Auburn University
- Conference (2026)
- SEC
- Control
- Public
- IPEDS UNITID
- 100858
- City
- Auburn, AL
- City population
- 85,113 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
- Metro area
- Auburn-Opelika, AL (Metropolitan): 208,013 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
- TV market (DMA)
- Columbus, GA-Opelika, AL: rank #127, 234,450 TV homes (0.187% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank #126 (source)
- Endowment
- $1.31B (FY2025) · scope: Auburn University and Foundation (combined) · system or combined figure · source
- Annual giving
- $237.0M (FY2025) · contributions ("more than $237 million", 56,513 gifts) · source
How to watch
Cheapest single package for every Auburn Tigers game: ESPN Unlimited, $31.99/mo ($159.95 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $63.89 for the full season, $46.92 from Oct. 1. 6 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).
Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan
Sponsors, apparel & naming
- Apparel: Nike brand: secondary source · not disclosed
- Multimedia rights: Playfly Sports · not disclosed · through 2034-3510-yr extension through 2034-35 incl. Playfly Max NIL platform; terms not disclosed. [SP29]
Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming
Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.
EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)
Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.
This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 2 of 19 years.
| Fiscal year | Total revenue | Total expenses | Football revenue | Football expenses | FB share of rev. (calc) | Men's BB revenue | Men's BB expenses | Women's BB revenue | Women's BB expenses | Athletic student aid | Recruiting | Avg head coach salary, men's teams | Football participants | Undergrad enrollment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $205,275,913 | $195,930,163 | $121,408,732 | $58,724,402 | 59% | $26,568,984 | $20,535,097 | $847,898 | $5,812,213 | $18,831,651 | $4,409,793 | $2,354,276 | 121 | 25,177 | source |
| FY2024 | $193,417,486 | $182,486,390 | $120,416,776 | $60,089,633 | 62% | $21,061,204 | $15,761,324 | $767,970 | $5,864,527 | $17,939,582 | $3,049,127 | $2,106,323 | 120 | 24,096 | source |
| FY2023 | $192,658,903 | $183,653,846 | $125,647,858 | $71,635,159 | 65% | $19,199,986 | $14,997,002 | $745,629 | $5,261,713 | $18,923,338 | $3,368,302 | $1,961,010 | 115 | 22,946 | source |
| FY2022 | $174,568,438 | $146,645,900 | $106,726,055 | $52,254,828 | 61% | $17,007,845 | $13,813,577 | $493,095 | $5,155,528 | $16,955,480 | $2,706,624 | $1,696,707 | 116 | 22,674 | source |
| FY2021 | $128,356,495 | $128,356,495 | $51,651,237 | $51,651,237 | 40% | $9,917,360 | $9,917,360 | $4,160,913 | $4,160,913 | $16,236,572 | $284,011 | $1,534,802 | 128 | 22,408 | source |
| FY2020 | $153,703,749 | $129,590,367 | $97,665,511 | $45,953,519 | 64% | $12,258,411 | $11,775,810 | $241,272 | $4,284,371 | $17,389,781 | $1,685,730 | $1,663,371 | 122 | 22,364 | source |
| FY2019 | $152,455,418 | $132,614,089 | $95,157,216 | $47,846,261 | 62% | $15,593,947 | $10,536,653 | $538,944 | $4,536,994 | $16,159,695 | $2,159,056 | $1,884,431 | 122 | 22,236 | source |
| FY2018 | $147,620,572 | $132,354,047 | $93,562,715 | $43,605,320 | 63% | $11,214,964 | $9,446,382 | $264,856 | $4,362,024 | $16,577,846 | $2,036,480 | $1,360,838 | 110 | 21,432 | source |
| FY2017 | $147,413,201 | $125,832,608 | $91,652,926 | $42,825,220 | 62% | $9,900,612 | $9,632,816 | $280,354 | $4,354,732 | $15,656,581 | $2,192,816 | $1,348,294 | 120 | 20,260 | source |
| FY2016 | $140,070,592 | $118,211,964 | $92,537,433 | $41,896,336 | 66% | $11,662,504 | $8,821,985 | $292,645 | $3,959,159 | $15,237,034 | $2,231,786 | $1,331,837 | 121 | 19,625 | source |
| FY2015 | $126,647,970 | $111,150,609 | $86,742,256 | $40,077,352 | 68% | $11,185,840 | $8,818,072 | $175,233 | $3,829,066 | $14,608,927 | $2,391,032 | $1,174,847 | 122 | 18,746 | source |
