Home › Schools › Big Ten › University of Nebraska-Lincoln

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Conference (2026)
Big Ten
Control
Public
IPEDS UNITID
181464
City
Lincoln, NE
City population
301,522 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
Metro area
Lincoln, NE (Metropolitan): 352,081 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
TV market (DMA)
Lincoln & Hastings-Kearney, NE: rank #107, 296,500 TV homes (0.236% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank not found
Endowment
$2.72B (FY2025) · scope: University of Nebraska (listed at Lincoln; system-wide) · system or combined figure · source
Likely NU system-wide figure
Annual giving
$416.6M (FY2025) · new funds committed, NU Foundation (SYSTEM-wide; record) · source
UNL-only figure not found

How to watch

Cheapest single package for every Nebraska Cornhuskers game: Fox One + Peacock Premium, $32.98/mo ($164.90 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $85.95 for the full season, $65.96 from Oct. 1. 4 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).

Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan

Sponsors, apparel & naming

  • Apparel: Adidas brand: secondary source · not disclosed
    Current deal value NOT FOUND in public reporting during this pass (private school, foundation-held contract, or not searched). [SP35] [SP34]
  • Multimedia rights: Playfly Sports · $300M · 15 yrs
    15 yrs, $300M ($273.6M guaranteed), approved 2022. CSC later rejected Nebraska athletes' NIL deals with Playfly (> $1M combined), upheld in arbitration. [SP26] [M-S10]

Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming

Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.

EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)

Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.

This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 1 of 19 years.

$0$57M$114M$172M$229MFY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
EADA total revenueEADA total expensesEADA football revenue (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal revenueTotal expensesFootball revenueFootball expensesFB share of rev. (calc)Men's BB revenueMen's BB expensesWomen's BB revenueWomen's BB expensesAthletic student aidRecruitingAvg head coach salary, men's teamsFootball participantsUndergrad enrollmentSource
FY2025$205,807,522$198,462,402$122,283,973$70,574,66859%$18,447,339$13,196,203$1,996,767$6,092,105$12,695,377$3,172,140$1,742,86215518,390source
FY2024$211,778,141$175,438,100$126,225,245$52,429,43260%$17,306,324$12,206,103$2,134,685$5,662,838$13,377,929$3,470,402$1,467,67714218,078source
FY2023$197,009,548$160,904,566$120,840,117$48,692,01661%$17,288,897$10,195,829$1,696,981$5,146,780$12,881,081$2,909,156$1,141,25915318,170source
FY2022$136,303,218$124,061,227$95,852,148$32,957,50070%$16,840,124$10,502,588$1,858,475$4,899,964$12,709,145$2,014,272$1,134,67615518,435source
FY2021$98,059,986$98,059,986$51,421,857$22,785,68652%$10,183,146$10,183,146$1,214,031$3,647,631$13,006,561$400,481$1,231,73216618,949source
FY2020$128,185,606$115,138,649$95,848,584$31,601,46375%$13,517,159$10,930,019$1,501,609$4,534,428$12,858,369$1,931,347$1,088,63017619,130source
FY2019$130,313,578$118,228,324$94,336,296$34,574,99972%$15,042,854$9,180,631$1,463,633$4,210,011$12,653,605$2,773,421$1,064,54415819,462source
FY2018$136,624,256$130,028,314$92,506,833$46,116,92468%$19,340,390$7,771,106$2,712,745$4,094,428$12,004,142$2,545,583$925,86312819,534source
FY2017$117,743,538$110,110,106$69,503,006$36,571,68259%$9,812,781$7,448,108$1,474,287$4,040,964$11,836,616$2,376,594$751,78913919,381source
FY2016$109,967,175$101,569,989$65,012,080$27,493,96259%$10,441,267$7,329,386$1,798,454$5,673,073$11,051,273$2,122,414$700,64213818,817source
FY2015$103,763,277$99,125,587$60,621,628$29,179,49258%$8,853,129$6,521,834$1,478,031$4,083,611$9,759,530$2,229,914$742,24413818,660source
FY2014$94,797,692$91,220,101$60,164,128$23,844,46663%$8,454,574$6,338,162$1,503,162$4,012,769$9,525,229$2,060,115$711,65714118,102source
FY2013$86,916,001$80,964,496$55,866,615$21,359,30964%$7,749,456$5,311,622$1,010,582$3,335,523$9,992,906$1,794,747$673,95115117,766source
FY2012$81,631,252$76,378,522$55,063,437$18,649,94767%$10,703,335$8,361,586$908,656$3,311,810$9,867,521$1,567,360$579,92615018,039source
FY2011$83,679,756$78,509,148$54,712,406$20,147,30265%$6,371,843$4,342,937$986,384$2,984,157$10,346,619$1,234,097$567,00416718,129source
FY2010$73,483,733$68,454,129$49,928,228$17,843,84968%$6,022,208$4,104,289$1,080,655$2,680,603$9,662,283$1,036,916$527,38215317,737source
FY2009$74,881,383$62,804,071$55,226,605$17,938,60674%$6,297,232$3,961,218$695,026$2,247,575$8,752,635$1,101,694$455,38515617,283source
FY2008$75,492,884$62,343,170$49,076,861$18,896,43265%$6,318,062$3,897,334$671,445$2,285,667$8,166,819$1,083,385$399,57613216,757source
FY2007$71,121,812$70,899,239$26,264,849$13,834,13437%$2,613,353$3,793,663$250,179$1,984,038$7,578,679$1,275,037$436,10713515,768source

Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)

NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.

