Michigan State University
- Conference (2026)
- Big Ten
- Control
- Public
- IPEDS UNITID
- 171100
- City
- East Lansing, MI
- City population
- 49,355 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
- Metro area
- Lansing-East Lansing, MI (Metropolitan): 479,722 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
- TV market (DMA)
- Lansing, MI: rank #117, 265,830 TV homes (0.212% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank #113 (source)
- Endowment
- $4.61B (FY2025) · scope: Michigan State University · source
MSU Research Foundation listed separately ($0.46B) - Annual giving
- $380.1M (FY2025) · total raised (then-record; 65,506 donors) · source
FY2026: >$736M (new record), https://msutoday.msu.edu/news/2026/07/spartan-generosity-powers-historic-year-of-giving
How to watch
Cheapest single package for every Michigan State Spartans game: Fox One + Peacock Premium, $32.98/mo ($164.90 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $85.95 for the full season, $65.96 from Oct. 1. 5 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).
Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan
Sponsors, apparel & naming
- Apparel: Nike brand: secondary source · not disclosed
- Multimedia rights: Creating revenue LLC (third-party relationship evolving) · not disclosedForming an LLC to manage revenue-generating arms (Apr 2026). [SP20]
Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming
Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.
EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)
Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.
This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 7 of 19 years.
| Fiscal year | Total revenue | Total expenses | Football revenue | Football expenses | FB share of rev. (calc) | Men's BB revenue | Men's BB expenses | Women's BB revenue | Women's BB expenses | Athletic student aid | Recruiting | Avg head coach salary, men's teams | Football participants | Undergrad enrollment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $160,697,176 | $160,697,176 | $77,084,648 | $48,227,813 | 48% | $21,818,193 | $20,566,735 | $7,247,013 | $7,247,013 | $19,484,982 | $2,908,033 | $1,155,745 | 119 | 38,406 | source |
| FY2024 | $164,109,191 | $164,109,191 | $87,183,718 | $57,039,591 | 53% | $25,733,455 | $17,106,196 | $7,632,208 | $7,632,208 | $18,332,296 | $3,135,578 | $1,062,737 | 116 | 37,367 | source |
| FY2023 | $149,254,610 | $149,254,610 | $73,601,571 | $49,428,661 | 49% | $20,524,534 | $16,395,751 | $6,371,711 | $6,371,711 | $16,855,910 | $3,036,873 | $1,806,386 | 113 | 35,872 | source |
| FY2022 | $143,656,649 | $128,196,083 | $95,112,924 | $47,456,650 | 66% | $26,270,974 | $16,652,793 | $863,585 | $4,846,220 | $16,852,282 | $1,900,308 | $1,853,241 | 115 | 34,986 | source |
| FY2021 | $88,012,841 | $88,012,841 | $37,448,047 | $24,127,604 | 43% | $12,266,921 | $8,563,483 | $3,750,020 | $3,750,020 | $16,420,870 | $395,689 | $930,615 | 121 | 34,581 | source |
| FY2020 | $122,557,963 | $122,557,963 | $68,942,427 | $43,987,682 | 56% | $20,211,332 | $12,177,385 | $77,137 | $4,951,926 | $16,443,543 | $1,566,052 | $1,387,079 | 118 | 35,575 | source |
| FY2019 | $116,186,933 | $116,186,933 | $75,545,976 | $33,928,232 | 65% | $23,808,250 | $14,395,851 | $668,938 | $4,848,780 | $16,756,074 | $1,774,755 | $839,423 | 117 | 35,591 | source |
| FY2018 | $112,942,827 | $106,179,896 | $77,930,837 | $33,528,479 | 69% | $21,882,125 | $11,745,452 | $665,469 | $4,775,137 | $15,828,779 | $1,684,766 | $1,029,900 | 117 | 35,249 | source |
| FY2017 | $103,920,895 | $96,008,462 | $64,958,793 | $26,326,106 | 63% | $17,548,611 | $10,975,215 | $243,743 | $4,444,099 | $14,813,609 | $1,725,320 | $975,637 | 118 | 35,280 | source |
| FY2016 | $100,914,623 | $99,772,520 | $64,661,163 | $31,978,126 | 64% | $17,639,546 | $10,432,557 | $796,433 | $4,112,768 | $14,519,618 | $1,385,429 | $837,816 | 120 | 35,425 | source |
