University of Houston
- Conference (2026)
- Big 12 (Joined Big 12 July 1, 2023)
- Control
- Public
- IPEDS UNITID
- 225511
- City
- Houston, TX
- City population
- 2,397,315 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
- Metro area
- Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands, TX (Metropolitan): 7,904,627 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
- TV market (DMA)
- Houston, TX: rank #6, 2,797,420 TV homes (2.229% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank #6 (source)
- Endowment
- $1.27B (FY2025 (Aug 31, 2025)) · scope: University of Houston SYSTEM Endowment Fund · system or combined figure · source
UH not in NACUBO FY2025 public list; system figure - Annual giving
- not available (no fundraising total found; nothing estimated)
How to watch
Cheapest single package for every Houston Cougars game: ESPN Unlimited + Fox One bundle + HBO Max Standard, $58.48/mo ($292.40 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $130.90 for the full season, $104.93 from Oct. 1. 5 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).
Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan
Sponsors, apparel & naming
- Apparel: Nike brand: secondary source · not disclosedCurrent deal value NOT FOUND in public reporting during this pass (private school, foundation-held contract, or not searched). [SP35]
- Multimedia rights: Learfield · not disclosedRenewed (Apr 2026 report). [SP20]
- Stadium naming: TDECU · $15M ($1.5M/yr) · 10 yrs (to 2024); renewal not verifiedTDECU Stadium; 10 yrs, $15M (2014). [SP72]
Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming
Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.
EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)
Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.
This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 18 of 19 years.
| Fiscal year | Total revenue | Total expenses | Football revenue | Football expenses | FB share of rev. (calc) | Men's BB revenue | Men's BB expenses | Women's BB revenue | Women's BB expenses | Athletic student aid | Recruiting | Avg head coach salary, men's teams | Football participants | Undergrad enrollment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $100,162,965 | $100,162,965 | $23,271,364 | $23,271,364 | 23% | $14,577,598 | $14,577,598 | $3,685,535 | $3,685,535 | $9,377,636 | $1,500,405 | $2,156,611 | 119 | 29,442 | source |
| FY2024 | $98,914,486 | $98,914,486 | $26,934,492 | $26,934,492 | 27% | $12,552,038 | $12,552,038 | $2,951,028 | $2,951,028 | $9,182,114 | $1,411,573 | $2,076,246 | 121 | 27,553 | source |
| FY2023 | $84,023,065 | $84,023,065 | $20,806,183 | $20,806,183 | 25% | $11,117,868 | $11,117,868 | $2,672,885 | $2,672,885 | $8,521,656 | $1,064,301 | $1,796,254 | 123 | 27,063 | source |
| FY2022 | $78,806,406 | $78,806,406 | $20,447,060 | $20,447,060 | 26% | $9,764,326 | $9,764,326 | $2,844,619 | $2,844,619 | $8,905,064 | $738,894 | $1,646,470 | 138 | 27,380 | source |
