Home › Schools › Big 12 › University of Kansas

University of Kansas

Conference (2026)
Big 12
Control
Public
IPEDS UNITID
155317
City
Lawrence, KS
City population
96,367 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
Metro area
Lawrence, KS (Metropolitan): 120,920 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
TV market (DMA)
Kansas City, MO-KS: rank #33, 1,033,680 TV homes (0.824% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank #35 (source)
Lawrence (Douglas County, KS) is in the Kansas City DMA
Endowment
$2.69B (FY2025) · scope: KU Endowment Association (incl. KU Medical Center) · source
Annual giving
$353.6M (FY2025) · contributed to KU Endowment (KU incl. KU Medical Center and KU Health System) · source

How to watch

Cheapest single package for every Kansas Jayhawks game: ESPN Unlimited + Fox One bundle + HBO Max Standard, $58.48/mo ($292.40 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $134.43 for the full season, $112.90 from Oct. 1. 7 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).

Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan

Sponsors, apparel & naming

  • Apparel: Adidas brand: secondary source · $14M/yr · 14 yrs
    Adidas 14-yr renewal (May 2024) worth $14M annually - more than double prior deal (school announcement). [SP35] [SP48] [SP34]
  • Stadium naming: David Booth · $300M
    Donor-named David Booth Kansas Memorial Stadium; ~$300M gift (Aug 2025), largest in KU history. [SP103]

Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming

Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.

EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)

Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.

This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 5 of 19 years.

$0$58M$116M$174M$232MFY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
EADA total revenueEADA total expensesEADA football revenue (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal revenueTotal expensesFootball revenueFootball expensesFB share of rev. (calc)Men's BB revenueMen's BB expensesWomen's BB revenueWomen's BB expensesAthletic student aidRecruitingAvg head coach salary, men's teamsFootball participantsUndergrad enrollmentSource
FY2025$173,669,277$159,866,627$37,107,691$34,516,49421%$21,918,945$19,732,078$5,492,126$5,492,126$14,731,489$2,440,088$1,176,77912219,555source
FY2024$215,031,889$156,040,840$39,365,810$31,326,37918%$19,499,957$19,736,451$4,337,331$5,696,097$13,912,569$2,405,884$801,34911818,192source
FY2023$205,747,275$139,748,616$46,369,042$28,183,46623%$18,347,052$15,273,973$354,330$4,850,331$16,345,123$2,435,112$949,96412316,729source
FY2022$124,842,549$119,029,741$39,077,010$21,282,12231%$17,126,971$15,508,894$278,691$4,020,119$13,946,394$1,881,798$1,913,51811916,535source
FY2021$99,883,084$99,883,084$29,940,765$19,685,66330%$7,484,382$14,079,953$3,015,841$3,015,840$13,052,263$391,870$2,624,32912116,401source
FY2020$108,187,369$108,187,369$40,592,570$21,961,19638%$16,454,643$10,968,619$67,954$3,367,007$11,004,986$1,418,030$1,624,08012117,157source
FY2019$119,768,008$116,353,090$38,148,252$25,325,27932%$18,974,009$12,547,439$85,917$3,736,593$12,592,236$2,295,808$1,711,82713017,250source
FY2018$164,738,351$111,603,499$34,159,741$19,470,50421%$18,802,173$11,859,953$102,021$3,433,086$11,549,180$2,314,770$1,661,94911417,046source
FY2017$101,345,197$100,601,323$33,144,217$17,061,94033%$18,266,319$11,126,047$115,319$3,702,785$10,862,441$2,016,215$1,388,60610916,987source
FY2016$94,697,418$93,260,439$30,245,133$14,011,83832%$18,020,944$11,636,720$120,831$3,446,238$12,074,832$1,624,126$1,311,29711416,946source
FY2015$103,326,170$103,326,170$25,986,541$20,793,56625%$19,141,222$11,273,001$116,730$3,817,855$11,430,680$1,639,001$1,326,5499116,995source
FY2014$97,681,067$90,056,510$23,177,772$14,844,64524%$18,253,973$8,479,332$294,540$3,388,792$10,805,665$1,707,014$1,258,99711916,877source
FY2013$92,873,192$79,477,795$20,949,893$14,330,94723%$16,412,415$10,724,156$130,891$3,391,677$10,369,088$1,668,638$1,646,52212416,917source
FY2012$79,160,569$79,160,569$15,343,186$20,625,24119%$16,443,172$12,740,720$113,951$3,677,507$9,484,363$1,464,936$1,515,72912717,492source
FY2011$70,028,683$70,028,683$9,525,773$13,095,94514%$11,535,922$9,513,243$206,467$3,977,623$8,746,169$1,454,154$1,832,59412618,137source
FY2010$71,881,111$60,193,733$17,885,176$16,270,25025%$16,116,502$10,984,833$283,507$3,282,231$8,431,370$1,274,690$1,409,17011318,809source
FY2009$70,614,953$65,848,760$17,676,175$13,338,90825%$15,737,145$8,219,362$315,529$3,493,134$7,504,847$1,135,738$1,273,99112519,131source
FY2008$86,009,257$65,707,114$14,841,115$13,967,33117%$14,578,095$9,386,335$271,809$3,307,576$7,539,036$986,410$998,07212218,441source
FY2007$65,194,721$58,046,962$11,258,985$9,869,81517%$13,223,255$6,170,233$176,807$2,886,570$7,042,182$881,780$748,95312618,576source

Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)

NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.

$0$40M$80M$120M$160MFY05FY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
KN total athletic revenuesKN total athletic expensesKN subsidy (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal athletic revenuesTotal athletic expensesFootball spendingFootball coaching salariesConf./NCAA/media/postseasonTicket salesDonor contributionsSponsorship/licensingInst./govt supportStudent feesSubsidy (calc)Subsidy share (calc)Coaches comp.Non-coaching staff comp.Scholarships/aidFacilities/debt/equip.Coaching severanceInst. NIL rev. shareAnnual debt serviceAthletics debt outstandingSource
FY2025$143,856,096$148,361,190$34,516,494$12,918,953$48,054,405$26,751,470$43,525,195$12,147,484$1,892,752$0$1,892,7521%$33,069,745$33,266,165$20,036,083$23,681,889$176,695$0$30,375,394$198,099,309source
FY2024$135,189,512$138,091,318$31,326,379$12,130,069$49,576,602$26,389,132$29,580,388$14,276,769$1,405,953$0$1,405,9531%$31,255,680$32,663,984$12,835,953$20,171,143$338,229—$956,613$29,961,071source
FY2023$128,398,186$124,210,259$28,183,467$9,826,664$53,653,827$22,181,075$29,682,855$12,668,916$1,705,153$0$1,705,1531%$23,926,312$28,355,497$15,200,427$23,212,178$1,084,527—$468,031$31,908,884source
FY2022$118,020,175$108,696,078$21,282,124$6,537,275$48,843,786$17,933,864$27,261,662$13,325,979$1,516,194$0$1,516,1941%$20,437,077$23,617,600$14,185,821$21,178,609$2,351,935—$10,454,691$31,368,115source
FY2021$92,325,635$94,140,743$19,661,307$6,227,905$39,217,198$2,947,905$21,867,987$11,128,501$1,386,073$0$1,386,0732%$21,875,888$23,875,145$13,302,180$19,508,868$4,673,921—$9,809,260$31,725,368source
FY2020$102,707,575$102,693,011$21,961,195$6,550,114$43,463,806$20,194,204$23,871,769$11,317,379$1,333,660$22,009$1,355,6691%$17,797,593$25,627,937$11,426,392$22,865,442$932,413—$11,362,180$30,635,804source
FY2019$121,553,307$108,881,800$25,325,278$6,539,435$44,998,906$19,391,708$39,878,924$10,783,427$1,448,795$297,479$1,746,2741%$18,134,289$23,895,087$12,976,229$20,295,665$4,602,509—$2,252,544$32,836,602source
FY2018$106,307,326$104,108,072$19,724,816$5,337,452$39,969,704$20,581,058$27,549,850$10,233,882$1,502,799$301,598$1,804,3972%$17,736,274$20,738,090$11,991,461$21,260,705$2,726,309—$2,412,442$3,953,422source
FY2017$95,251,461$94,709,233$17,061,938$4,370,595$38,996,876$18,957,247$23,042,524$5,749,672$1,616,107$304,801$1,920,9082%$15,267,864$21,092,261$11,202,004$20,607,567$18,769—$4,210,479$35,284,196source