| FY2015 | $93,878,291 | $89,491,630 | $59,227,831 | $27,694,367 | 63% | $17,836,717 | $10,696,689 | $716,605 | $3,590,923 | $12,469,612 | $1,525,157 | $802,748 | 115 | 35,038 | source |
| FY2014 | $86,586,155 | $86,586,155 | $52,793,124 | $26,678,123 | 61% | $18,352,543 | $9,878,240 | $959,923 | $3,679,055 | $12,323,880 | $1,443,788 | $976,608 | 116 | 34,576 | source |
| FY2013 | $79,369,587 | $76,894,134 | $47,869,615 | $20,624,183 | 60% | $18,502,472 | $9,451,845 | $789,655 | $3,248,120 | $11,853,782 | $1,351,444 | $611,831 | 120 | 33,902 | source |
| FY2012 | $79,019,535 | $73,173,261 | $49,754,373 | $19,079,552 | 63% | $19,228,130 | $9,837,886 | $847,826 | $3,503,228 | $11,102,225 | $1,018,826 | $601,404 | 116 | 33,016 | source |
| FY2011 | $80,963,182 | $67,450,913 | $45,040,778 | $17,420,499 | 56% | $16,479,208 | $9,263,945 | $860,942 | $3,177,195 | $10,014,065 | $941,157 | $626,481 | 113 | 32,720 | source |
| FY2010 | $80,064,147 | $61,586,947 | $44,462,659 | $17,468,458 | 56% | $16,138,167 | $8,250,450 | $957,151 | $2,947,271 | $9,563,230 | $955,575 | $555,901 | 115 | 33,238 | source |
| FY2009 | $75,624,811 | $60,891,029 | $43,506,725 | $15,862,254 | 58% | $15,592,500 | $9,031,373 | $778,980 | $3,236,827 | $9,127,632 | $901,139 | $594,290 | 102 | 33,096 | source |
| FY2008 | $77,738,746 | $62,397,817 | $43,826,312 | $17,910,444 | 56% | $15,839,369 | $6,872,700 | $832,540 | $3,214,967 | $8,790,744 | $1,067,088 | $353,968 | 105 | 32,913 | source |
| FY2007 | $73,171,907 | $69,914,581 | $40,795,755 | $22,496,400 | 56% | $13,225,963 | $6,407,390 | $834,438 | $2,981,692 | $8,230,459 | $1,098,801 | $581,547 | 105 | 32,588 | source |
Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)
NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.
| Fiscal year | Total athletic revenues | Total athletic expenses | Football spending | Football coaching salaries | Conf./NCAA/media/postseason | Ticket sales | Donor contributions | Sponsorship/licensing | Inst./govt support | Student fees | Subsidy (calc) | Subsidy share (calc) | Coaches comp. | Non-coaching staff comp. | Scholarships/aid | Facilities/debt/equip. | Coaching severance | Inst. NIL rev. share | Annual debt service | Athletics debt outstanding | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $179,891,651 | $178,288,091 | $49,998,836 | $16,330,866 | $78,333,934 | $30,640,116 | $36,980,159 | $14,240,446 | $7,693,718 | $0 | $7,693,718 | 4% | $37,369,230 | $31,338,032 | $26,228,578 | $37,812,691 | $1,421,891 | $0 | $15,861,042 | $90,058,506 | source |
| FY2024 | $163,735,928 | $180,456,943 | $58,600,073 | $15,774,272 | $64,253,773 | $29,656,963 | $34,914,234 | $15,943,649 | $4,125,068 | $0 | $4,125,068 | 3% | $35,810,023 | $31,620,794 | $18,500,554 | $36,559,778 | $4,439,862 | — | $11,979,000 | $90,955,280 | source |
| FY2023 | $170,654,025 | $181,850,581 | $53,502,288 | $18,179,629 | $62,256,723 | $27,378,693 | $46,435,337 | $18,016,546 | $2,859,056 | $0 | $2,859,056 | 2% | $34,909,482 | $28,661,226 | $17,094,708 | $52,187,563 | $522,811 | — | $13,355,000 | $68,685,154 | source |
| FY2022 | $172,799,513 | $156,449,795 | $51,227,199 | $17,232,135 | $64,863,284 | $25,178,673 | $54,135,871 | $14,135,080 | $1,358,948 | $0 | $1,358,948 | 1% | $34,708,534 | $22,934,623 | $17,074,013 | $44,272,796 | $548,571 | — | $12,041,000 | $64,689,178 | source |
| FY2021 | $89,529,295 | $104,951,574 | $28,259,575 | $12,289,682 | $45,367,722 | $246,829 | $22,057,649 | $11,485,450 | $5,530,907 | $0 | $5,530,907 | 6% | $25,147,697 | $21,131,026 | $16,717,761 | $28,889,391 | $67,821 | — | $8,039,000 | $72,366,391 | source |
| FY2020 | $130,636,629 | $148,453,353 | $48,899,016 | $19,189,126 | $57,936,255 | $22,879,773 | $20,987,488 | $16,935,119 | $1,610,894 | $0 | $1,610,894 | 1% | $33,396,451 | $22,670,443 | $16,717,371 | $39,123,067 | $50,051 | — | $15,533,000 | $75,581,515 | source |
