Iowa State University
- Conference (2026)
- Big 12
- Control
- Public
- IPEDS UNITID
- 153603
- City
- Ames, IA
- City population
- 68,220 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
- Metro area
- Ames, IA (Metropolitan): 128,090 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
- TV market (DMA)
- Des Moines-Ames, IA: rank #67, 480,550 TV homes (0.383% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank #67 (source)
- Endowment
- $1.91B (FY2025) · scope: Iowa State University (combined endowment/foundation) · system or combined figure · source
- Annual giving
- not available (no fundraising total found; nothing estimated) · searched source
A third-party summary (intellispect.co) cites ~$223M in new gifts & commitments for FY2025; not verified against an ISU source
How to watch
Cheapest single package for every Iowa State Cyclones game: ESPN Unlimited + Fox One bundle + HBO Max Standard, $58.48/mo ($292.40 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $127.87 for the full season, $106.91 from Oct. 1. 5 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).
Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan
Sponsors, apparel & naming
- Apparel: Nike brand: secondary source · not disclosed
- Multimedia rights: Learfield · not disclosedRenewed (Apr 2026 report). [SP20]
Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming
Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.
EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)
Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.
This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 3 of 19 years.
| Fiscal year | Total revenue | Total expenses | Football revenue | Football expenses | FB share of rev. (calc) | Men's BB revenue | Men's BB expenses | Women's BB revenue | Women's BB expenses | Athletic student aid | Recruiting | Avg head coach salary, men's teams | Football participants | Undergrad enrollment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $103,899,204 | $103,893,160 | $60,744,404 | $32,337,385 | 58% | $14,437,710 | $10,382,761 | $1,201,223 | $5,282,818 | $9,856,392 | $1,457,184 | $1,885,285 | 135 | 24,397 | source |
| FY2024 | $100,543,747 | $100,471,526 | $56,607,092 | $30,019,709 | 56% | $16,903,036 | $9,808,158 | $1,312,282 | $5,212,833 | $9,730,193 | $1,584,291 | $1,701,413 | 139 | 24,038 | source |
| FY2023 | $93,048,114 | $92,987,544 | $53,241,854 | $27,730,152 | 57% | $16,120,049 | $8,326,965 | $881,254 | $5,271,866 | $9,985,420 | $1,595,763 | $1,486,534 | 134 | 23,931 | source |
| FY2022 | $86,775,037 | $86,715,005 | $55,861,324 | $28,615,043 | 64% | $15,676,249 | $7,443,040 | $862,809 | $4,504,746 | $9,663,919 | $1,629,048 | $1,407,663 | 145 | 24,416 | source |
| FY2021 | $75,843,212 | $75,843,212 | $46,794,639 | $23,735,262 | 62% | $10,296,533 | $6,125,139 | $202,303 | $3,353,825 | $9,472,311 | $457,899 | $1,368,717 | 136 | 25,260 | source |
| FY2020 | $76,724,435 | $76,683,767 | $52,099,696 | $29,422,443 | 68% | $11,624,983 | $7,561,594 | $507,027 | $4,123,387 | $9,344,636 | $1,344,222 | $1,634,448 | 135 | 26,627 | source |
| FY2019 | $79,860,045 | $79,763,540 | $51,931,511 | $26,960,124 | 65% | $14,670,525 | $7,693,014 | $630,789 | $4,336,491 | $9,333,405 | $1,883,866 | $1,473,783 | 139 | 27,832 | source |
| FY2018 | $71,856,869 | $71,773,252 | $44,264,830 | $23,088,361 | 62% | $13,956,343 | $6,851,315 | $582,595 | $3,838,930 | $8,942,422 | $2,038,310 | $1,060,099 | 133 | 28,640 | source |
| FY2017 | $66,335,424 | $66,241,155 | $41,584,474 | $19,177,215 | 63% | $13,604,289 | $6,858,775 | $778,885 | $4,052,987 | $8,674,872 | $1,836,643 | $1,035,190 | 137 | 28,791 | source |
| FY2016 | $78,355,500 | $78,279,307 | $41,789,111 | $22,764,523 | 53% | $10,767,763 | $6,885,453 | $844,341 | $3,395,945 | $7,914,087 | $1,887,121 | $760,670 | 135 | 28,631 | source |
