Home › Schools › SEC › Mississippi State University

Mississippi State University

Conference (2026)
SEC
Control
Public
IPEDS UNITID
176080
City
Starkville (Mississippi State), MS
City population
25,754 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
Metro area
Starkville, MS (Micropolitan): 62,063 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
TV market (DMA)
Columbus-Tupelo-West Point-Houston (Starkville), MS: rank #134, 190,950 TV homes (0.152% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank not found
Endowment
$1.00B (FY2025) · scope: Mississippi State University & Foundation · source
Annual giving
$260.2M (FY2025) · private giving: outright, pledged and deferred (record) · source

How to watch

Cheapest single package for every Mississippi State Bulldogs game: ESPN Unlimited, $31.99/mo ($159.95 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $53.91 for the full season, $35.94 from Oct. 1. 5 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).

Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan

Sponsors, apparel & naming

  • Apparel: Adidas brand: secondary source · not disclosed
    Current deal value NOT FOUND in public reporting during this pass (private school, foundation-held contract, or not searched). [SP35]

Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming

Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.

EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)

Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.

This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 2 of 19 years.

$0$42M$85M$127M$170MFY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
EADA total revenueEADA total expensesEADA football revenue (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal revenueTotal expensesFootball revenueFootball expensesFB share of rev. (calc)Men's BB revenueMen's BB expensesWomen's BB revenueWomen's BB expensesAthletic student aidRecruitingAvg head coach salary, men's teamsFootball participantsUndergrad enrollmentSource
FY2025$157,301,826$157,301,826$37,575,575$37,575,57524%$12,220,601$12,220,601$6,325,217$6,325,217$11,371,327$3,181,575$1,785,62611016,864source
FY2024$125,114,437$125,114,437$35,559,188$35,559,18828%$11,189,344$11,189,344$5,482,035$5,482,035$13,361,497$2,471,910$1,559,70311716,542source
FY2023$115,664,788$113,473,523$41,313,828$32,951,73636%$9,319,188$9,319,188$6,140,522$6,140,522$12,548,309$1,823,145$1,592,71512016,581source
FY2022$109,091,372$100,888,464$40,683,223$29,101,94037%$8,656,418$8,384,572$5,409,662$5,409,662$10,338,416$1,567,590$1,795,54711616,761source
FY2021$99,355,751$82,764,165$27,807,741$22,941,02128%$6,742,394$6,260,208$3,598,727$3,598,727$9,703,434$102,430$1,577,11611117,057source
FY2020$101,215,909$99,416,930$39,962,124$30,506,61739%$7,373,585$7,373,585$5,406,474$5,406,474$10,195,087$1,141,044$1,248,24212116,817source
FY2019$101,454,439$93,389,557$38,035,088$24,026,19737%$8,030,614$7,443,131$6,115,465$6,115,465$10,329,024$1,264,018$1,200,80812116,468source
FY2018$93,752,613$83,560,214$29,753,690$23,226,16932%$7,066,124$6,835,070$5,500,367$5,500,367$9,396,207$1,353,554$1,165,73112316,351source
FY2017$89,696,829$77,773,532$35,687,282$23,069,81440%$7,572,191$6,563,856$4,731,482$4,731,482$9,415,716$1,327,822$1,465,35411916,134source
FY2016$84,564,899$74,147,290$35,471,847$22,311,86142%$7,390,683$6,111,629$513,391$3,997,118$8,663,104$1,269,731$1,468,95012515,477source
FY2015$68,150,018$62,145,115$31,308,423$17,213,52146%$6,322,580$5,167,067$337,209$3,450,231$7,481,370$1,139,415$1,054,11010914,561source
FY2014$59,655,385$50,305,116$27,140,807$15,302,57446%$6,571,274$4,377,759$2,778,288$2,778,289$6,975,349$1,042,840$774,79213415,048source
FY2013$62,004,404$53,954,477$25,824,156$15,279,07242%$6,744,710$4,312,955$2,298,923$2,298,923$6,266,424$1,098,984$714,05911915,004source
FY2012$54,892,045$53,377,281$25,339,143$13,399,02146%$7,002,963$5,430,979$2,254,862$2,254,862$6,224,550$1,045,643$771,81212514,949source
FY2011$49,893,731$43,587,148$22,575,985$11,766,02445%$6,914,565$4,052,623$1,868,856$1,868,856$5,958,610$723,217$809,69812514,079source
FY2010$38,127,591$36,265,186$14,551,275$9,951,09738%$8,205,804$4,224,871$1,806,144$1,806,144$5,747,210$624,798$186,71912113,206source
FY2009$36,536,152$36,467,532$18,732,248$12,858,66251%$6,197,698$3,724,691$1,618,624$1,618,624$5,782,064$662,643$182,77511712,555source
FY2008$30,440,090$30,432,972$15,994,121$9,613,00353%$5,404,737$2,926,051$1,544,618$1,544,618$5,354,111$614,077$163,67912111,753source
FY2007$25,842,032$25,835,258$12,074,969$6,419,78047%$4,460,009$2,224,925$56,098$1,406,604$4,704,398$587,924$150,23011611,697source

Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)

NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.