| FY2019 | $140,010,865 | $135,655,740 | $37,310,953 | $10,636,171 | $59,764,999 | $28,019,480 | $23,579,285 | $16,489,704 | $885,690 | $0 | $885,690 | 1% | $24,781,169 | $20,343,193 | $16,907,149 | $33,717,911 | $291,179 | — | $13,660,000 | $82,150,666 | source |
| FY2018 | $145,640,289 | $137,416,056 | $38,055,535 | $9,806,443 | $57,585,762 | $36,502,062 | $23,334,606 | $16,282,801 | $809,489 | $0 | $809,489 | 1% | $22,898,835 | $18,469,447 | $15,888,613 | $45,394,544 | $45,000 | — | $18,448,000 | $89,726,393 | source |
| FY2017 | $126,021,377 | $117,506,272 | $29,910,359 | $8,368,300 | $39,118,981 | $26,802,465 | $32,363,526 | $15,853,798 | $901,057 | $0 | $901,057 | 1% | $20,930,050 | $17,925,944 | $15,090,350 | $31,971,789 | $48,443 | — | $14,915,000 | $90,735,854 | source |
| FY2016 | $123,034,495 | $121,892,394 | $36,896,168 | $8,989,683 | $41,791,534 | $24,684,212 | $30,441,924 | $14,325,787 | $1,012,631 | $0 | $1,012,631 | 1% | $21,163,291 | $16,679,446 | $14,672,650 | $31,294,042 | $48,443 | — | $12,002,000 | $90,742,000 | source |
| FY2015 | $108,687,274 | $108,283,151 | $33,703,851 | $8,584,402 | $34,880,951 | $25,294,320 | $26,391,940 | $11,274,337 | $702,284 | $0 | $702,284 | 1% | $20,212,016 | $15,644,993 | $12,632,862 | $30,099,683 | $48,443 | — | $10,187,000 | $89,554,000 | source |
| FY2014 | $104,677,456 | $107,422,832 | $34,504,088 | $9,637,526 | $32,486,242 | $24,076,780 | $29,724,939 | $7,498,379 | $1,094,958 | $0 | $1,094,958 | 1% | $20,884,258 | $14,666,440 | $12,477,749 | $26,367,213 | $156,137 | — | $6,000,000 | $85,600,000 | source |
| FY2013 | $97,942,726 | $93,743,529 | $22,778,431 | $5,235,839 | $29,782,934 | $26,536,714 | $24,113,610 | $7,077,049 | $1,772,415 | $0 | $1,772,415 | 2% | $16,243,487 | $13,665,971 | $12,000,227 | $22,261,934 | $48,443 | — | $7,766,847 | $82,200,000 | source |
| FY2012 | $93,946,707 | $88,100,432 | $20,469,348 | $4,858,915 | $28,789,278 | $23,988,215 | $22,297,820 | $6,208,828 | $4,206,730 | $0 | $4,206,730 | 4% | $15,433,868 | $12,271,542 | $11,116,782 | $20,519,372 | $179,732 | — | $7,664,382 | $116,031,974 | source |
| FY2011 | $84,510,199 | $84,004,229 | $19,034,408 | $4,552,117 | $26,418,498 | $22,737,191 | $18,025,593 | $5,882,386 | $3,650,280 | $0 | $3,650,280 | 4% | $15,823,382 | $11,870,268 | $10,146,765 | $21,762,108 | $596,453 | — | $9,792,425 | $121,500,000 | source |
| FY2010 | $83,545,892 | $78,162,447 | $20,319,519 | $4,246,141 | $23,238,184 | $23,503,885 | $21,292,589 | $4,492,399 | $3,348,785 | $0 | $3,348,785 | 4% | $13,776,323 | $11,248,730 | $9,688,324 | $20,352,788 | $48,443 | — | $9,340,779 | $87,604,636 | source |
| FY2009 | $79,344,333 | $81,404,459 | $21,261,261 | $3,766,453 | $22,554,953 | $21,703,295 | $19,377,785 | $4,000,393 | $3,669,246 | $0 | $3,669,246 | 5% | $13,980,331 | $11,056,645 | $9,241,953 | $24,143,055 | $145,295 | — | $7,089,397 | $92,539,257 | source |
| FY2008 | $81,390,686 | $83,444,368 | $25,486,607 | $0 | $21,674,736 | $21,870,622 | $19,501,782 | $3,777,152 | $3,536,893 | $0 | $3,536,893 | 4% | $10,881,726 | $11,371,198 | $8,901,044 | $24,840,755 | $111,907 | — | — | — | source |
| FY2007 | $76,953,708 | $73,696,382 | $22,496,400 | $5,625,193 | $15,340,158 | $22,242,662 | $20,408,028 | $3,373,066 | $3,773,005 | $0 | $3,773,005 | 5% | $12,810,309 | $10,271,794 | $8,315,542 | $15,350,943 | $3,467,228 | — | $6,559,774 | $91,124,976 | source |
| FY2006 | $68,397,132 | $70,218,402 | $15,910,445 | $3,839,222 | $12,010,187 | $19,444,048 | $17,975,933 | $3,538,225 | $3,419,827 | $0 | $3,419,827 | 5% | $17,022,602 | $8,966,185 | $7,941,547 | $14,108,628 | $254,615 | — | $6,500,000 | $94,800,000 | source |
| FY2005 | $62,170,147 | $58,340,854 | $13,733,699 | $2,905,320 | $12,397,492 | $18,530,242 | $13,271,677 | $3,527,166 | $3,154,288 | $0 | $3,154,288 | 5% | $9,664,088 | $8,354,476 | $7,605,217 | $11,819,787 | $158,793 | — | $2,879,304 | $79,978,200 | source |