Home › Schools › Big Ten › University of Michigan

University of Michigan

Conference (2026)
Big Ten
Control
Public
IPEDS UNITID
170976
City
Ann Arbor, MI
City population
122,233 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
Metro area
Ann Arbor, MI (Metropolitan): 370,214 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
TV market (DMA)
Detroit, MI: rank #14, 1,940,750 TV homes (1.547% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank #14 (source)
Ann Arbor (Washtenaw County) is in the Detroit DMA
Endowment
$21.20B (FY2025) · scope: University of Michigan · source
Annual giving
$886.0M (FY2025) · gifts, pledges and planned gifts (2nd-best year) · source

How to watch

Cheapest single package for every Michigan Wolverines game: Fox One + Peacock Premium, $32.98/mo ($164.90 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $85.95 for the full season, $65.96 from Oct. 1. 6 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).

Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan

Sponsors, apparel & naming

  • Apparel: Jordan (Nike) brand: secondary source · $122.3M · 11 yrs from 2016 + 4-yr option
    Nike/Jordan deal (2015-16): 11 yrs $122.32M base (incl. $12M upfront); with 4-yr option up to $169M-$173.8M through 2031. USA Today lists Michigan among deals expiring 2027-28. CONFLICT Totals reported as $169M (Eleven Warriors) vs $173.8M (mlive/Sportskeeda) with option [SP35] [SP58] [SP38] [SP34]

Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming

Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.

EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)

Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.

This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 1 of 19 years.

$0$64M$128M$191M$255MFY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
EADA total revenueEADA total expensesEADA football revenue (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal revenueTotal expensesFootball revenueFootball expensesFB share of rev. (calc)Men's BB revenueMen's BB expensesWomen's BB revenueWomen's BB expensesAthletic student aidRecruitingAvg head coach salary, men's teamsFootball participantsUndergrad enrollmentSource
FY2025$236,376,759$222,088,909$175,299,592$61,663,18674%$21,209,886$14,358,515$1,138,510$5,858,899$31,170,894$6,057,451$1,002,36813932,917source
FY2024$221,371,145$220,814,081$149,104,336$72,291,72967%$20,950,125$15,738,838$978,652$5,963,579$33,285,022$4,050,571$1,404,80715232,179source
FY2023$206,514,688$202,501,688$142,767,462$67,697,27669%$20,902,366$12,018,804$912,788$5,494,773$31,877,274$4,817,933$1,086,36914131,148source
FY2022$210,652,287$176,070,866$131,403,198$52,408,53462%$21,141,253$10,733,046$613,770$4,927,632$27,664,693$4,158,813$861,72913430,654source
FY2021$131,457,995$131,457,995$72,253,039$37,380,52255%$11,386,430$7,178,782$262,161$3,867,326$27,614,869$822,051$996,02614429,813source
FY2020$168,244,643$156,682,998$125,773,306$44,684,58575%$17,759,785$7,469,435$403,614$4,390,878$27,752,751$2,550,287$869,87714730,057source
FY2019$175,006,632$168,138,397$122,270,243$47,430,57470%$21,114,322$9,874,360$466,499$4,940,745$26,893,298$3,194,181$841,25714029,084source
FY2018$173,505,842$161,150,770$124,928,493$43,453,38272%$20,027,574$9,982,947$438,156$4,213,879$25,948,535$2,993,997$943,23913528,519source
FY2017$162,955,051$153,207,260$105,876,108$46,249,63265%$16,913,194$8,800,186$407,722$4,042,791$24,577,258$3,107,029$833,69913927,833source
FY2016$146,219,589$140,241,073$97,149,706$36,597,58366%$16,776,377$8,920,109$328,219$3,700,917$22,443,889$2,461,317$797,42812527,161source
FY2015$132,336,025$131,003,957$88,251,525$31,880,54767%$14,192,368$7,475,989$287,106$3,338,261$20,171,976$2,214,192$761,48111727,297source
FY2014$135,869,791$122,831,163$91,383,749$26,755,73267%$13,636,966$7,457,555$195,948$3,294,619$19,331,754$2,057,045$578,29810827,228source
FY2013$122,742,252$111,363,181$81,475,191$23,061,37466%$14,799,440$6,488,836$440,353$3,171,595$17,951,335$1,987,719$522,39811026,954source
FY2012$128,750,370$100,973,238$85,209,247$23,640,33766%$9,880,283$5,933,437$184,632$2,898,815$16,699,174$1,608,770$514,30311426,460source
FY2011$122,486,490$95,836,991$70,300,676$23,552,23357%$9,154,689$5,102,129$141,596$2,354,163$16,153,281$1,480,357$509,90312126,096source
FY2010$106,666,191$82,117,010$63,189,417$18,328,23359%$8,321,413$4,913,440$89,448$2,369,334$15,558,941$1,381,673$515,23812425,261source
FY2009$95,193,030$79,190,142$52,246,025$18,034,20355%$7,978,071$4,454,976$100,485$2,489,346$14,805,318$1,488,554$466,96713225,102source
FY2008$99,027,105$78,584,994$57,463,603$16,785,66758%$7,797,461$4,347,517$98,509$2,343,824$13,539,013$1,333,040$433,44811025,179source
FY2007$89,079,982$68,292,190$50,982,629$14,750,83657%$7,536,902$5,299,018$83,929$2,397,482$12,507,069$1,001,770$389,04811224,631source

Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)

NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.

$0$74M$149M$223M$298MFY05FY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
KN total athletic revenuesKN total athletic expensesKN subsidy (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal athletic revenuesTotal athletic expensesFootball spendingFootball coaching salariesConf./NCAA/media/postseasonTicket salesDonor contributionsSponsorship/licensingInst./govt supportStudent feesSubsidy (calc)Subsidy share (calc)Coaches comp.Non-coaching staff comp.Scholarships/aidFacilities/debt/equip.Coaching severanceInst. NIL rev. shareAnnual debt serviceAthletics debt outstandingSource
FY2025$275,844,115$269,554,079$61,663,185$17,230,066$80,622,683$75,862,287$50,362,101$35,556,501$240,332$0$240,3320%$40,544,115$47,636,208$42,819,401$71,050,366$586,081$0$17,467,000$236,154,000source
FY2024$238,866,661$241,856,430$72,404,170$22,929,407$71,598,439$58,487,200$44,691,600$34,415,551$187,962$0$187,9620%$43,845,688$44,402,791$33,923,253$44,307,540$4,275,364—$17,496,000$252,796,000source
FY2023$229,561,279$228,603,154$67,845,879$21,260,506$63,182,351$65,106,623$43,365,522$33,027,615$178,686$0$178,6860%$40,495,730$41,757,357$32,509,072$48,578,786$1,853,051—$17,547,000$250,581,000source
FY2022$210,652,287$195,084,818$52,408,535$17,421,486$62,967,233$55,266,135$44,258,631$27,440,760$153,059$0$153,0590%$37,619,081$37,934,250$28,305,835$45,751,600$0—$22,489,000$262,984,000source
FY2021$101,236,069$150,618,278$37,380,521$17,431,948$46,016,982$54,168$13,799,193$28,533,853$0$0$00%$34,149,105$32,765,485$27,913,057$34,280,697$839,583—$17,404,000$280,749,000source
FY2020$192,403,168$188,523,758$44,684,585$15,795,423$56,615,212$57,105,068$33,561,651$26,491,023$160,985$0$160,9850%$32,047,307$38,558,039$28,150,283$45,390,296$0—$17,359,000$288,441,000source
FY2019$197,820,410$196,616,430$47,430,575$16,881,388$58,023,270$53,794,401$35,772,353$28,210,652$261,773$0$261,7730%$34,917,032$37,975,701$27,827,160$43,716,812$408,333—$17,463,778$300,400,235source
FY2018$195,769,104$192,456,967$43,453,382$15,118,540$56,823,060$46,347,562$39,214,372$28,621,378$254,870$0$254,8700%$33,105,708$36,210,770$26,672,328$42,990,483$138,753—$17,263,261$287,167,974source
FY2017$185,173,187$179,459,864$46,249,633$12,471,000$41,703,792$55,327,816$38,879,908$30,375,321$280,647$0$280,6470%$28,816,516$31,686,665$25,123,277$42,319,043$1,061,844—$15,218,131$288,966,000source