| FY2021 | $66,216,462 | $66,216,462 | $15,670,437 | $15,670,437 | 24% | $7,460,535 | $7,460,535 | $2,327,890 | $2,327,890 | $8,919,971 | $204,316 | $1,657,867 | 122 | 28,631 | source |
| FY2020 | $67,382,982 | $66,370,150 | $18,177,111 | $18,177,111 | 27% | $7,726,259 | $7,726,259 | $2,324,673 | $2,324,673 | $7,556,166 | $463,853 | $1,530,033 | 118 | 28,038 | source |
| FY2019 | $68,285,574 | $68,285,574 | $18,656,864 | $18,656,864 | 27% | $9,219,796 | $9,219,796 | $2,404,717 | $2,404,717 | $7,546,525 | $918,079 | $1,484,933 | 118 | 27,682 | source |
| FY2018 | $55,344,923 | $55,344,923 | $14,216,992 | $14,216,992 | 26% | $5,314,928 | $5,314,928 | $2,198,927 | $2,198,927 | $7,306,498 | $693,367 | $728,111 | 136 | 26,755 | source |
| FY2017 | $48,820,426 | $48,820,426 | $14,641,643 | $14,641,643 | 30% | $4,750,737 | $4,750,737 | $2,161,583 | $2,161,583 | $7,226,711 | $658,605 | $688,611 | 122 | 25,399 | source |
| FY2016 | $50,886,777 | $50,886,777 | $16,180,918 | $16,180,918 | 32% | $6,023,125 | $6,023,125 | $2,092,510 | $2,092,510 | $7,175,812 | $565,657 | $855,475 | 117 | 24,484 | source |
| FY2015 | $45,437,943 | $45,437,943 | $11,306,212 | $11,306,212 | 25% | $3,905,404 | $3,905,404 | $2,069,571 | $2,069,571 | $6,292,114 | $671,998 | $555,168 | 110 | 23,595 | source |
| FY2014 | $39,475,225 | $39,475,225 | $9,379,867 | $9,379,867 | 24% | $3,111,083 | $3,111,083 | $1,519,435 | $1,519,435 | $5,649,371 | $588,413 | $405,336 | 129 | 22,475 | source |
| FY2013 | $35,514,862 | $35,514,862 | $8,513,411 | $8,513,411 | 24% | $2,598,898 | $2,598,898 | $1,570,891 | $1,570,891 | $5,394,886 | $702,967 | $317,672 | 129 | 23,187 | source |
| FY2012 | $32,335,742 | $32,335,742 | $8,250,249 | $8,250,249 | 26% | $2,391,229 | $2,391,229 | $1,514,269 | $1,514,269 | $4,940,753 | $477,188 | $391,000 | 141 | 22,852 | source |
| FY2011 | $33,473,404 | $33,473,404 | $7,877,545 | $7,877,545 | 24% | $2,612,741 | $2,612,741 | $1,503,788 | $1,503,788 | $4,533,235 | $499,430 | $380,815 | 140 | 22,006 | source |
| FY2010 | $31,564,286 | $31,564,286 | $7,719,733 | $8,194,333 | 24% | $2,282,877 | $2,845,100 | $973,073 | $1,305,068 | $4,232,743 | $439,685 | $352,434 | 140 | 20,771 | source |
| FY2009 | $29,620,164 | $29,620,164 | $3,965,165 | $7,338,423 | 13% | $1,965,795 | $2,494,670 | $585,028 | $1,251,314 | $4,589,146 | $424,311 | $168,740 | 128 | 20,303 | source |
| FY2008 | $30,856,264 | $30,856,264 | $4,640,582 | $6,914,190 | 15% | $2,178,727 | $2,699,783 | $592,624 | $1,321,353 | $4,340,670 | $334,012 | $162,993 | 130 | 19,438 | source |
| FY2007 | $28,188,613 | $28,188,613 | $6,925,282 | $6,925,282 | 25% | $2,143,715 | $2,143,715 | $1,099,952 | $1,099,952 | $3,765,301 | $392,269 | $170,229 | 118 | 19,552 | source |
Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)
NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.
| Fiscal year | Total athletic revenues | Total athletic expenses | Football spending | Football coaching salaries | Conf./NCAA/media/postseason | Ticket sales | Donor contributions | Sponsorship/licensing | Inst./govt support | Student fees | Subsidy (calc) | Subsidy share (calc) | Coaches comp. | Non-coaching staff comp. | Scholarships/aid | Facilities/debt/equip. | Coaching severance | Inst. NIL rev. share | Annual debt service | Athletics debt outstanding | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $92,759,096 | $98,864,678 | $26,412,924 | $8,658,511 | $18,478,012 | $7,634,760 | $15,624,294 | $6,447,110 | $33,036,328 | $8,135,241 | $41,171,569 | 44% | $21,243,605 | $16,403,276 | $14,732,880 | $26,905,930 | $5,257,160 | $0 | $14,210,642 | $239,776,425 | source |
| FY2024 | $88,229,817 | $96,414,485 | $26,934,491 | $9,501,863 | $17,955,822 | $9,696,934 | $13,879,423 | $5,074,091 | $30,263,602 | $8,133,527 | $38,397,129 | 44% | $20,733,174 | $16,187,825 | $9,494,565 | $28,787,812 | $3,705,811 | — | $8,450,158 | $121,383,900 | source |
| FY2023 | $82,604,513 | $81,517,354 | $20,806,184 | $8,671,359 | $9,772,813 | $4,904,800 | $10,114,611 | $5,648,678 | $39,658,543 | $8,588,476 | $48,247,019 | 58% | $18,489,047 | $13,714,764 | $8,795,043 | $24,648,377 | $0 | — | $8,424,833 | $115,938,485 | source |
| FY2022 | $78,088,086 | $73,806,404 | $20,447,059 | $8,172,375 | $9,374,138 | $5,191,579 | $7,575,763 | $3,527,097 | $39,938,875 | $8,513,075 | $48,451,950 | 62% | $16,890,183 | $12,585,897 | $9,105,633 | $20,355,948 | $0 | — | $5,116,984 | $113,154,625 | source |
| FY2021 | $66,823,577 | $67,196,088 | $16,139,796 | $6,892,684 | $8,317,680 | $1,709,363 | $3,824,724 | $1,854,952 | $41,031,960 | $8,461,285 | $49,493,245 | 74% | $15,221,554 | $11,822,150 | $9,015,573 | $18,811,264 | $0 | — | $6,176,510 | $75,319,320 | source |
| FY2020 | $67,382,981 | $66,370,147 | $18,177,111 | $8,545,275 | $5,006,007 | $4,781,247 | $4,829,154 | $2,664,043 | $37,920,460 | $8,783,293 | $46,703,753 | 69% | $17,352,439 | $10,612,003 | $8,046,609 | $19,307,621 | $0 | — | $2,250,932 | $83,943,175 | source |
| FY2019 | $75,049,955 | $73,678,308 | $18,657,541 | $7,228,345 | $4,842,711 | $4,882,307 | $9,602,299 | $4,086,651 | $39,591,166 | $8,781,030 | $48,372,196 | 64% | $16,553,806 | $10,839,124 | $7,979,207 | $22,924,669 | $0 | — | $5,845,858 | $73,258,175 | source |
| FY2018 | $55,142,417 | $57,106,913 | $14,303,118 | $4,637,227 | $4,856,973 | $4,311,521 | $8,386,600 | $4,142,047 | $22,399,974 | $8,777,847 | $31,177,821 | 57% | $10,815,044 | $8,957,220 | $7,888,368 | $12,383,837 | $0 | — | $7,333,036 | $65,465,990 | source |
| FY2017 | $57,174,900 | $55,277,308 | $14,982,717 | $4,724,406 | $5,630,124 | $6,551,591 | $9,923,994 | $4,024,396 | $17,609,027 | $8,094,424 | $25,703,451 | 45% | $10,394,102 | $9,032,200 | $7,184,825 | $11,183,941 | $0 | — | $5,298,603 | $114,175,000 | source |
