Home › Schools › Big Ten › University of Maryland, College Park

University of Maryland, College Park

Conference (2026)
Big Ten
Control
Public
IPEDS UNITID
163286
City
College Park, MD
City population
35,418 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
Metro area
Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV (Metropolitan): 6,465,724 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
TV market (DMA)
Washington, DC (Hagerstown, MD): rank #8, 2,630,640 TV homes (2.096% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank #8 (source)
Endowment
$1.24B (FY2025 (June 30, 2025)) · scope: Endowment supporting UMD College Park ("surpassed $1.24B") · source
NACUBO lists only the University System of Maryland Foundation ($2.46B, system-wide).
Annual giving
$302.0M (FY2026) · total annual fundraising (record) · source
FY2025 total not found; FY2026 figure shown instead

How to watch

Cheapest single package for every Maryland Terrapins game: Peacock Premium + YouTube TV Sports Plan, $77.98/mo ($389.90 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $130.95 for the full season, $65.96 from Oct. 1. 6 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).

Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan

Sponsors, apparel & naming

  • Apparel: Under Armour brand: secondary source · not disclosed
    Current deal value NOT FOUND in public reporting during this pass (private school, foundation-held contract, or not searched). [SP35] [SP34]
  • Stadium naming: Capital One (2014 list; now SECU - value not verified in this pass) historical, unverified · $20M · 25 yrs
    2014: Capital One Field at Byrd Stadium 25 yrs $20M. [SP72]

Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming

Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.

EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)

Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.

This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 6 of 19 years.

$0$36M$72M$108M$143MFY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
EADA total revenueEADA total expensesEADA football revenue (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal revenueTotal expensesFootball revenueFootball expensesFB share of rev. (calc)Men's BB revenueMen's BB expensesWomen's BB revenueWomen's BB expensesAthletic student aidRecruitingAvg head coach salary, men's teamsFootball participantsUndergrad enrollmentSource
FY2025$128,662,116$128,662,116$63,070,858$35,502,61849%$16,464,647$12,972,857$1,401,819$8,236,450$18,516,362$2,722,746$1,568,40812029,078source
FY2024$132,764,504$132,764,504$65,913,616$37,007,11750%$15,740,948$12,693,055$1,198,332$8,253,265$20,270,050$3,123,959$1,492,49211828,371source
FY2023$121,183,392$121,160,348$58,514,762$33,999,40048%$15,049,597$12,021,302$1,053,746$7,476,313$19,077,400$2,677,607$1,390,49812027,912source
FY2022$114,385,462$114,385,462$53,153,690$30,801,23346%$13,543,625$16,352,454$1,285,529$5,856,261$17,763,842$2,320,815$1,154,68412128,344source
FY2021$81,831,650$81,831,650$31,534,043$20,498,93239%$6,655,346$7,727,539$1,447,974$4,808,843$17,241,039$421,739$899,65311928,138source
FY2020$92,286,469$92,231,361$44,673,149$21,391,49948%$14,082,391$8,563,323$799,135$5,057,959$17,468,144$1,464,140$1,029,59011628,228source
FY2019$108,796,303$103,029,945$46,592,593$28,507,86743%$14,059,425$9,163,793$677,530$4,402,238$17,109,397$1,433,870$811,28411428,342source
FY2018$98,294,571$92,047,039$34,572,475$19,881,23935%$14,157,452$8,375,834$960,805$4,471,243$16,498,249$1,308,605$819,09612127,538source
FY2017$94,881,357$89,149,455$29,973,008$18,908,92332%$17,741,322$7,442,558$1,373,321$4,892,206$16,107,829$1,353,319$835,16311126,174source
FY2016$94,101,697$87,707,885$30,071,434$20,779,16132%$17,144,695$7,622,707$1,182,995$4,456,893$15,483,058$1,218,508$808,33011725,272source
FY2015$86,863,794$84,134,516$30,891,641$16,151,38936%$16,720,500$7,308,359$1,033,076$4,242,541$13,727,761$838,770$742,60610724,908source
FY2014$68,045,216$67,561,354$21,716,970$15,398,02132%$13,525,145$6,775,304$850,950$3,899,238$9,956,058$799,975$687,83311024,400source
FY2013$58,107,950$57,761,410$16,480,601$11,172,38128%$14,223,192$6,463,690$1,140,665$3,295,139$9,125,161$777,678$807,31911024,364source
FY2012$62,612,370$61,936,374$19,457,684$13,765,14631%$12,527,478$6,334,927$1,109,542$2,906,034$9,031,531$984,952$544,02010724,590source
FY2011$57,765,018$57,501,307$13,886,493$11,689,12824%$10,965,638$6,062,659$885,420$2,595,713$9,349,332$826,352$592,42912924,749source
FY2010$52,007,095$52,007,095$11,540,368$9,863,74822%$10,739,282$5,160,381$861,059$2,158,656$9,185,766$775,657$522,10511624,520source
FY2009$59,966,862$59,686,748$13,980,823$11,729,09523%$10,793,864$4,891,205$1,240,423$2,719,018$9,496,265$880,731$506,57913724,296source
FY2008$54,171,741$54,171,741$12,754,368$10,637,58224%$10,638,488$4,793,493$1,412,046$2,747,135$9,961,718$856,074$501,73313823,709source
FY2007$52,524,569$52,524,543$12,421,452$10,222,54624%$10,452,526$4,914,304$522,744$2,399,864$8,994,924$912,167$427,73912823,199source

Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)

NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.

$0$36M$72M$108M$143MFY05FY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
KN total athletic revenuesKN total athletic expensesKN subsidy (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal athletic revenuesTotal athletic expensesFootball spendingFootball coaching salariesConf./NCAA/media/postseasonTicket salesDonor contributionsSponsorship/licensingInst./govt supportStudent feesSubsidy (calc)Subsidy share (calc)Coaches comp.Non-coaching staff comp.Scholarships/aidFacilities/debt/equip.Coaching severanceInst. NIL rev. shareAnnual debt serviceAthletics debt outstandingSource
FY2025$123,997,918$128,662,116$35,502,618$12,576,623$62,908,898$12,806,716$11,311,080$7,906,346$6,428,488$12,230,926$18,659,41415%$31,543,681$26,422,341$24,694,440$14,283,706$661,024$0$0$6,846,573source
FY2024$127,768,033$132,764,504$37,007,117$13,620,977$62,388,574$14,833,314$11,528,062$12,521,116$6,102,633$11,975,845$18,078,47814%$30,975,240$25,651,947$20,527,156$20,489,171$0—$0$8,006,668source
FY2023$121,183,392$121,160,348$33,999,400$11,518,631$60,472,638$12,838,239$9,509,266$11,530,077$6,119,167$11,783,812$17,902,97915%$28,497,829$21,765,713$19,230,735$20,058,787$0—$0$9,811,366source
FY2022$107,526,374$114,385,462$30,801,233$9,562,357$52,250,716$12,735,792$9,990,560$11,468,968$3,288,610$11,963,920$15,252,53014%$25,446,854$18,785,444$17,902,058$18,071,072$5,664,426—$0$11,756,758source
FY2021$60,901,167$81,831,650$20,498,932$7,453,770$34,223,569$97,841$1,356,223$6,126,554$2,934,615$11,868,594$14,803,20924%$20,963,623$15,816,105$17,412,064$13,322,216$86,775—$0$15,372,141source
FY2020$92,286,469$92,231,361$21,391,499$7,495,398$42,416,862$14,324,321$9,786,707$9,036,197$4,614,896$9,137,385$13,752,28115%$20,310,675$18,916,729$17,712,254$14,737,452$112,421—$0$27,452,814source
FY2019$108,796,303$108,785,924$28,507,867$6,740,459$43,241,902$13,393,324$11,260,573$8,849,627$12,980,811$12,382,904$25,363,71523%$18,437,351$17,106,942$17,354,652$20,681,184$8,374,768—$5,661,993$24,318,598source
FY2018$98,294,571$97,819,892$19,881,239$6,519,669$41,657,426$14,761,684$11,714,561$11,385,831$2,547,736$12,148,188$14,695,92415%$17,575,289$17,073,368$16,691,196$21,217,554$305,068—$5,702,406$28,590,610source
FY2017$94,881,357$94,796,897$18,908,923$6,215,141$40,386,509$15,291,690$12,281,532$7,313,106$2,437,156$12,036,503$14,473,65915%$17,345,547$16,318,293$16,269,593$19,403,927$156,330—$5,667,374$33,212,899source
FY2016$94,101,697$94,101,697$20,779,161$6,781,898$37,049,960$16,493,833$13,676,004$7,216,507$3,789,312$11,630,126$15,419,43816%$17,110,800$15,451,020$15,644,238$19,315,099$2,826,638—$6,514,786$37,308,936source
FY2015$92,686,128$92,558,535$16,325,467$5,348,639$37,740,564$16,010,850$11,077,557$7,731,077$2,914,403$11,632,008$14,546,41116%$15,250,814$13,998,171$13,933,733$26,719,345$149,126—$6,552,285$41,964,626source
FY2014$73,434,869$72,952,894$16,269,408$4,969,229$19,038,856$13,442,584$11,225,922$9,038,376$6,806,112$11,315,001$18,121,11325%$14,162,812$13,108,415$13,290,307$12,812,105$105,190—$6,809,026$47,063,749source
FY2013$63,714,470$63,367,929$12,091,331$4,833,474$16,218,508$11,838,389$10,730,829$6,262,955$4,287,999$11,181,286$15,469,28524%$13,632,973$11,642,135$12,840,234$10,763,608$174,861—$7,841,368$74,558,830source
FY2012$68,142,660$68,109,639$15,359,814$4,966,027$15,460,129$13,516,377$11,530,343$6,849,800$6,179,609$11,064,475$17,244,08425%$14,154,825$11,374,815$11,928,744$13,075,584$2,532,056—$6,722,035$55,960,599source
FY2011$61,634,829$61,632,000$12,538,482$4,928,019$11,756,389$10,730,412$10,545,170$6,730,495$6,353,363$9,508,278$15,861,64126%$13,762,442$10,492,948$12,554,837$8,901,577$823,364—$6,943,263$59,797,451source
FY2010$54,661,992$54,661,992$9,863,748$4,128,701$9,784,440$12,832,764$9,942,684$6,172,923$4,341,659$9,408,122$13,749,78125%$12,630,407$10,321,057$12,254,940$8,303,033$124,954—$6,498,028$63,872,470source
FY2009$62,949,159$62,901,837$11,729,096$3,955,319$10,693,871$12,763,836$11,361,066$5,269,886$8,157,602$8,944,228$17,101,83027%$11,996,970$10,708,350$12,558,093$8,428,176$195,521—$5,320,608$60,486,286source
FY2008$59,624,100$56,844,987$10,637,582$3,711,788$9,716,363$12,115,588$12,612,828$5,575,476$2,698,244$8,601,302$11,299,54619%$11,274,175$10,308,541$12,505,552$8,538,167$98,177—$4,791,931$41,637,303source
FY2007$57,707,218$55,001,995$10,222,566$3,507,358$10,298,089$11,509,938$13,073,750$4,370,914$2,502,426$7,905,186$10,407,61218%$10,548,414$9,694,850$11,358,262$7,747,931$135,375—$4,669,552$44,442,147source
FY2006$53,643,387$49,524,563$10,415,512$0$9,356,497$12,239,186$10,305,967$3,920,490$2,379,852$7,554,631$9,934,48319%$9,931,589$8,790,247$10,629,283$5,365,352$172,878—$4,629,007$47,000,265source
FY2005$46,508,648$46,508,648$9,301,053$3,231,900$8,647,736$11,037,068$11,320,695$3,840,482$282,258$7,217,933$7,500,19116%$8,670,439$8,422,058$7,327,452$4,935,547$93,128—$4,843,216$49,340,550source
Data credit: Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database, a joint project of the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics and the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, Syracuse University.