University of Iowa
- Conference (2026)
- Big Ten
- Control
- Public
- IPEDS UNITID
- 153658
- City
- Iowa City, IA
- City population
- 76,229 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
- Metro area
- Iowa City, IA (Metropolitan): 182,711 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
- TV market (DMA)
- Cedar Rapids-Waterloo-Iowa City-Dubuque, IA: rank #94, 364,130 TV homes (0.290% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank not found
- Endowment
- $3.77B (FY2025) · scope: University of Iowa and Foundations (combined) · system or combined figure · source
Conflict: UI Center for Advancement's own endowment report shows $1.772B for FY25 (foundation-held only). https://www.foriowa.org/accountability/pdfs/UICA_By_the_Numbers.pdf - Annual giving
- $336.6M (most recent FY per 2026 article (FY2025 or FY2026 - not stated)) · amount raised by UI Center for Advancement · source
Fiscal year not explicitly stated in source
How to watch
Cheapest single package for every Iowa Hawkeyes game: Fox One + Peacock Premium, $32.98/mo ($164.90 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $85.95 for the full season, $65.96 from Oct. 1. 6 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).
Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan
Sponsors, apparel & naming
- Apparel: Nike brand: secondary source · not disclosed
Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming
Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.
EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)
Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.
This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 1 of 19 years.
| Fiscal year | Total revenue | Total expenses | Football revenue | Football expenses | FB share of rev. (calc) | Men's BB revenue | Men's BB expenses | Women's BB revenue | Women's BB expenses | Athletic student aid | Recruiting | Avg head coach salary, men's teams | Football participants | Undergrad enrollment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $179,990,052 | $150,892,055 | $105,190,203 | $50,894,414 | 58% | $16,702,408 | $13,292,250 | $4,779,406 | $8,482,645 | $17,173,520 | $2,304,738 | $1,898,900 | 131 | 21,141 | source |
| FY2024 | $173,213,951 | $150,493,777 | $91,827,582 | $55,519,658 | 53% | $13,860,389 | $11,424,801 | $6,484,596 | $10,293,173 | $14,663,998 | $2,301,031 | $2,076,495 | 129 | 20,492 | source |
| FY2023 | $166,886,577 | $140,482,011 | $87,365,943 | $45,372,393 | 52% | $14,684,165 | $10,393,230 | $3,804,579 | $8,211,454 | $13,449,976 | $2,240,885 | $1,846,180 | 128 | 20,136 | source |
| FY2022 | $150,428,705 | $126,680,448 | $86,241,489 | $49,230,193 | 57% | $14,301,250 | $9,977,054 | $1,693,587 | $5,967,007 | $12,160,428 | $2,039,354 | $1,864,375 | 130 | 19,644 | source |
| FY2021 | $91,439,664 | $91,439,664 | $43,491,626 | $29,536,990 | 48% | $6,874,147 | $6,874,147 | $4,338,401 | $4,338,403 | $12,807,046 | $87,424 | $1,001,845 | 130 | 20,155 | source |
| FY2020 | $145,095,544 | $116,021,137 | $81,421,937 | $41,688,056 | 56% | $11,163,105 | $8,557,033 | $1,033,612 | $5,483,244 | $12,384,864 | $1,492,967 | $1,035,800 | 128 | 21,092 | source |
| FY2019 | $144,070,825 | $115,896,414 | $81,037,375 | $36,838,032 | 56% | $12,120,342 | $8,097,014 | $1,645,981 | $5,637,527 | $13,108,453 | $2,123,545 | $989,618 | 124 | 21,556 | source |
| FY2018 | $136,643,027 | $110,750,436 | $75,963,196 | $33,092,807 | 56% | $10,828,407 | $8,113,263 | $1,469,045 | $4,872,463 | $12,497,608 | $1,712,667 | $898,433 | 123 | 21,079 | source |
| FY2017 | $126,980,417 | $110,399,522 | $58,685,965 | $31,800,591 | 46% | $9,707,864 | $7,215,672 | $912,427 | $4,562,262 | $12,040,537 | $1,587,447 | $906,861 | 121 | 20,690 | source |
| FY2016 | $117,002,340 | $102,549,218 | $56,551,411 | $30,150,836 | 48% | $9,097,984 | $7,218,539 | $930,406 | $4,631,921 | $11,510,031 | $1,572,344 | $859,940 | 117 | 19,712 | source |
