,028$1,921,636$571,87512840,898source
FY2015$170,903,135$136,966,818$83,547,428$32,588,49349%$24,060,718$8,987,900$1,003,869$4,170,589$17,325,161$1,877,976$585,23711840,452source
FY2014$143,718,564$120,068,395$65,773,860$23,381,51646%$21,326,066$6,041,361$1,114,369$3,264,345$16,831,633$1,661,907$584,67111139,877source
FY2013$123,604,626$122,616,951$61,131,726$22,984,98549%$18,781,682$5,929,891$1,104,936$5,049,957$15,357,208$1,738,633$540,29210338,708source
FY2012$142,043,056$116,400,943$58,112,270$34,026,87141%$18,872,400$5,956,288$1,120,714$3,729,147$15,060,063$1,289,623$468,60110439,053source
FY2011$131,815,819$113,184,855$60,837,342$34,373,84446%$17,020,807$5,251,724$1,061,539$3,754,235$15,129,920$1,136,978$488,09810338,300source
FY2010$123,174,176$104,934,205$63,750,000$31,763,03652%$16,190,723$4,554,908$1,578,152$3,499,952$13,795,163$1,018,146$493,01211537,629source
FY2009$119,859,607$102,064,138$68,196,195$32,306,90657%$16,115,419$4,697,478$1,561,878$3,470,099$13,478,436$1,040,490$478,87410536,333source
FY2008$117,953,712$98,981,205$65,162,179$33,063,24855%$13,928,605$4,363,889$1,409,513$3,260,238$13,198,633$1,138,909$444,24510536,616source
FY2007$109,382,222$109,197,910$59,142,071$32,538,31954%$12,898,413$3,987,583$712,294$3,183,207$12,052,175$1,236,825$487,17910434,982source

Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)

NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.