FY2016$90,658,829$85,703,264$14,011,838$3,553,488$37,046,494$19,400,723$24,020,732$5,827,221$1,489,711$319,852$1,809,5632%$14,308,035$19,631,642$11,015,135$16,540,008$116,898—$2,113,944$36,094,238source
FY2015$91,860,673$92,207,877$20,793,566$3,623,376$31,276,464$19,993,153$25,772,560$5,834,385$1,542,051$418,078$1,960,1292%$13,795,825$19,706,463$11,941,782$16,039,610$6,974,504—$2,048,194$42,581,106source
FY2014$97,681,066$90,056,511$14,844,644$4,891,659$29,225,135$20,083,624$28,952,472$5,750,909$1,484,313$1,080,061$2,564,3743%$13,359,816$20,400,667$11,146,895$8,890,721$414,975—$3,444,523$46,897,969source
FY2013$93,114,168$79,720,036$14,330,947$5,107,429$27,294,921$18,786,106$32,996,068$5,506,237$1,765,878$1,104,748$2,870,6263%$15,302,411$20,185,696$10,791,102$6,584,734$38,542—$3,710,132$49,852,218source
FY2012$70,228,913$78,973,441$20,548,723$4,511,572$20,570,445$18,770,270$22,446,377$1,954,036$1,684,030$1,166,143$2,850,1734%$14,383,321$14,188,264$9,873,586$6,057,382$8,563,439—$4,148,321$57,417,890source
FY2011$74,850,203$71,992,158$13,096,257$4,588,589$19,665,515$20,857,380$18,770,322$2,784,295$1,582,429$1,854,478$3,436,9075%$13,898,047$14,764,738$9,084,869$6,654,125$2,000,000—$2,559,978$54,071,140source
FY2010$70,548,520$69,241,375$15,976,477$4,432,608$19,172,963$21,352,002$16,193,021$2,617,854$1,649,599$1,948,967$3,598,5665%$13,286,335$16,265,614$8,727,303$5,981,679$3,750,907—$2,057,165$56,095,455source
FY2009$69,998,204$67,643,124$13,485,457$0$17,739,585$20,735,651$27,332,024$2,676,875$1,832,971$2,069,575$3,902,5466%$13,492,473$17,349,873$7,966,618$5,848,795$90,000—$3,316,929$46,565,000source
FY2008$82,976,047$65,748,366$13,967,331$0$18,294,915$17,630,120$37,089,914$3,107,370$1,986,837$1,907,119$3,893,9565%$10,940,531$14,627,010$7,844,822$4,005,821$0—$2,559,360$29,295,584source
FY2007$64,153,545$58,763,135$9,869,815$0$13,991,011$15,616,024$18,976,889$1,641,242$2,165,698$1,909,988$4,075,6866%$9,608,173$12,852,577$7,281,704$4,383,716$0—$1,205,000$19,135,894source
FY2006$63,643,158$47,862,244$10,299,787—$12,919,508$14,416,259$24,658,043$1,549,891$2,085,899$969,309$3,055,2085%$7,213,612$11,021,644$6,583,135$4,171,428$0—$1,160,422$20,290,000source
FY2005$50,826,019$40,761,354$7,066,392$0$9,174,157$13,020,842$18,500,207$190,453$2,214,159$972,123$3,186,2826%$6,903,762$10,095,577$5,885,922$3,793,175$0—$1,416,870$17,170,000source
Data credit: Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database, a joint project of the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics and the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, Syracuse University.