Home › Schools › Big Ten › University of Minnesota Twin Cities

University of Minnesota Twin Cities

Conference (2026)
Big Ten
Control
Public
IPEDS UNITID
174066
City
Minneapolis, MN
City population
430,324 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
Metro area
Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI (Metropolitan): 3,790,295 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
TV market (DMA)
Minneapolis-St. Paul, MN: rank #16, 1,886,680 TV homes (1.503% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank #16 (source)
Endowment
$6.45B (FY2025) · scope: University of Minnesota (system) & Foundation (combined) · system or combined figure · source
System figure
Annual giving
$464.0M (FY2025) · raised by UMN Foundation (gifts, pledges, future commitments; system-wide; record) · source

How to watch

Cheapest single package for every Minnesota Golden Gophers game: Fox One + Peacock Premium, $32.98/mo ($164.90 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $98.94 for the full season, $65.96 from Oct. 1. 5 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).

Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan

Sponsors, apparel & naming

  • Apparel: Nike brand: secondary source · not disclosed
    Current deal value NOT FOUND in public reporting during this pass (private school, foundation-held contract, or not searched). [SP35] [SP34]
  • Stadium naming: TCF Bank (2014 list; stadium later renamed for Huntington Bank - not verified in this pass) historical, unverified · $35M ($1.4M/yr) · 25 yrs (2009-2033)
    TCF: 25 yrs, $35M (~$1.4M/yr). [SP60] [SP72]

Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming

Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.

EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)

Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.

This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 8 of 19 years.

$0$42M$85M$127M$169MFY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
EADA total revenueEADA total expensesEADA football revenue (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal revenueTotal expensesFootball revenueFootball expensesFB share of rev. (calc)Men's BB revenueMen's BB expensesWomen's BB revenueWomen's BB expensesAthletic student aidRecruitingAvg head coach salary, men's teamsFootball participantsUndergrad enrollmentSource
FY2025$156,773,938$146,804,169$101,726,085$45,452,69365%$15,997,942$15,623,863$1,638,813$6,587,319$19,021,913$3,287,808$1,141,27311729,812source
FY2024$144,816,418$138,599,675$90,671,593$45,200,85363%$14,944,776$9,256,918$1,770,409$5,873,831$17,703,130$3,212,872$1,120,38111628,533source
FY2023$136,614,891$128,573,351$77,214,620$40,312,01257%$17,411,807$8,615,354$767,229$5,776,462$16,066,474$2,870,168$1,048,59011128,458source
FY2022$125,192,956$113,686,733$72,562,005$38,776,35058%$17,667,197$8,113,503$643,259$4,662,636$15,363,256$2,158,114$962,52212328,575source
FY2021$98,681,959$87,513,202$45,125,727$24,151,14746%$12,057,790$6,296,158$94,394$3,353,764$14,913,221$374,508$706,74312228,529source
FY2020$110,225,936$107,967,114$61,719,121$34,187,25056%$14,768,976$8,435,194$645,266$4,458,578$13,645,672$2,016,583$749,60212029,236source
FY2019$122,667,963$111,380,179$63,016,508$32,403,69351%$18,835,871$9,115,817$1,089,358$4,539,092$13,832,217$2,653,887$710,87811529,227source
FY2018$120,619,042$102,860,448$61,561,973$27,754,75751%$17,454,711$8,765,442$584,434$4,365,859$12,778,000$2,215,207$681,97211329,312source
FY2017$107,894,615$106,766,492$48,886,935$30,950,34945%$14,172,048$7,997,511$873,842$4,016,362$10,969,638$1,625,154$550,28811228,782source
FY2016$107,705,479$107,705,479$49,363,392$25,542,75946%$12,588,830$8,156,541$454,476$4,261,784$10,474,689$1,520,154$500,88511928,206source
FY2015$105,561,601$105,561,601$35,772,983$26,292,21534%$12,890,066$9,049,050$771,931$5,280,664$7,933,466$1,741,521$397,31412627,943source
FY2014$100,707,642$100,707,642$39,820,826$27,756,65540%$13,144,909$11,017,377$647,438$3,965,101$8,740,348$1,625,648$412,76513227,866source
FY2013$98,203,198$96,427,632$36,028,193$20,839,07937%$14,067,619$6,571,925$615,921$2,579,637$8,229,478$1,431,216$478,45112428,063source
FY2012$83,619,456$83,619,456$32,956,474$16,177,35539%$16,162,135$5,071,500$612,814$2,525,258$7,643,365$1,314,454$447,14911928,227source
FY2011$78,924,683$78,924,683$30,524,945$16,985,18239%$15,141,713$5,549,650$690,806$2,692,015$7,071,655$1,130,963$597,42110328,211source
FY2010$73,599,999$73,599,999$32,322,688$17,433,69944%$13,733,316$5,692,149$1,182,838$2,746,241$7,192,648$1,331,310$502,97610827,636source
FY2009$70,322,992$70,322,992$25,594,942$9,257,65836%$12,956,390$5,113,345$883,893$2,507,296$7,146,667$1,311,458$464,36310526,146source
FY2008$63,782,454$58,799,567$24,275,876$9,306,39738%$12,776,261$4,681,298$1,145,760$2,223,481$8,566,107$1,212,843$352,13611628,661source
FY2007$64,828,596$64,828,596$17,390,376$8,304,53427%$9,277,073$3,069,003$1,127,229$1,987,347$8,242,694$998,990$332,70610828,516source

Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)

NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.

$0$44M$88M$133M$177MFY05FY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
KN total athletic revenuesKN total athletic expensesKN subsidy (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal athletic revenuesTotal athletic expensesFootball spendingFootball coaching salariesConf./NCAA/media/postseasonTicket salesDonor contributionsSponsorship/licensingInst./govt supportStudent feesSubsidy (calc)Subsidy share (calc)Coaches comp.Non-coaching staff comp.Scholarships/aidFacilities/debt/equip.Coaching severanceInst. NIL rev. shareAnnual debt serviceAthletics debt outstandingSource
FY2025$163,605,146$161,202,217$47,576,976$14,649,457$80,560,677$19,598,839$22,376,553$13,006,804$11,657,831$0$11,657,8317%$34,727,716$28,250,650$23,541,830$38,854,203$911,372$0$18,952,695$150,552,241source
FY2024$151,101,497$152,572,560$47,350,139$15,800,132$66,278,838$22,698,323$25,278,786$11,235,499$9,950,456$0$9,950,4567%$31,276,003$26,936,327$15,812,906$39,562,212$101,188—$19,638,530$181,176,774source
FY2023$148,707,736$146,982,927$42,194,127$14,646,327$66,313,511$19,771,006$26,534,469$12,605,721$7,973,069$0$7,973,0695%$29,710,856$23,214,165$15,032,170$43,229,613$391,328—$25,121,004$197,418,303source
FY2022$135,198,272$130,285,463$40,749,035$13,381,223$63,367,216$19,252,536$24,382,112$10,807,446$7,986,732$0$7,986,7326%$26,675,475$20,812,559$15,363,256$36,114,471$115,995—$21,067,011$218,381,910source
FY2021$85,512,708$103,821,135$25,887,683$10,774,290$49,455,720$0$15,492,206$7,777,725$8,450,946$0$8,450,94610%$22,988,232$18,046,562$14,913,221$30,920,244$244,410—$21,172,374$216,712,712source
FY2020$119,280,297$124,818,508$36,049,362$11,365,234$57,800,971$21,616,208$10,851,248$12,610,058$7,952,082$0$7,952,0827%$24,238,063$20,933,881$13,645,673$37,346,240$576,802—$21,431,348$232,541,564source
FY2019$130,456,454$129,450,256$34,510,904$9,665,799$59,853,919$19,932,680$17,945,933$12,657,227$7,972,732$0$7,972,7326%$22,783,221$21,035,882$13,832,217$39,252,183$610,268—$21,978,539$252,285,007source
FY2018$124,847,642$115,090,006$29,950,685$9,949,762$55,969,062$21,436,247$15,442,027$12,334,256$5,565,212$0$5,565,2124%$22,008,504$19,243,897$12,778,000$31,888,352$368,412—$16,220,291$261,860,363source
FY2017$116,376,862$114,201,678$33,307,446$8,443,059$43,889,332$20,500,383$14,018,855$12,934,985$14,817,134$0$14,817,13413%$20,826,744$18,187,684$12,154,640$31,187,727$3,902,782—$16,254,676$157,326,979source