FY2016$163,850,616$159,096,632$36,597,582$10,672,622$36,807,728$49,617,039$37,581,954$23,829,926$266,467$0$266,4670%$26,086,269$30,132,532$23,210,869$34,824,015$1,603,317—$12,631,000$240,979,000source
FY2015$152,477,026$152,555,619$31,887,224$11,376,637$32,272,049$46,421,282$35,713,067$22,209,924$263,345$0$263,3450%$24,758,665$30,524,990$20,647,943$38,518,764$2,981,069—$15,141,000$213,000,000source
FY2014$157,899,820$142,551,994$26,755,732$8,521,787$29,272,753$53,269,056$35,267,267$22,123,931$256,316$0$256,3160%$21,683,893$27,737,280$19,564,771$35,383,232$489,657—$14,970,000$218,005,000source
FY2013$143,514,125$131,018,311$23,061,374$7,508,078$27,845,239$43,135,543$31,285,461$22,473,192$255,832$0$255,8320%$19,118,274$25,593,054$18,301,214$33,747,457$335,104—$15,155,000$228,405,000source
FY2012$140,131,187$115,200,187$0$0$26,368,375$52,369,702$28,518,000$21,410,649$258,885$0$258,8850%$18,178,722$20,873,465$16,830,130$27,828,094$793,924—$9,484,000$231,020,000source
FY2011$122,739,052$111,844,553$23,552,233$0$24,264,579$41,668,589$27,961,623$19,077,794$272,684$0$272,6840%$15,813,816$21,941,020$16,323,215$28,703,145$3,179,215—$11,255,000$215,355,000source
FY2010$106,874,031$89,133,850$18,328,233$0$19,751,279$41,715,138$19,297,426$18,030,972$233,170$0$233,1700%$14,742,044$18,471,339$15,715,139$18,657,678$151,950—$2,309,000$183,450,000source
FY2009$95,193,030$84,542,142$18,034,203$0$19,884,964$37,541,590$12,752,000$17,314,209$20,647$0$20,6470%$14,090,795$16,807,057$14,967,673$17,003,110$276,798—$1,436,000$179,415,000source
FY2008$99,027,105$85,496,004$16,785,667$0$22,757,405$40,258,325$15,138,000$11,087,101$58,817$0$58,8170%$13,561,605$16,359,863$13,584,477$18,176,034$203,805—$2,811,000$134,770,000source
FY2007$89,079,982$74,925,433$14,750,836$0$18,395,720$35,865,979$13,888,996$10,142,310$51,965$0$51,9650%$11,498,913$13,339,568$12,557,942$15,733,005$813,311—$2,791,000$18,980,000source
FY2006$85,452,441$67,909,246$12,842,545$0$13,823,100$36,681,373$13,961,314$11,159,243$37,118$0$37,1180%$10,155,593$12,994,505$12,257,572$15,018,183$0—$5,292,000$14,830,000source
FY2005$78,424,186$61,387,144$10,690,874$0$12,316,790$31,432,123$16,342,620$9,711,940$0$0$00%$9,305,176$12,309,415$11,366,586$13,536,192$0—$2,224,260$6,235,000source
Data credit: Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database, a joint project of the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics and the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, Syracuse University.