| FY2015 | $107,404,210 | $90,436,883 | $52,354,781 | $25,482,299 | 49% | $8,982,803 | $6,868,122 | $1,388,859 | $4,417,429 | $11,120,190 | $1,609,904 | $750,180 | 121 | 19,375 | source |
| FY2014 | $105,508,954 | $83,675,038 | $53,624,529 | $24,134,459 | 51% | $10,594,220 | $6,500,552 | $987,250 | $4,098,604 | $11,216,791 | $1,321,424 | $709,036 | 129 | 19,301 | source |
| FY2013 | $106,703,779 | $76,839,138 | $55,648,679 | $21,497,369 | 52% | $10,135,412 | $6,299,736 | $955,289 | $3,828,302 | $10,593,497 | $1,275,116 | $662,725 | 127 | 19,449 | source |
| FY2012 | $97,415,941 | $79,130,558 | $50,460,344 | $21,607,187 | 52% | $8,731,784 | $6,243,668 | $751,940 | $3,932,286 | $9,817,137 | $1,197,183 | $662,168 | 121 | 19,158 | source |
| FY2011 | $92,903,555 | $87,607,487 | $44,506,832 | $20,510,807 | 48% | $8,026,024 | $5,615,758 | $711,337 | $3,115,266 | $8,912,259 | $931,989 | $654,573 | 126 | 18,895 | source |
| FY2010 | $88,510,052 | $74,210,646 | $45,854,764 | $18,468,732 | 52% | $8,796,540 | $5,243,813 | $464,680 | $2,928,243 | $8,231,091 | $755,979 | $589,626 | 119 | 18,319 | source |
| FY2009 | $79,521,143 | $70,693,205 | $38,896,234 | $26,902,080 | 49% | $9,423,886 | $4,443,481 | $839,039 | $3,234,157 | $8,447,404 | $773,927 | $645,604 | 131 | 18,541 | source |
| FY2008 | $81,148,310 | $69,784,887 | $37,998,729 | $26,166,182 | 47% | $8,970,853 | $5,174,351 | $466,942 | $2,879,163 | $7,296,521 | $977,795 | $582,595 | 117 | 20,907 | source |
| FY2007 | $80,203,645 | $70,904,103 | $45,335,026 | $28,851,512 | 57% | $10,274,661 | $5,718,590 | $706,621 | $2,849,109 | $6,486,884 | $914,857 | $586,395 | 129 | 20,300 | source |
Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)
NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.
| Fiscal year | Total athletic revenues | Total athletic expenses | Football spending | Football coaching salaries | Conf./NCAA/media/postseason | Ticket sales | Donor contributions | Sponsorship/licensing | Inst./govt support | Student fees | Subsidy (calc) | Subsidy share (calc) | Coaches comp. | Non-coaching staff comp. | Scholarships/aid | Facilities/debt/equip. | Coaching severance | Inst. NIL rev. share | Annual debt service | Athletics debt outstanding | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $179,978,091 | $173,379,699 | $50,894,412 | $20,497,858 | $81,110,245 | $33,104,198 | $35,071,275 | $13,142,787 | $2,198,923 | $650,000 | $2,848,923 | 2% | $38,968,624 | $25,842,710 | $22,876,951 | $41,249,514 | $492,563 | $0 | $22,499,593 | $231,791,957 | source |
| FY2024 | $173,213,953 | $170,440,362 | $55,519,659 | $21,026,387 | $68,483,545 | $30,617,865 | $41,990,246 | $13,480,939 | $0 | $650,000 | $650,000 | 0% | $39,591,743 | $24,388,240 | $15,198,612 | $33,842,594 | $1,181,919 | — | $19,946,578 | $227,793,346 | source |
| FY2023 | $167,417,806 | $160,302,475 | $45,560,483 | $17,946,610 | $65,487,010 | $29,671,222 | $45,861,913 | $13,159,689 | $0 | $650,000 | $650,000 | 0% | $34,025,422 | $23,293,352 | $13,956,554 | $34,712,266 | $132,250 | — | $19,279,462 | $235,125,162 | source |
| FY2022 | $151,483,092 | $151,144,861 | $49,396,133 | $19,082,369 | $64,600,117 | $26,416,829 | $32,595,258 | $11,638,182 | $0 | $650,000 | $650,000 | 0% | $34,108,484 | $19,176,955 | $12,741,085 | $36,555,225 | $1,330,394 | — | $23,342,339 | $244,595,021 | source |
| FY2021 | $74,789,832 | $116,755,350 | $29,686,991 | $13,371,696 | $47,127,256 | $189,991 | $14,546,695 | $7,919,014 | $0 | $650,000 | $650,000 | 1% | $26,921,102 | $17,458,370 | $13,341,165 | $35,721,830 | $1,264,119 | — | $24,493,208 | $256,403,366 | source |
| FY2020 | $145,636,544 | $149,161,886 | $41,838,056 | $14,183,939 | $58,717,397 | $25,701,858 | $39,134,254 | $10,101,242 | $0 | $650,000 | $650,000 | 0% | $27,585,481 | $21,715,188 | $12,814,077 | $45,118,197 | $0 | — | $29,798,540 | $223,769,115 | source |