| FY2014 | $120,699,075 | $120,699,075 | $49,639,256 | $49,639,256 | 41% | $10,245,526 | $10,245,526 | $4,791,945 | $4,791,945 | $11,795,778 | $2,706,621 | $1,168,445 | 123 | 17,978 | source |
| FY2013 | $102,864,769 | $97,421,222 | $75,092,576 | $36,306,282 | 73% | $9,482,254 | $8,016,340 | $93,886 | $4,663,192 | $10,289,724 | $2,787,546 | $901,590 | 121 | 18,449 | source |
| FY2012 | $105,951,256 | $96,315,836 | $77,170,242 | $33,334,595 | 73% | $9,493,646 | $7,588,390 | $327,012 | $4,656,355 | $9,938,874 | $2,544,034 | $943,899 | 122 | 18,627 | source |
| FY2011 | $103,982,441 | $100,497,784 | $76,227,804 | $39,069,676 | 73% | $9,507,157 | $7,617,011 | $600,768 | $4,279,158 | $9,619,712 | $2,117,645 | $1,118,303 | 120 | 18,727 | source |
| FY2010 | $92,594,273 | $90,891,616 | $66,162,720 | $27,911,713 | 71% | $9,588,191 | $7,234,287 | $64,225 | $3,220,098 | $8,583,459 | $1,671,580 | $665,637 | 121 | 18,385 | source |
| FY2009 | $87,001,416 | $85,480,335 | $58,618,819 | $28,801,868 | 67% | $7,187,457 | $4,518,963 | $334,554 | $3,096,058 | $7,333,482 | $1,584,986 | $662,307 | 125 | 18,377 | source |
| FY2008 | $89,305,326 | $69,834,697 | $59,671,354 | $23,171,402 | 67% | $7,429,278 | $4,552,993 | $39,391 | $2,750,116 | $6,973,390 | $1,444,997 | $645,125 | 120 | 18,146 | source |
| FY2007 | $81,696,758 | $68,907,966 | $56,830,516 | $22,950,759 | 70% | $5,349,714 | $4,402,168 | $40,132 | $2,465,558 | $6,442,308 | $1,374,917 | $620,824 | 117 | 18,896 | source |
Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)
NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.
| Fiscal year | Total athletic revenues | Total athletic expenses | Football spending | Football coaching salaries | Conf./NCAA/media/postseason | Ticket sales | Donor contributions | Sponsorship/licensing | Inst./govt support | Student fees | Subsidy (calc) | Subsidy share (calc) | Coaches comp. | Non-coaching staff comp. | Scholarships/aid | Facilities/debt/equip. | Coaching severance | Inst. NIL rev. share | Annual debt service | Athletics debt outstanding | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $205,928,767 | $203,847,233 | $59,371,873 | $15,279,635 | $70,544,455 | $35,140,207 | $59,660,872 | $9,667,454 | $5,023,187 | $7,318,752 | $12,341,939 | 6% | $38,314,335 | $38,845,988 | $25,198,527 | $43,258,548 | $4,342,508 | $0 | $12,747,324 | $147,010,047 | source |
| FY2024 | $194,360,814 | $191,558,771 | $60,851,540 | $15,390,075 | $65,667,378 | $35,526,876 | $47,555,143 | $8,370,685 | $10,953,679 | $7,067,601 | $18,021,280 | 9% | $35,932,455 | $37,018,439 | $18,092,118 | $41,798,008 | $10,895,693 | — | $13,386,822 | $154,310,768 | source |
| FY2023 | $195,301,922 | $192,030,692 | $71,107,903 | $14,327,648 | $62,382,218 | $32,376,895 | $41,988,978 | $9,253,662 | $27,875,736 | $6,983,423 | $34,859,159 | 18% | $32,458,716 | $32,900,040 | $19,107,399 | $43,269,032 | $19,888,025 | — | $13,608,874 | $159,705,459 | source |
| FY2022 | $174,568,442 | $151,590,763 | $52,254,829 | $12,663,575 | $67,749,979 | $34,140,396 | $36,372,783 | $11,100,482 | $9,157,809 | $6,403,602 | $15,561,411 | 9% | $27,717,457 | $25,396,250 | $17,038,195 | $33,866,857 | $8,237,638 | — | $11,048,300 | $164,871,604 | source |
| FY2021 | $123,546,999 | $133,289,885 | $51,651,240 | $15,510,210 | $79,878,922 | $3,718,186 | $16,225,555 | $4,666,566 | $3,106,867 | $5,406,227 | $8,513,094 | 7% | $29,537,173 | $24,559,777 | $16,437,870 | $29,225,731 | $16,661,648 | — | $8,734,109 | $78,066,088 | source |
| FY2020 | $153,703,749 | $135,816,431 | $45,953,518 | $14,673,550 | $56,475,222 | $33,820,864 | $33,519,272 | $9,658,649 | $751,984 | $5,913,708 | $6,665,692 | 4% | $29,178,886 | $25,803,270 | $17,520,682 | $31,298,623 | $734,877 | — | $12,255,881 | $82,244,366 | source |
