Home › Schools › Big 12 › Brigham Young University

Brigham Young University

Conference (2026)
Big 12 (Joined Big 12 July 1, 2023)
Control
Private
IPEDS UNITID
230038
City
Provo, UT
City population
114,527 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
Metro area
Provo-Orem-Lehi, UT (Metropolitan): 773,426 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
TV market (DMA)
Salt Lake City, UT: rank #28, 1,163,520 TV homes (0.927% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank #27 (source)
Provo (Utah County) is in the Salt Lake City DMA
Endowment
not found
Not found: BYU does not appear in NACUBO FY2025 public list and no official current endowment figure was found. (Third-party estimates exist, e.g. pipelineroad.com ~$2B; not used.)
Annual giving
not available (no fundraising total found; nothing estimated)
Fundraising coordinated via Church Philanthropies; no annual total found

How to watch

Cheapest single package for every BYU Cougars game: ESPN Unlimited + Fox One bundle + HBO Max Standard, $58.48/mo ($292.40 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $122.44 for the full season, $112.90 from Oct. 1. 7 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).

Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan

Sponsors, apparel & naming

  • Apparel: Nike brand: secondary source · not disclosed
    Current deal value NOT FOUND in public reporting during this pass (private school, foundation-held contract, or not searched). [SP35]

Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming

Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.

EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)

Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.

This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 4 of 19 years.

$0$41M$83M$124M$166MFY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
EADA total revenueEADA total expensesEADA football revenue (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal revenueTotal expensesFootball revenueFootball expensesFB share of rev. (calc)Men's BB revenueMen's BB expensesWomen's BB revenueWomen's BB expensesAthletic student aidRecruitingAvg head coach salary, men's teamsFootball participantsUndergrad enrollmentSource
FY2025$153,351,328$136,864,784$51,715,899$44,561,03234%$28,047,261$17,030,052$1,566,760$5,082,856$9,391,965$3,225,491$967,35613530,147source
FY2024$129,891,998$115,666,650$44,481,260$35,188,11234%$18,404,876$11,700,684$1,030,198$4,767,966$6,934,362$2,232,580$894,25112129,261source
FY2023$106,430,702$106,430,702$46,931,978$35,308,69344%$16,602,330$10,685,023$1,024,236$3,761,449$6,552,354$1,653,285$1,111,07112428,254source
FY2022$95,146,585$79,763,543$39,779,868$23,785,32442%$8,568,291$7,992,831$844,358$2,364,649$6,706,612$740,321$593,36612328,282source
FY2021$64,683,976$64,683,976$25,578,675$18,902,52740%$3,651,391$5,642,195$7,679,370$1,699,483$6,553,551$411,576$599,54512330,039source
FY2020$75,233,084$74,141,761$25,089,124$18,851,35033%$6,176,888$7,766,836$515,816$2,183,582$6,284,134$1,165,169$359,63012328,288source
FY2019$72,622,845$72,622,845$23,171,603$21,180,68032%$7,447,430$7,447,430$2,168,100$2,168,100$6,313,495$1,064,510$410,21612528,253source
FY2018$79,644,919$69,057,586$28,209,221$19,435,22935%$7,702,314$7,468,917$550,769$2,143,559$6,078,287$1,161,266$435,75912928,156source
FY2017$67,733,712$62,616,492$26,116,548$19,253,08839%$8,986,993$6,999,780$1,986,133$1,986,133$5,784,998$1,324,585$414,70112828,012source
FY2016$62,563,279$54,429,683$25,469,619$16,627,70341%$6,283,414$6,081,807$1,836,956$1,836,956$5,211,758$985,683$420,13213427,339source
FY2015$59,032,406$54,418,408$19,902,453$14,634,36434%$6,344,666$6,344,666$2,074,989$2,074,989$4,750,381$951,566$394,90912824,499source
FY2014$60,124,096$53,524,295$22,212,731$15,235,83437%$6,341,173$6,341,173$1,672,297$1,672,297$4,340,476$936,281$391,21011325,084source
FY2013$54,644,578$49,517,787$18,639,413$14,428,93034%$5,352,790$5,352,790$1,584,345$1,584,344$4,432,122$793,659$281,31212528,338source
FY2012$53,033,500$48,334,730$22,406,413$14,991,53842%$5,933,208$5,760,849$972,880$1,660,620$4,411,133$748,568$310,15812428,005source
FY2011$45,465,068$40,808,849$15,664,108$10,764,81434%$4,843,476$4,926,689$953,477$1,535,749$4,098,778$655,326$232,35712627,852source
FY2010$40,999,979$35,450,765$15,763,650$10,312,23238%$3,882,784$3,589,444$736,803$1,175,757$3,988,808$699,220$209,54212428,048source
FY2009$35,628,193$35,628,193$12,520,065$10,168,25235%$3,316,803$3,240,288$869,038$1,280,527$3,878,848$716,259$239,98712327,986source
FY2008$36,695,623$33,350,374$11,189,381$9,419,57030%$3,500,907$3,183,553$643,896$1,170,601$3,902,533$573,586$188,00112127,844source
FY2007$32,100,899$31,211,519$10,142,975$9,140,94332%$3,160,892$2,929,028$727,513$1,240,998$3,709,115$579,873$135,79612527,465source

Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)

NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.

Not covered: Knight-Newhouse includes public schools only.

Form 990 compensation (private school)

No Form 990 found for this university.

NOT FOUND: no Form 990 on file for Brigham Young University (EIN 87-0217280) in ProPublica (API returns zero filings). The only 990 filer named "Brigham Young University" (EIN 82-5527047) is Brigham Young University Alumni LLC (sole member BYU; ~$632K revenue TY2023), not the university. BYU is owned/operated by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Reputable reporting (CBS Sports, 2025-12-04, anonymous "multiple sources") put Kalani Sitake salary at ~$4M/yr before his Dec 2025 extension; that is an estimate, not a filed figure. source