| FY2019 | $151,976,026 | $147,632,275 | $37,782,218 | $13,421,662 | $60,224,862 | $27,178,942 | $38,626,655 | $10,654,727 | $0 | $650,000 | $650,000 | 0% | $26,469,891 | $21,001,526 | $13,682,144 | $44,104,575 | $0 | — | $16,679,480 | $226,859,124 | source |
| FY2018 | $137,093,027 | $131,467,820 | $33,242,804 | $11,806,192 | $56,684,035 | $25,277,431 | $30,136,490 | $10,483,434 | $0 | $650,000 | $650,000 | 0% | $23,596,603 | $20,641,524 | $13,157,641 | $34,657,557 | $0 | — | $11,883,464 | $209,000,949 | source |
| FY2017 | $130,681,467 | $130,219,211 | $31,950,592 | $11,202,666 | $41,501,450 | $28,253,233 | $31,999,038 | $11,239,745 | $0 | $650,000 | $650,000 | 0% | $21,919,960 | $19,978,232 | $12,623,711 | $32,235,341 | $3,865,387 | — | $10,152,464 | $155,603,709 | source |
| FY2016 | $113,249,020 | $116,168,740 | $31,137,043 | $10,439,008 | $39,463,981 | $25,667,416 | $27,799,738 | $9,726,817 | $0 | $650,000 | $650,000 | 1% | $20,715,883 | $18,031,134 | $12,009,313 | $28,980,084 | $0 | — | $10,092,255 | $134,295,000 | source |
| FY2015 | $105,969,545 | $109,214,651 | $24,428,508 | $8,830,341 | $33,663,734 | $26,642,165 | $25,345,910 | $9,351,607 | $0 | $650,000 | $650,000 | 1% | $18,622,755 | $17,265,013 | $11,655,696 | $32,375,462 | $209,600 | — | $10,822,790 | $135,765,000 | source |
| FY2014 | $105,958,954 | $102,278,847 | $24,284,458 | $8,154,886 | $30,460,390 | $25,890,094 | $30,356,325 | $8,592,992 | $0 | $683,917 | $683,917 | 1% | $17,404,934 | $16,100,208 | $11,762,781 | $28,520,771 | $0 | — | $10,715,696 | $141,400,000 | source |
| FY2013 | $107,153,782 | $106,969,227 | $21,647,370 | $7,970,053 | $26,943,881 | $26,108,593 | $30,571,923 | $8,266,864 | $0 | $678,842 | $678,842 | 1% | $16,114,467 | $15,225,805 | $11,116,659 | $39,067,249 | $0 | — | $10,265,171 | $145,575,000 | source |
| FY2012 | $97,902,974 | $104,658,746 | $21,757,190 | $7,974,092 | $27,766,864 | $25,244,298 | $26,005,699 | $8,449,024 | $0 | $543,574 | $543,574 | 1% | $15,823,419 | $14,795,837 | $10,285,183 | $34,643,507 | $894,384 | — | $10,186,734 | $149,520,000 | source |
| FY2011 | $93,353,561 | $88,057,486 | $20,660,805 | $7,871,588 | $25,769,272 | $23,180,905 | $26,622,140 | $7,601,904 | $0 | $564,680 | $564,680 | 1% | $15,457,635 | $13,558,422 | $9,362,572 | $23,062,943 | $901,250 | — | $9,591,921 | $152,910,000 | source |
| FY2010 | $88,735,093 | $74,438,196 | $18,618,732 | $6,865,859 | $23,378,061 | $21,815,895 | $26,753,591 | $6,705,521 | $0 | $525,707 | $525,707 | 1% | $14,318,059 | $11,879,878 | $8,585,730 | $15,620,461 | $904,683 | — | $8,290,292 | $135,975,000 | source |
| FY2009 | $79,971,143 | $71,116,911 | $27,052,080 | $0 | $22,095,667 | $21,922,358 | $21,571,694 | $5,731,773 | $0 | $525,941 | $525,941 | 1% | $13,125,956 | $11,327,713 | $8,755,400 | $14,736,304 | $0 | — | $7,370,721 | $112,490,000 | source |
| FY2008 | $81,515,865 | $71,602,594 | — | $0 | $24,153,081 | $19,103,235 | $21,404,864 | $5,371,577 | $800,000 | $1,487,795 | $2,287,795 | 3% | $12,543,032 | $10,622,986 | $7,579,781 | $17,156,738 | — | — | — | — | source |
| FY2007 | $80,832,070 | $70,469,589 | $28,984,732 | $5,475,729 | $20,360,044 | $21,731,819 | $21,844,854 | $5,359,561 | $1,573,359 | $1,494,706 | $3,068,065 | 4% | $11,508,130 | $9,867,978 | $6,722,602 | $16,556,748 | $0 | — | $2,498,000 | $117,075,000 | source |
| FY2006 | $73,321,227 | $59,224,861 | $20,808,639 | $5,503,305 | $17,004,124 | $20,086,445 | $20,978,267 | $4,432,678 | $1,884,403 | $1,495,060 | $3,379,463 | 5% | $11,457,184 | $9,606,304 | $6,652,458 | $7,756,615 | $0 | — | $0 | $93,000,000 | source |
| FY2005 | $61,676,257 | $54,982,658 | $18,124,566 | $3,832,261 | $17,186,342 | $18,971,349 | $10,357,165 | $4,285,689 | $2,127,182 | $1,505,016 | $3,632,198 | 6% | $8,781,656 | $9,087,996 | $5,954,008 | $7,785,482 | $0 | — | $1,544,034 | $25,000,000 | source |