| FY2019 | $152,455,416 | $139,260,711 | $47,846,261 | $15,129,979 | $55,192,075 | $31,925,504 | $35,280,374 | $9,667,679 | $0 | $5,261,252 | $5,261,252 | 3% | $28,118,468 | $25,797,084 | $16,297,822 | $30,341,734 | $284,873 | — | $11,070,124 | $87,325,197 | source |
| FY2018 | $147,620,569 | $139,798,191 | $44,380,720 | $14,947,760 | $53,628,066 | $33,213,941 | $35,683,958 | $9,630,402 | $0 | $5,263,319 | $5,263,319 | 4% | $27,013,672 | $26,746,067 | $16,998,307 | $30,525,669 | $2,932,576 | — | $11,065,498 | $91,755,369 | source |
| FY2017 | $147,511,034 | $132,885,979 | $42,868,770 | $12,216,821 | $56,197,645 | $32,991,096 | $35,411,244 | $8,824,420 | $0 | $3,633,521 | $3,633,521 | 2% | $23,620,156 | $25,377,218 | $15,892,927 | $31,531,608 | $2,563,978 | — | $11,064,105 | $96,161,153 | source |
| FY2016 | $140,070,593 | $124,864,399 | $41,896,340 | $11,843,789 | $47,411,352 | $32,165,386 | $35,720,710 | $6,196,360 | $438,321 | $5,000,051 | $5,438,372 | 4% | $22,553,348 | $23,077,255 | $15,559,381 | $26,955,002 | $3,326,578 | — | $11,166,113 | $95,854,212 | source |
| FY2015 | $124,657,247 | $115,498,047 | $39,577,350 | $11,215,470 | $38,313,963 | $30,181,317 | $37,004,887 | $6,062,826 | $0 | $4,293,893 | $4,293,893 | 3% | $21,120,891 | $21,249,298 | $14,945,396 | $23,976,880 | $4,652,158 | — | $10,881,428 | $100,185,273 | source |
| FY2014 | $113,716,004 | $126,470,602 | $49,639,258 | $10,470,552 | $29,768,173 | $29,833,441 | $39,409,078 | $5,275,554 | $0 | $4,384,800 | $4,384,800 | 4% | $20,371,279 | $19,911,702 | $12,004,603 | $30,863,140 | $4,846,662 | — | $10,880,487 | $109,408,700 | source |
| FY2013 | $103,680,609 | $103,126,413 | $36,306,282 | $8,635,501 | $27,111,863 | $28,494,559 | $31,832,026 | $5,217,605 | $0 | $4,315,584 | $4,315,584 | 4% | $16,899,520 | $17,788,400 | $10,405,906 | $25,064,326 | $2,672,664 | — | $9,973,080 | $108,778,201 | source |
| FY2012 | $105,951,251 | $96,315,831 | $0 | $0 | $27,177,108 | $29,241,252 | $33,467,775 | $6,886,435 | $0 | $4,216,608 | $4,216,608 | 4% | $17,670,721 | $15,879,845 | $9,989,376 | $25,397,819 | $325,000 | — | $8,929,601 | $79,199,650 | source |
| FY2011 | $103,982,441 | $100,497,784 | $39,069,675 | $11,362,515 | $27,280,293 | $28,976,730 | $32,849,477 | $5,154,986 | $0 | $4,307,040 | $4,307,040 | 4% | $19,795,958 | $14,536,962 | $9,733,611 | $26,684,851 | $0 | — | $10,086,000 | $106,073,955 | source |
| FY2010 | $92,611,558 | $90,908,902 | $27,911,717 | $6,526,340 | $24,283,643 | $24,732,134 | $29,731,122 | $3,188,793 | $0 | $5,261,604 | $5,261,604 | 6% | $13,928,324 | $13,145,766 | $8,797,738 | $24,620,038 | $1,822,300 | — | $11,434,357 | $109,977,105 | source |
| FY2009 | $87,001,413 | $85,480,343 | $28,801,870 | $5,421,906 | $17,548,051 | $23,514,179 | $32,080,789 | $3,396,585 | $0 | $5,228,989 | $5,228,989 | 6% | $11,930,855 | $11,532,601 | $7,554,922 | $23,708,801 | $6,494,472 | — | $9,555,329 | $115,759,125 | source |
| FY2008 | $89,311,824 | $69,841,200 | $23,177,807 | $5,633,433 | $16,896,757 | $21,991,623 | $34,897,688 | $6,079,271 | $0 | $5,195,136 | $5,195,136 | 6% | $11,330,594 | $10,808,408 | $7,141,616 | $18,893,353 | $325,000 | — | $7,256,759 | $54,029,086 | source |
| FY2007 | $81,799,266 | $68,910,465 | $22,953,259 | $5,447,556 | $16,118,134 | $21,796,102 | $31,715,011 | $977,585 | $0 | $4,948,204 | $4,948,204 | 6% | $10,905,708 | $10,203,508 | $6,594,450 | $18,251,599 | $0 | — | $7,117,222 | $58,846,526 | source |
| FY2006 | $66,599,925 | $63,249,119 | $18,197,817 | $5,150,724 | $13,279,251 | $20,099,721 | $26,306,262 | $1,110,444 | $0 | $922,248 | $922,248 | 1% | $10,270,828 | $8,375,911 | $6,614,949 | $17,828,429 | $0 | — | $7,077,817 | $61,524,429 | source |
| FY2005 | $57,395,152 | $61,314,114 | $20,171,530 | $4,943,375 | $13,671,177 | $15,842,982 | $22,865,880 | $888,953 | $0 | $982,349 | $982,349 | 2% | $9,698,471 | $8,964,665 | $6,124,949 | $18,277,064 | $351,000 | — | $6,481,219 | $65,091,371 | source |