| FY2015 | $65,733,110 | $65,658,901 | $33,074,046 | $15,420,583 | 50% | $10,241,029 | $6,554,260 | $980,215 | $3,592,257 | $7,391,247 | $1,629,963 | $942,608 | 126 | 27,199 | source |
| FY2014 | $68,170,381 | $67,967,709 | $30,968,258 | $14,461,263 | 45% | $9,586,993 | $6,069,137 | $842,935 | $3,530,902 | $7,106,762 | $1,400,795 | $836,864 | 127 | 25,985 | source |
| FY2013 | $62,357,760 | $62,224,192 | $29,475,730 | $14,984,494 | 47% | $8,609,008 | $5,293,039 | $868,074 | $3,164,509 | $6,881,821 | $1,382,793 | $791,211 | 135 | 24,020 | source |
| FY2012 | $55,191,424 | $55,154,127 | $29,774,752 | $14,084,668 | 54% | $7,919,352 | $4,402,362 | $850,537 | $2,823,447 | $6,889,370 | $1,148,183 | $561,453 | 129 | 22,901 | source |
| FY2011 | $48,574,989 | $48,453,303 | $21,862,535 | $12,513,317 | 45% | $6,587,115 | $4,616,643 | $1,192,490 | $2,959,850 | $6,461,596 | $1,022,016 | $475,500 | 143 | 21,674 | source |
| FY2010 | $46,871,554 | $46,656,014 | $19,974,924 | $13,368,441 | 43% | $7,182,665 | $4,530,329 | $1,594,883 | $3,144,628 | $5,881,704 | $1,025,760 | $419,712 | 122 | 21,081 | source |
| FY2009 | $45,813,189 | $45,768,049 | $21,261,439 | $14,404,274 | 46% | $6,197,669 | $4,296,701 | $1,541,423 | $2,996,712 | $5,820,463 | $1,092,816 | $407,421 | 125 | 20,215 | source |
| FY2008 | $38,642,013 | $38,642,013 | $17,404,826 | $9,833,299 | 45% | $5,982,727 | $3,778,669 | $840,590 | $2,339,265 | $5,205,682 | $1,174,428 | $433,500 | 124 | 21,004 | source |
| FY2007 | $36,876,628 | $36,876,628 | $10,807,280 | $10,177,360 | 29% | $5,636,959 | $5,056,570 | $2,416,813 | $2,416,813 | $5,055,348 | $929,644 | $430,267 | 135 | 19,048 | source |
Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)
NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.
| Fiscal year | Total athletic revenues | Total athletic expenses | Football spending | Football coaching salaries | Conf./NCAA/media/postseason | Ticket sales | Donor contributions | Sponsorship/licensing | Inst./govt support | Student fees | Subsidy (calc) | Subsidy share (calc) | Coaches comp. | Non-coaching staff comp. | Scholarships/aid | Facilities/debt/equip. | Coaching severance | Inst. NIL rev. share | Annual debt service | Athletics debt outstanding | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $117,990,108 | $117,984,063 | $33,289,781 | $11,623,001 | $47,338,529 | $23,693,203 | $29,359,925 | $2,281,324 | $0 | $1,819,397 | $1,819,397 | 2% | $24,320,087 | $20,044,189 | $15,199,376 | $26,275,952 | $0 | $0 | $12,090,096 | $132,414,190 | source |
| FY2024 | $122,118,465 | $122,046,246 | $30,134,394 | $10,178,872 | $43,675,072 | $23,374,757 | $36,031,495 | $3,154,708 | $0 | $1,804,301 | $1,804,301 | 1% | $21,247,828 | $19,946,351 | $9,963,906 | $34,333,167 | $0 | — | $9,137,695 | $111,372,222 | source |
| FY2023 | $115,584,170 | $115,523,596 | $27,779,324 | $10,198,392 | $46,673,334 | $21,664,778 | $29,911,146 | $3,147,790 | $0 | $1,789,278 | $1,789,278 | 2% | $19,697,572 | $18,746,702 | $10,246,446 | $34,747,518 | $0 | — | $8,835,745 | $114,262,531 | source |
| FY2022 | $111,287,492 | $111,227,458 | $28,664,216 | $10,345,491 | $49,499,012 | $22,909,710 | $23,036,374 | $2,803,091 | $0 | $1,847,367 | $1,847,367 | 2% | $19,215,272 | $16,362,572 | $9,844,773 | $35,744,096 | $880,201 | — | $8,936,130 | $126,027,057 | source |
| FY2021 | $72,046,100 | $89,008,720 | $24,085,630 | $9,251,367 | $43,287,402 | $2,631,429 | $17,104,715 | $2,630,072 | $0 | $1,787,627 | $1,787,627 | 2% | $17,539,976 | $13,761,010 | $9,630,306 | $21,819,647 | $8,781,558 | — | $10,457,557 | $131,785,149 | source |
| FY2020 | $90,326,274 | $90,285,606 | $29,708,542 | $9,316,913 | $42,073,143 | $18,597,847 | $18,679,348 | $2,728,452 | $0 | $1,865,821 | $1,865,821 | 2% | $18,429,163 | $14,299,603 | $9,540,309 | $23,053,036 | $0 | — | $7,164,445 | $136,063,647 | source |