$0$59M$119M$178M$238MFY05FY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
KN total athletic revenuesKN total athletic expensesKN subsidy (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal athletic revenuesTotal athletic expensesFootball spendingFootball coaching salariesConf./NCAA/media/postseasonTicket salesDonor contributionsSponsorship/licensingInst./govt supportStudent feesSubsidy (calc)Subsidy share (calc)Coaches comp.Non-coaching staff comp.Scholarships/aidFacilities/debt/equip.Coaching severanceInst. NIL rev. shareAnnual debt serviceAthletics debt outstandingSource
FY2025$215,089,007$212,743,888$72,691,842$18,986,426$93,350,900$40,677,611$48,407,981$17,941,341$0$0$00%$36,775,334$35,930,464$27,481,344$58,294,291$2,952,083$0$1,033,768$10,709,542source
FY2024$220,165,405$213,456,031$84,059,267$12,942,893$75,640,768$33,729,161$76,440,846$16,986,727$0$0$00%$29,129,340$34,824,698$13,377,929$77,226,247$7,586,830—$30,378,771$11,402,804source
FY2023$204,831,356$200,870,384$72,796,239$12,274,915$61,237,571$38,062,001$61,155,358$31,343,073$0$0$00%$26,101,804$32,255,457$12,881,081$68,925,263$8,326,198—$22,971,152$40,868,156source
FY2022$143,423,944$141,181,951$35,006,033$10,370,748$56,498,107$38,946,701$1,292,933$29,251,052$0$0$00%$23,282,418$28,680,211$12,709,146$30,994,396$1,634,775—$0$0source
FY2021$92,093,093$104,087,284$24,597,327$9,733,715$47,041,691$706,138$22,902,104$18,813,577$0$0$00%$22,385,907$25,056,329$13,006,562$17,178,765$4,152,127—$0$0source
FY2020$133,629,080$130,582,125$33,222,111$9,682,560$51,696,061$38,069,771$7,398,043$27,620,416$0$0$00%$21,576,530$28,368,473$12,858,368$25,164,297$1,826,656—$0$0source
FY2019$136,233,460$134,713,519$36,394,252$9,780,423$55,067,821$37,095,376$6,689,855$27,884,562$0$0$00%$21,470,303$27,305,297$12,653,605$25,113,669$2,841,924—$0$0source
FY2018$142,223,226$141,063,338$47,856,339$9,211,929$52,898,272$37,196,606$16,714,649$25,806,845$0$0$00%$19,911,657$26,043,188$12,004,142$34,303,832$12,926,350—$0$0source
FY2017$120,205,090$117,979,144$37,325,512$7,502,680$27,769,779$37,258,695$26,599,584$19,896,347$0$0$00%$17,953,170$24,006,816$11,836,616$26,249,658$2,013,155—$0$0source
FY2016$112,142,961$108,989,919$28,223,705$6,865,677$24,613,633$37,198,005$21,518,119$18,626,157$0$0$00%$16,700,470$21,896,216$11,051,273$21,064,569$3,494,758—$0$0source
FY2015$102,157,399$102,523,037$27,482,820$7,773,936$16,987,034$36,618,329$19,654,976$15,833,035$0$0$00%$16,983,957$20,472,345$9,759,530$21,984,237$2,588,326—$0$0source
FY2014$94,797,692$90,939,273$23,844,465$6,548,010$18,587,422$40,450,062$11,833,760$13,140,048$0$0$00%$15,589,712$18,182,254$9,531,229$15,930,040$0—$3,393,488$26,340,000source
FY2013$86,916,001$81,666,269$21,359,310$6,444,623$20,063,634$32,491,416$12,657,818$11,895,378$0$0$00%$14,670,420$16,863,101$8,940,459$12,387,124$0—$3,364,180$28,335,000source
FY2012$81,631,252$77,037,282$18,649,948$5,785,364$18,453,995$32,450,880$9,783,535$11,821,376$0$0$00%$13,288,319$15,643,500$9,416,377$10,158,182$3,187,852—$3,359,543$30,245,000source
FY2011$83,679,756$81,916,484$20,147,302$5,631,931$17,793,700$31,716,096$12,638,521$10,650,177$0$0$00%$12,840,290$14,287,403$10,359,619$13,289,429$206,396—$3,407,336$32,080,000source
FY2010$73,483,733$71,738,068$17,843,849$5,132,495$15,371,824$31,504,769$6,103,706$9,397,189$0$0$00%$11,831,699$13,782,751$9,677,637$11,573,113$0—$3,283,939$33,840,000source
FY2009$74,881,383$70,543,505$17,938,606$0$15,922,900$33,982,799$5,160,306$11,545,259$0$0$00%$10,732,473$13,210,715$8,762,557$13,387,810$0———source
FY2008$75,492,884$74,981,110$19,078,115$0$12,992,341$30,560,065$16,410,663$8,858,680$0$0$00%$9,413,168$11,982,426$8,166,819$16,766,665$6,588,297———source
FY2007$70,846,908$65,356,468$15,685,342$3,611,940$13,354,633$28,119,217$15,021,384$8,526,354$0$0$00%$9,439,713$11,003,937$7,585,821$15,254,637$0—$10,366,347$49,815,000source
FY2006$63,723,537$61,667,540$12,367,676$0$12,745,244$24,696,256$11,749,526$7,605,895$0$0$00%$8,855,319$10,271,472$6,637,033$16,568,641$0———source
FY2005$55,876,334$55,697,329$12,661,039$3,339,499$11,743,020$21,578,588$11,390,228$6,059,567$0$0$00%$8,001,490$10,186,979$6,408,173$12,646,801$0—$7,188,248$67,146,362source
Data credit: Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database, a joint project of the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics and the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, Syracuse University.