| FY2016 | $51,469,297 | $52,204,566 | $17,737,625 | $6,226,748 | $8,705,533 | $4,868,522 | $8,143,810 | $2,626,423 | $17,609,027 | $7,546,458 | $25,155,485 | 49% | $11,619,197 | $8,180,968 | $6,649,806 | $7,725,792 | $0 | — | $5,731,978 | $93,173,130 | source |
| FY2015 | $44,815,210 | $45,437,942 | $12,758,461 | $4,966,559 | $4,175,751 | $4,283,816 | $6,408,388 | $2,331,550 | $18,733,954 | $7,260,060 | $25,994,014 | 58% | $9,841,356 | $7,864,080 | $6,292,114 | $7,549,213 | $0 | — | $4,777,882 | $47,664,688 | source |
| FY2014 | $40,310,724 | $39,486,396 | $9,928,619 | $3,881,393 | $6,474,299 | $3,450,712 | $5,755,363 | $2,175,510 | $14,006,414 | $7,737,707 | $21,744,121 | 54% | $8,952,404 | $6,273,305 | $5,649,371 | $7,259,050 | — | — | $4,635,655 | $50,174,970 | source |
| FY2013 | $42,024,887 | $42,664,044 | $9,084,251 | $3,381,222 | $2,661,203 | $3,812,821 | $4,297,420 | $3,509,897 | $18,331,757 | $7,782,707 | $26,114,464 | 62% | $7,383,758 | $5,878,014 | $5,394,887 | $8,535,532 | $0 | — | $1,589,655 | $6,394,194 | source |
| FY2012 | $36,652,492 | $36,395,207 | $9,108,384 | $3,131,437 | $2,453,144 | $4,934,030 | $4,010,280 | $456,991 | $16,936,151 | $4,407,707 | $21,343,858 | 58% | $6,994,534 | $6,531,809 | $5,247,765 | $5,064,431 | $0 | — | $1,842,722 | $7,483,638 | source |
| FY2011 | $34,614,033 | $33,450,817 | $7,806,911 | $2,585,286 | $2,858,792 | $3,386,042 | $3,248,050 | $1,494,196 | $15,779,750 | $4,362,707 | $20,142,457 | 58% | $6,474,311 | $6,117,996 | $4,543,116 | $5,523,281 | $68,746 | — | $1,800,244 | $10,540,000 | source |
| FY2010 | $33,034,483 | $33,034,483 | $8,163,706 | $2,653,116 | $3,609,544 | $3,464,093 | $3,172,831 | $1,202,644 | $12,691,796 | $4,728,620 | $17,420,416 | 53% | $6,149,858 | $5,424,224 | $4,232,744 | $6,077,478 | $278,202 | — | $1,802,456 | $11,755,000 | source |
| FY2009 | $31,341,925 | $31,341,925 | $7,338,429 | $2,087,012 | $3,300,362 | $1,794,287 | $2,212,800 | $893,282 | $15,334,786 | $4,551,623 | $19,886,409 | 63% | $5,506,651 | $4,991,191 | $4,589,145 | $6,276,703 | $964,294 | — | $1,801,519 | $12,910,000 | source |
| FY2008 | $30,988,450 | $30,988,450 | $7,140,031 | $2,267,823 | $3,183,601 | $2,208,200 | $2,733,299 | $778,919 | $13,148,040 | $4,399,705 | $17,547,745 | 57% | $5,366,507 | $4,964,884 | $4,348,058 | $6,813,235 | $0 | — | $1,797,431 | $14,005,000 | source |
| FY2007 | $19,777,339 | $28,602,628 | — | $0 | $2,931,544 | $1,979,543 | $3,289,521 | $712,420 | $2,308,000 | $4,244,432 | $6,552,432 | 33% | $4,752,736 | $4,897,036 | $3,814,529 | $5,790,209 | — | — | — | — | source |
| FY2006 | $15,700,572 | $26,029,167 | $5,991,124 | $0 | $2,860,179 | $1,560,081 | $2,017,122 | $524,524 | $2,381,665 | $3,822,190 | $6,203,855 | 40% | $4,499,733 | $4,421,627 | $3,822,989 | $6,040,463 | $0 | — | $1,798,456 | $16,025,000 | source |
| FY2005 | $22,648,933 | $22,677,457 | $7,008,100 | $1,597,823 | $1,678,441 | $1,316,042 | $1,774,082 | $396,854 | $8,900,000 | $3,537,318 | $12,437,318 | 55% | $4,257,556 | $3,875,294 | $3,481,959 | $2,214,875 | $200,000 | — | $1,799,081 | $16,960,000 | source |