Home › Schools › Big 12 › Arizona State University

Arizona State University

Conference (2026)
Big 12 (Joined Big 12 Aug 2, 2024 (from Pac-12))
Control
Public
IPEDS UNITID
104151
City
Tempe, AZ
City population
190,571 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
Metro area
Phoenix-Mesa-Chandler, AZ (Metropolitan): 5,228,938 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
TV market (DMA)
Phoenix (Prescott), AZ: rank #12, 2,198,200 TV homes (1.752% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank #12 (source)
Endowment
$1.76B (FY2025) · scope: Arizona State University (foundation, IRF) · source
Annual giving
$630.8M (FY2025) · new gifts and commitments, ASU Foundation (record) · source

How to watch

Cheapest single package for every Arizona State Sun Devils game: ESPN Unlimited + Fox One bundle + HBO Max Standard, $58.48/mo ($292.40 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $142.43 for the full season, $112.90 from Oct. 1. 7 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).

Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan

