University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
- Conference (2026)
- Big Ten
- Control
- Public
- IPEDS UNITID
- 145637
- City
- Champaign (Urbana-Champaign), IL
- City population
- 91,195 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
- Metro area
- Champaign-Urbana, IL (Metropolitan): 239,979 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
- TV market (DMA)
- Champaign & Springfield-Decatur, IL: rank #92, 371,520 TV homes (0.296% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank #90 (source)
- Endowment
- $3.80B (FY2025) · scope: University of Illinois (system) & Foundations (combined) · system or combined figure · source
System figure (Urbana-Champaign, Chicago, Springfield) - Annual giving
- $656.0M (FY2025) · new business, University of Illinois Foundation (SYSTEM: all 3 campuses; record) · source
UIUC-only share reported as $559.4M on giving.illinois.edu (per search index; not directly verified). $427.1M cash received.
How to watch
Cheapest single package for every Illinois Fighting Illini game: Fox One + Peacock Premium, $32.98/mo ($164.90 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $98.94 for the full season, $65.96 from Oct. 1. 4 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).
Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan
Sponsors, apparel & naming
- Apparel: Nike brand: secondary source · not disclosed
- Multimedia rights: Learfield · not disclosedRenewed (Apr 2026 report). [SP20]
- Stadium naming: Larry Gies · $100M$100M gift (Sept 2025); stadium now Gies Memorial Stadium. [SP104]
Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming
Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.
EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)
Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.
This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 9 of 19 years.
| Fiscal year | Total revenue | Total expenses | Football revenue | Football expenses | FB share of rev. (calc) | Men's BB revenue | Men's BB expenses | Women's BB revenue | Women's BB expenses | Athletic student aid | Recruiting | Avg head coach salary, men's teams | Football participants | Undergrad enrollment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $174,612,181 | $174,612,181 | $87,939,659 | $48,001,399 | 50% | $34,764,436 | $20,565,967 | $2,186,498 | $7,258,435 | $15,010,418 | $3,563,850 | $1,810,900 | 119 | 35,619 | source |
| FY2024 | $149,390,875 | $149,390,875 | $68,645,674 | $38,984,930 | 46% | $36,200,666 | $18,970,438 | $3,721,634 | $6,565,976 | $14,700,395 | $3,570,247 | $1,756,557 | 120 | 33,994 | source |
| FY2023 | $134,767,269 | $134,767,269 | $70,508,218 | $35,167,388 | 52% | $28,194,287 | $14,212,102 | $1,642,652 | $6,060,973 | $13,412,751 | $2,819,639 | $1,445,103 | 116 | 33,273 | source |
| FY2022 | $115,544,276 | $113,652,548 | $63,208,225 | $29,035,738 | 55% | $25,658,000 | $13,195,873 | $832,527 | $4,992,383 | $12,410,286 | $2,376,469 | $1,291,957 | 118 | 33,113 | source |
| FY2021 | $85,359,724 | $85,359,724 | $41,652,159 | $21,381,418 | 49% | $12,948,284 | $8,983,663 | $690,227 | $3,571,702 | $11,571,617 | $679,690 | $1,142,704 | 106 | 32,094 | source |
| FY2020 | $103,558,802 | $102,630,983 | $65,587,081 | $26,687,666 | 63% | $21,483,602 | $11,607,633 | $715,762 | $4,692,867 | $13,017,478 | $1,815,731 | $1,188,201 | 109 | 32,408 | source |
| FY2019 | $100,156,079 | $100,156,079 | $58,155,936 | $23,418,953 | 58% | $21,419,589 | $10,480,939 | $654,776 | $4,416,303 | $13,199,585 | $2,271,459 | $1,055,376 | 103 | 32,354 | source |
| FY2018 | $97,955,075 | $91,664,512 | $51,295,520 | $22,217,186 | 52% | $25,130,930 | $10,703,916 | $660,978 | $4,716,122 | $12,709,040 | $2,069,031 | $976,063 | 108 | 32,210 | source |
| FY2017 | $83,307,820 | $83,307,820 | $35,622,414 | $22,332,328 | 43% | $15,827,099 | $10,404,451 | $526,115 | $3,412,639 | $12,506,785 | $1,877,354 | $740,045 | 102 | 32,126 | source |
| FY2016 | $78,395,389 | $78,395,389 | $32,910,979 | $18,242,712 | 42% | $16,671,800 | $7,341,910 | $554,845 | $3,314,263 | $12,206,179 | $1,718,941 | $588,013 | 123 | 31,552 | source |
| FY2015 | $74,469,976 | $74,469,976 | $30,819,615 | $18,336,909 | 41% | $17,823,570 | $8,414,091 | $584,398 | $3,156,273 | $11,197,652 | $1,861,299 | $600,416 | 110 | 31,312 | source |
| FY2014 | $66,915,190 | $66,915,190 | $30,323,995 | $16,559,019 | 45% | $17,519,546 | $8,114,984 | $1,090,071 | $3,248,059 | $10,892,060 | $1,824,486 | $534,966 | 120 | 31,129 | source |
| FY2013 | $65,967,262 | $65,319,371 | $29,267,805 | $16,551,097 | 44% | $18,462,316 | $8,153,609 | $1,313,205 | $3,112,997 | $10,870,447 | $1,654,128 | $498,566 | 115 | 30,730 | source |
| FY2012 | $63,953,748 | $62,861,565 | $30,545,255 | $16,109,633 | 48% | $15,836,670 | $6,584,190 | $822,586 | $2,686,549 | $9,929,043 | $1,414,649 | $511,000 | 105 | 30,930 | source |
| FY2011 | $57,539,367 | $55,723,771 | $28,079,694 | $12,910,507 | 49% | $15,408,818 | $5,630,297 | $763,287 | $2,234,817 | $9,847,570 | $1,328,931 | $520,421 | 109 | 30,292 | source |
| FY2010 | $53,502,485 | $51,762,875 | $25,301,783 | $11,092,122 | 47% | $14,413,222 | $4,980,589 | $868,973 | $2,325,264 | $9,687,669 | $1,277,955 | $438,225 | 117 | 30,319 | source |
| FY2009 | $55,609,086 | $53,706,623 | $25,710,645 | $10,492,919 | 46% | $14,507,336 | $4,772,399 | $767,798 | $2,272,046 | $8,845,703 | $1,079,792 | $424,093 | 103 | 30,386 | source |
| FY2008 | $57,167,843 | $52,685,040 | $25,370,427 | $12,210,666 | 44% | $13,272,130 | $4,762,131 | $705,749 | $2,076,997 | $8,476,776 | $1,261,963 | $394,552 | 105 | 30,695 | source |
| FY2007 | $56,804,174 | $44,768,059 | $20,764,472 | $9,371,073 | 37% | $12,237,388 | $4,542,338 | $789,266 | $2,430,263 | $7,857,349 | $1,203,491 | $377,421 | 106 | 30,575 | source |
Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)
NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.