| FY2019 | $95,411,884 | $95,315,376 | $27,246,224 | $8,972,245 | $49,611,321 | $16,474,938 | $18,206,649 | $2,664,188 | $0 | $2,054,314 | $2,054,314 | 2% | $17,622,054 | $13,808,662 | $9,518,283 | $24,378,769 | $0 | — | $6,563,893 | $75,272,301 | source |
| FY2018 | $88,753,664 | $88,670,048 | $23,844,836 | $6,915,144 | $41,271,287 | $15,894,160 | $20,662,372 | $2,288,860 | $0 | $2,093,104 | $2,093,104 | 2% | $15,224,458 | $12,659,831 | $9,101,930 | $24,893,380 | $0 | — | $11,182,857 | $79,277,866 | source |
| FY2017 | $82,659,447 | $82,565,176 | $20,352,821 | $5,591,140 | $40,414,631 | $14,260,192 | $17,551,225 | $2,320,161 | $0 | $2,133,219 | $2,133,219 | 3% | $13,472,170 | $12,343,533 | $8,868,945 | $23,819,392 | $306,116 | — | $10,066,085 | $87,571,532 | source |
| FY2016 | $78,355,500 | $78,279,309 | $22,764,523 | $4,249,135 | $37,461,527 | $15,626,121 | $14,837,823 | $1,649,371 | $0 | $2,111,137 | $2,111,137 | 3% | $11,735,493 | $11,171,572 | $8,073,162 | $18,696,288 | $6,282,817 | — | $7,896,705 | $94,374,357 | source |
| FY2015 | $75,283,516 | $75,209,309 | $15,420,582 | $4,462,357 | $31,065,518 | $14,155,561 | $21,012,134 | $1,545,781 | $0 | $2,044,400 | $2,044,400 | 3% | $12,053,400 | $10,774,799 | $7,546,053 | $24,998,370 | $8,197 | — | $7,008,216 | $98,162,322 | source |
| FY2014 | $68,170,381 | $67,967,712 | $14,461,262 | $4,558,908 | $28,068,046 | $14,418,164 | $17,402,605 | $862,547 | $0 | $1,957,396 | $1,957,396 | 3% | $11,519,206 | $9,871,630 | $7,231,338 | $20,631,272 | $107,000 | — | $6,231,918 | $68,354,076 | source |
| FY2013 | $62,357,761 | $62,224,194 | $14,984,496 | $4,597,117 | $27,139,656 | $13,274,318 | $13,225,913 | $773,555 | $0 | $1,834,796 | $1,834,796 | 3% | $10,352,061 | $10,353,822 | $6,965,124 | $16,032,024 | $0 | — | $4,651,085 | $71,809,129 | source |
| FY2012 | $55,151,017 | $55,113,720 | $0 | $0 | $26,443,003 | $12,962,376 | $7,872,786 | $646,319 | $0 | $1,721,450 | $1,721,450 | 3% | $8,950,666 | $8,634,675 | $7,182,024 | $12,885,196 | $0 | — | $7,022,294 | $74,058,940 | source |
| FY2011 | $48,591,617 | $48,469,929 | $12,513,317 | $0 | $16,884,564 | $11,684,493 | $11,591,024 | $398,299 | $2,049,423 | $1,689,692 | $3,739,115 | 8% | $8,118,140 | $7,708,323 | $6,698,901 | $10,622,759 | $0 | — | $5,122,626 | $45,451,358 | source |
| FY2010 | $46,871,554 | $46,656,014 | $13,368,441 | $2,848,742 | $14,321,333 | $11,377,858 | $13,053,329 | $335,440 | $2,354,423 | $1,182,848 | $3,537,271 | 8% | $7,553,372 | $7,321,962 | $6,082,108 | $9,967,334 | $550,942 | — | $4,299,604 | $43,482,525 | source |
| FY2009 | $45,813,189 | $45,768,048 | $14,404,273 | $2,697,541 | $13,183,014 | $11,711,417 | $11,425,908 | $395,634 | $3,604,793 | $1,197,018 | $4,801,811 | 10% | $7,203,169 | $7,379,395 | $6,045,548 | $9,867,471 | $968,590 | — | $3,047,666 | $32,290,951 | source |
| FY2008 | $38,621,346 | $38,642,012 | $9,833,299 | $2,791,971 | $11,355,026 | $13,203,608 | $6,800,156 | $509,274 | $2,953,733 | $1,098,035 | $4,051,768 | 10% | $7,005,775 | $6,501,830 | $5,404,874 | $6,660,794 | $207,559 | — | $3,397,379 | $29,465,130 | source |
| FY2007 | $32,675,181 | $42,123,353 | $11,447,581 | $0 | $10,774,105 | $6,987,167 | $7,926,390 | $438,613 | $2,914,240 | $1,072,333 | $3,986,573 | 12% | $6,718,913 | $6,329,761 | $5,256,097 | $7,641,210 | — | — | — | — | source |
| FY2006 | $32,437,040 | $33,341,962 | $9,032,493 | $2,678,472 | $10,414,252 | $10,195,647 | $3,979,931 | $1,331,283 | $2,824,101 | $1,089,160 | $3,913,261 | 12% | $6,551,107 | $5,519,622 | $4,823,081 | $3,958,001 | $573,875 | — | $817,966 | $9,702,215 | source |
| FY2005 | $28,913,010 | $28,227,582 | $7,160,617 | $0 | $7,880,520 | $9,124,046 | $4,416,565 | $1,280,401 | $2,640,797 | $1,124,361 | $3,765,158 | 13% | $6,123,932 | $5,017,127 | $4,308,635 | $4,240,095 | $48,057 | — | $515,470 | $6,000,000 | source |