$0$91M$181M$272M$363MFY05FY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
KN total athletic revenuesKN total athletic expensesKN subsidy (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal athletic revenuesTotal athletic expensesFootball spendingFootball coaching salariesConf./NCAA/media/postseasonTicket salesDonor contributionsSponsorship/licensingInst./govt supportStudent feesSubsidy (calc)Subsidy share (calc)Coaches comp.Non-coaching staff comp.Scholarships/aidFacilities/debt/equip.Coaching severanceInst. NIL rev. shareAnnual debt serviceAthletics debt outstandingSource
FY2025$336,077,887$320,661,665$92,359,308$33,096,548$97,839,402$81,650,892$68,955,032$42,770,263$112,280$0$112,2800%$59,837,678$51,849,996$36,804,912$76,042,914$11,732$0$26,292,181$273,599,995source
FY2024$254,933,664$295,174,868$78,586,384$30,576,162$73,486,459$58,788,651$53,320,570$34,141,289$0$0$00%$56,338,988$50,932,905$26,084,724$76,262,763$9,205,112—$28,879,963$286,658,299source
FY2023$279,549,337$276,839,796$72,382,343$24,302,178$70,986,026$73,386,886$58,763,922$42,832,059$0$0$00%$47,742,590$45,514,112$23,829,914$83,410,393$162,335—$41,056,917$300,826,274source
FY2022$251,615,345$227,906,141$69,127,911$22,391,383$71,915,212$59,649,921$63,582,228$30,088,073$0$0$00%$43,980,269$39,514,342$24,564,657$53,312,105$236,973—$15,629,359$241,107,041source
FY2021$106,896,918$171,618,051$45,176,147$20,937,472$55,225,163$7,386$20,694,115$18,862,849$0$0$00%$39,519,318$31,437,418$20,624,606$53,875,771$0—$21,673,000$244,016,345source
FY2020$233,871,740$218,651,265$52,616,230$18,058,007$66,117,736$65,978,534$48,197,862$30,825,698$0$0$00%$38,088,890$40,726,739$21,524,454$63,484,310$0—$26,364,000$250,791,550source
FY2019$210,548,239$223,605,396$60,076,743$20,996,858$69,646,214$59,847,907$29,681,048$22,921,170$0$0$00%$40,841,386$38,108,511$22,070,556$59,888,210$120,438—$22,052,109$250,701,333source
FY2018$205,556,663$206,472,651$46,076,280$16,917,895$60,917,329$69,160,661$33,530,397$20,178,573$0$0$00%$40,242,782$35,348,842$21,305,478$51,752,236$6,397,241—$17,111,179$204,645,198source
FY2017$185,409,602$175,743,681$38,520,914$13,507,199$42,708,957$61,560,351$37,612,937$19,961,108$0$0$00%$31,837,126$32,572,430$20,071,376$46,274,671$241,200—$13,264,294$177,771,859source
FY2016$170,789,765$169,075,013$37,479,825$13,008,759$39,201,444$61,362,320$33,138,103$17,182,510$0$0$00%$30,279,939$31,480,476$19,216,275$45,933,168$0—$14,606,674$178,560,800source
FY2015$167,166,065$156,969,195$29,236,140$12,200,438$33,936,280$63,149,938$32,951,072$17,106,551$0$0$00%$28,109,528$27,641,663$17,828,909$48,851,628$0—$19,701,347$184,599,324source
FY2014$145,232,681$113,937,001$31,950,998$11,271,866$30,594,655$56,002,638$28,201,658$12,968,356$0$0$00%$26,460,182$26,590,929$16,831,633$8,422,521$0—$17,451,000$191,173,000source
FY2013$139,639,307$116,026,329$34,074,179$11,187,835$25,597,519$54,598,907$22,204,606$12,714,758$0$0$00%$28,497,335$24,394,768$15,357,209$7,291,946$550,812—$15,882,000$169,342,000source
FY2012$142,043,057$124,419,412$34,360,112$6,154,456$24,707,510$49,107,015$19,106,302$9,689,941$0$0$00%$16,768,579$14,734,645$15,060,063$6,663,981$1,372,883—$17,344,967$177,032,054source
FY2011$131,815,821$122,286,869$39,217,983$6,200,296$24,777,223$50,009,395$17,636,938$12,162,905$0$0$00%$16,511,360$13,731,713$15,129,920$27,980,068$0—$17,205,929$183,555,456source
FY2010$123,174,176$122,739,754$37,978,930$6,086,962$26,272,859$39,515,387$27,327,347$12,785,018$0$0$00%$16,191,270$13,540,350$11,887,986$29,838,528$0—$17,805,549$195,320,198source
FY2009$119,711,581$119,859,608$40,828,747$5,711,827$23,446,091$40,776,260$27,321,161$7,983,957$0$0$00%$15,463,924$15,112,662$13,618,272$31,654,223$0—$17,795,470$203,684,144source
FY2008$115,737,022$114,264,848$20,547,985$4,790,500$25,262,795$38,608,138$27,556,385$5,015,349$0$0$00%$14,108,419$16,544,690$13,184,957$30,986,603$0—$16,404,897$211,209,725source
FY2007$109,382,222$109,197,920$31,136,950$0$13,275,518$42,851,925$24,808,496$7,908,631$3,189$0$3,1890%$17,770,591$15,926,666$12,036,229$28,812,416$0—$16,674,042$220,041,352source
FY2006$104,704,852$101,804,852$32,288,865$0$13,234,901$42,104,738$23,070,587$8,037,318$9,911$0$9,9110%$15,232,105$10,171,041$11,346,063$32,020,761$0—$15,617,280$192,000,000source
FY2005$89,700,979$89,580,307$25,711,478$0$13,342,803$34,073,089$19,829,556$7,234,438$5,429$0$5,4290%$13,768,896$10,799,985$10,542,719$26,870,835$0—$15,360,148$228,383,000source
Data credit: Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database, a joint project of the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics and the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, Syracuse University.