| Fiscal year | Total athletic revenues | Total athletic expenses | Football spending | Football coaching salaries | Conf./NCAA/media/postseason | Ticket sales | Donor contributions | Sponsorship/licensing | Inst./govt support | Student fees | Subsidy (calc) | Subsidy share (calc) | Coaches comp. | Non-coaching staff comp. | Scholarships/aid | Facilities/debt/equip. | Coaching severance | Inst. NIL rev. share | Annual debt service | Athletics debt outstanding | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $194,761,178 | $189,859,538 | $49,268,450 | $16,457,750 | $83,731,680 | $29,973,328 | $50,720,205 | $8,725,169 | $7,992,967 | $3,639,531 | $11,632,498 | 6% | $37,125,493 | $31,963,461 | $20,364,250 | $43,843,697 | $546,909 | $0 | $23,998,218 | $304,463,059 | source |
| FY2024 | $174,067,436 | $169,474,512 | $38,984,930 | $15,136,621 | $68,421,229 | $19,814,213 | $57,770,194 | $7,066,819 | $7,552,756 | $3,433,852 | $10,986,608 | 6% | $34,593,992 | $31,092,005 | $12,191,966 | $47,667,874 | $846,419 | — | $26,463,251 | $312,490,391 | source |
| FY2023 | $148,345,919 | $152,809,698 | $35,166,057 | $12,244,759 | $67,496,071 | $19,797,391 | $35,418,645 | $6,610,416 | $7,279,995 | $3,329,639 | $10,609,634 | 7% | $28,009,279 | $29,970,017 | $13,433,162 | $40,070,102 | $819,134 | — | $23,340,316 | $291,882,647 | source |
| FY2022 | $145,735,330 | $129,119,247 | $29,035,739 | $10,963,720 | $63,973,917 | $15,693,517 | $40,963,477 | $6,123,020 | $6,832,377 | $3,313,028 | $10,145,405 | 7% | $25,956,291 | $27,450,388 | $12,507,615 | $31,349,589 | $1,576,119 | — | $23,379,697 | $294,235,529 | source |
| FY2021 | $98,811,643 | $102,006,085 | $21,381,419 | $9,324,510 | $47,948,236 | $244,609 | $33,866,174 | $4,112,705 | $6,059,769 | $2,886,620 | $8,946,389 | 9% | $22,159,720 | $22,584,732 | $11,689,978 | $30,099,600 | $2,034,337 | — | $18,976,915 | $314,116,163 | source |
| FY2020 | $122,566,259 | $121,638,435 | $26,687,668 | $8,919,449 | $61,439,622 | $13,769,824 | $26,143,324 | $5,816,105 | $5,740,017 | $3,148,686 | $8,888,703 | 7% | $21,761,819 | $25,008,268 | $13,017,478 | $31,406,858 | $56,844 | — | $21,564,413 | $315,822,286 | source |
| FY2019 | $118,565,501 | $120,168,951 | $23,434,155 | $8,413,714 | $60,803,874 | $11,834,000 | $24,965,488 | $5,597,786 | $5,631,140 | $3,021,675 | $8,652,815 | 7% | $20,507,183 | $23,313,644 | $13,213,336 | $31,627,237 | $1,072,768 | — | $22,777,734 | $323,509,449 | source |
| FY2018 | $115,132,186 | $108,696,540 | $22,235,743 | $8,025,468 | $58,611,327 | $12,645,758 | $23,869,319 | $5,584,183 | $5,578,619 | $3,016,800 | $8,595,419 | 7% | $19,975,276 | $21,315,905 | $12,709,040 | $27,609,302 | $838,435 | — | $21,384,837 | $246,518,481 | source |
| FY2017 | $97,447,731 | $100,739,817 | $22,332,464 | $7,323,109 | $43,494,005 | $12,825,263 | $24,521,958 | $6,193,635 | $41,546 | $3,240,154 | $3,281,700 | 3% | $15,125,182 | $16,272,679 | $12,532,723 | $27,760,966 | $1,228,113 | — | $20,085,545 | $245,441,944 | source |