FY2016$113,506,279$110,673,824$27,656,340$7,627,147$36,763,881$23,889,905$15,250,676$10,422,398$7,055,984$0$7,055,9846%$19,589,029$16,250,810$10,819,050$34,445,930$1,065,937—$18,143,787$161,924,203source
FY2015$111,162,265$111,162,265$26,418,204$7,349,513$33,624,621$22,999,278$20,439,916$8,238,423$6,919,096$0$6,919,0966%$17,759,351$16,236,699$9,666,243$27,834,999$329,474—$17,474,000$181,859,000source
FY2014$106,176,156$106,176,156$27,756,653$4,414,537$28,611,812$28,495,612$10,332,287$10,098,211$7,011,066$0$7,011,0667%$12,137,176$12,012,810$10,638,107$24,643,293$3,306,483—$17,663,000$201,395,000source
FY2013$98,286,669$96,427,632$20,839,079$3,607,935$28,274,341$23,225,989$8,537,917$9,546,232$8,101,066$0$8,101,0668%$11,782,764$10,387,231$10,088,426$29,413,758$917,306—$16,160,000$213,240,000source
FY2012$83,619,526$83,619,526$16,177,355$3,318,178$25,325,944$23,091,549$8,063,634$8,736,901$6,961,066$0$6,961,0668%$10,358,266$9,926,184$9,649,557$22,896,506$121,182—$19,202,000$223,280,000source
FY2011$78,924,683$78,924,683$16,985,183$4,547,499$23,841,893$21,404,771$7,099,381$8,352,744$7,778,861$0$7,778,86110%$13,371,831$13,977,756$8,733,836$21,215,088$0—$19,585,000$236,606,000source
FY2010$78,706,900$78,706,900$17,433,697$3,434,483$21,851,829$21,514,964$7,320,786$8,628,105$8,018,583$0$8,018,58310%$12,053,287$12,651,898$8,706,183$21,718,304$0—$6,799,453$75,841,529source
FY2009$70,322,993$70,322,993$9,257,658$0$20,073,174$21,260,076$3,532,578$7,249,144$8,528,051$0$8,528,05112%$11,433,908$11,929,288$8,701,694$16,468,081$0—$15,309,000$231,635,000source
FY2008$68,951,692$63,968,805$9,306,397$0$19,482,037$20,361,691$5,149,444$6,025,620$9,410,450$0$9,410,45014%$11,196,912$11,631,491$8,977,632$12,931,459$0—$2,149,000$35,975,000source
FY2007$58,787,777$64,828,596$8,304,534$0$14,551,214$18,785,611$3,984,805$5,525,261$9,423,905$0$9,423,90516%$9,726,267$8,597,287$8,511,172$15,697,604$0—$4,800,000$37,300,000source
FY2006$58,527,047$57,031,263$7,890,070$0$12,974,407$18,084,403$6,412,695$4,042,174$8,607,622$0$8,607,62215%$9,418,569$8,266,138$7,987,217$14,608,778$0—$4,900,000$39,000,000source
FY2005$53,276,842$53,872,091$7,639,069$0$12,458,922$18,846,752$4,297,235$2,828,687$9,039,997$0$9,039,99717%$9,067,938$7,680,195$7,835,288$13,058,784$71,747—$4,873,000$39,740,000source
Data credit: Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database, a joint project of the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics and the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, Syracuse University.