$0$46M$91M$137M$182MFY05FY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
KN total athletic revenuesKN total athletic expensesKN subsidy (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal athletic revenuesTotal athletic expensesFootball spendingFootball coaching salariesConf./NCAA/media/postseasonTicket salesDonor contributionsSponsorship/licensingInst./govt supportStudent feesSubsidy (calc)Subsidy share (calc)Coaches comp.Non-coaching staff comp.Scholarships/aidFacilities/debt/equip.Coaching severanceInst. NIL rev. shareAnnual debt serviceAthletics debt outstandingSource
FY2025$164,684,369$168,826,109$37,575,576$11,183,873$62,474,494$18,748,277$59,502,873$14,716,195$0$0$00%$27,406,081$22,719,154$17,266,638$27,810,092$4,025,258$0$7,983,669$92,858,976source
FY2024$127,241,981$139,358,932$35,559,188$10,709,182$59,960,734$19,131,965$33,082,372$7,761,716$0$0$00%$24,861,142$21,506,336$11,632,256$28,706,073$5,043,875—$9,708,940$95,922,606source
FY2023$115,664,788$126,239,126$32,951,736$11,718,320$59,485,660$17,262,530$22,859,086$7,665,826$0$0$00%$23,327,818$17,882,134$10,936,571$25,861,902$2,881,126—$9,070,653$101,922,458source
FY2022$110,653,367$108,477,381$29,095,668$12,188,752$59,883,027$16,737,350$22,612,228$7,669,601$0$0$00%$23,000,678$15,854,563$10,685,528$23,805,800$1,391,568—$8,754,371$95,850,568source
FY2021$112,890,415$96,298,830$22,941,019$10,105,053$81,230,645$5,049,218$14,067,094$7,136,424$0$0$00%$20,281,612$14,772,707$10,024,972$24,732,606$691,686—$8,763,105$98,040,661source
FY2020$109,973,682$108,174,698$30,506,616$9,385,488$52,935,683$16,622,785$26,927,983$7,697,929$0$0$00%$19,698,082$14,018,884$10,574,282$26,893,637$5,079,855—$8,755,770$103,287,527source
FY2019$112,273,809$104,198,109$24,026,196$8,006,650$52,599,078$18,121,438$29,105,181$7,575,076$0$0$00%$18,981,347$13,206,577$10,734,816$28,364,642$410,906—$7,557,999$107,433,576source
FY2018$103,858,865$93,573,141$23,226,169$8,476,715$50,572,336$16,841,841$23,888,969$7,479,951$93,321$0$93,3210%$17,824,878$11,867,009$9,766,661$23,598,444$339,209—$6,864,895$110,940,594source
FY2017$100,062,237$88,138,943$23,069,815$8,621,818$47,580,366$15,782,114$25,035,952$6,782,116$0$0$00%$16,974,007$11,463,877$9,722,730$23,731,429$350,417—$7,043,238$114,306,972source
FY2016$94,903,405$87,641,937$22,311,861$9,912,546$45,080,958$16,024,676$23,136,962$6,590,453$0$0$00%$18,117,062$10,524,231$8,924,354$24,546,283$397,602—$7,107,119$87,027,473source
FY2015$75,400,407$69,493,395$17,213,522$7,882,183$31,946,696$14,646,395$16,725,344$6,706,093$0$1,730,000$1,730,0002%$14,579,392$9,662,341$7,698,919$17,252,547$292,555—$7,123,185$88,985,979source
FY2014$62,275,111$54,388,802$15,308,001$5,658,491$25,701,139$12,461,331$13,942,877$997,186$0$2,650,000$2,650,0004%$11,825,452$8,303,382$7,208,008$10,232,594$0—$2,505,338$80,773,541source
FY2013$62,764,025$57,362,224$15,279,070$5,424,324$24,975,463$11,442,447$16,868,035$840,852$0$3,000,000$3,000,0005%$10,996,665$7,463,633$6,500,862$11,240,142$587,875—$2,535,017$21,728,735source
FY2012$69,828,880$67,926,160$13,594,454$4,876,925$25,437,666$11,330,142$24,030,641$337,896$0$4,000,000$4,000,0006%$10,680,641$7,220,799$6,469,834$24,757,711$2,641,079—$2,518,331$30,713,318source
FY2011$58,981,769$51,588,743$11,766,024$5,031,866$24,370,244$10,358,803$16,332,138$689,722$819,653$4,000,000$4,819,6538%$10,102,271$6,352,822$6,175,694$16,312,143$0—$2,347,702$24,820,008source
FY2010$38,127,591$36,265,186$9,951,097$3,627,084$18,234,538$10,776,417$0$67,123$748,570$4,000,000$4,748,57012%$8,647,434$6,134,803$5,940,118$4,360,204$0—$2,267,373$27,168,761source
FY2009$36,772,199$36,703,582$12,858,662$0$12,640,456$7,600,163$6,383,579$302,655$747,300$4,281,537$5,028,83714%$8,438,788$5,403,899$6,079,440$4,107,503$3,500,000—$2,520,375$27,995,000source
FY2008$30,440,090$30,432,972$9,613,003$3,575,394$11,155,952$8,750,189$1,931,025$300,915$496,117$4,214,744$4,710,86115%$7,031,803$4,811,526$5,553,147$4,518,724$0—$2,790,285$24,174,520source
FY2007$27,549,532$27,542,758$7,239,780$0$10,363,799$6,880,413$3,124,080$315,000$495,763$3,644,849$4,140,61215%$5,851,071$4,536,041$4,913,949$4,418,053$73,729—$2,791,282$25,567,347source
FY2006$25,838,681$25,796,264$7,185,069$2,472,357$9,681,561$6,674,951$2,109,765$417,978$500,938$3,430,512$3,931,45015%$5,696,436$4,332,978$4,414,223$3,904,453$0—$2,187,323$26,664,045source
FY2005$25,502,594$25,273,465$7,097,439$2,230,135$7,117,845$6,416,035$6,917,703$425,574$499,210$3,089,375$3,588,58514%$5,443,212$4,316,595$4,094,322$3,796,468$0—$2,000,000$20,000,000source
Data credit: Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database, a joint project of the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics and the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, Syracuse University.