| FY2016 | $96,249,500 | $102,912,910 | $18,432,831 | $4,922,729 | $38,105,715 | $14,604,625 | $28,531,388 | $5,007,415 | $443,640 | $3,208,815 | $3,652,455 | 4% | $12,551,554 | $14,902,477 | $12,319,079 | $33,443,420 | $2,735,773 | — | $26,174,229 | $255,501,079 | source |
| FY2015 | $85,998,659 | $87,163,188 | $17,229,821 | $4,399,095 | $36,050,879 | $14,191,778 | $19,207,780 | $5,171,162 | $560,582 | $3,167,862 | $3,728,444 | 4% | $11,535,742 | $14,680,786 | $11,197,652 | $20,747,362 | $1,414,397 | — | $16,722,890 | $270,037,697 | source |
| FY2014 | $80,848,569 | $83,112,351 | $16,781,096 | $4,027,876 | $30,967,546 | $17,005,685 | $16,909,059 | $5,052,695 | $880,437 | $3,046,935 | $3,927,372 | 5% | $10,785,235 | $13,734,429 | $10,897,536 | $22,438,917 | $3,203,870 | — | $11,290,954 | $263,053,858 | source |
| FY2013 | $79,725,521 | $78,667,480 | $16,821,289 | $4,025,747 | $29,634,212 | $16,039,325 | $18,861,318 | $4,826,982 | $887,381 | $3,025,651 | $3,913,032 | 5% | $10,318,929 | $13,612,240 | $10,870,447 | $18,054,036 | $3,443,763 | — | $9,681,588 | $108,987,901 | source |
| FY2012 | $78,708,250 | $76,740,736 | $16,712,294 | $4,333,615 | $26,531,246 | $20,456,244 | $15,629,843 | $4,484,025 | $937,172 | $3,000,718 | $3,937,890 | 5% | $10,612,553 | $12,978,631 | $9,929,043 | $18,644,887 | $1,549,811 | — | $9,516,401 | $117,067,916 | source |
| FY2011 | $77,863,883 | $73,476,818 | $14,146,821 | $4,221,604 | $27,141,533 | $16,533,261 | $16,437,955 | $4,553,520 | $1,035,354 | $2,948,286 | $3,983,640 | 5% | $10,259,368 | $11,833,220 | $9,847,571 | $21,642,719 | $154,642 | — | $12,917,387 | $120,950,293 | source |
| FY2010 | $75,189,489 | $71,957,222 | $12,408,170 | $3,687,734 | $22,108,595 | $17,861,359 | $18,835,017 | $4,097,705 | $1,032,306 | $2,961,577 | $3,993,883 | 5% | $8,994,599 | $11,911,599 | $9,687,670 | $22,908,353 | $471,797 | — | $12,745,516 | $130,506,150 | source |
| FY2009 | $75,431,185 | $73,643,345 | $11,889,407 | $0 | $21,530,080 | $17,680,450 | $18,302,381 | $4,634,806 | $1,585,353 | $2,925,875 | $4,511,228 | 6% | $8,672,725 | $12,547,128 | $8,845,703 | $24,005,922 | $28,961 | — | — | — | source |
| FY2008 | $67,818,403 | $63,458,807 | $14,318,134 | $3,522,689 | $23,027,160 | $14,296,494 | $14,159,705 | $4,582,018 | $1,272,372 | $2,930,324 | $4,202,696 | 6% | $8,528,364 | $11,385,606 | $8,476,778 | $14,706,544 | $490,830 | — | $5,944,805 | $136,915,318 | source |
| FY2007 | $57,838,408 | $51,714,927 | $10,842,836 | $0 | $14,488,668 | $14,548,028 | $12,845,987 | $5,560,878 | $1,407,600 | $2,738,845 | $4,146,445 | 7% | $7,548,950 | $10,116,903 | $7,857,347 | $8,422,860 | $526,262 | — | — | — | source |
| FY2006 | $50,744,576 | $50,576,001 | $10,428,399 | $2,381,487 | $11,803,015 | $13,149,923 | $9,548,627 | $4,660,752 | $2,329,100 | $2,844,794 | $5,173,894 | 10% | $6,942,287 | $9,196,714 | $7,418,863 | $10,584,506 | $518,377 | — | $3,423,816 | $17,098,073 | source |
| FY2005 | $48,396,763 | $47,915,540 | $10,324,331 | $2,237,568 | $10,707,111 | $12,917,578 | $9,639,510 | $4,380,549 | $1,959,500 | $2,749,207 | $4,708,707 | 10% | $6,444,680 | $8,743,003 | $6,297,587 | $11,646,973 | $476,838 | — | $4,000,000 | $20,000,000 | source |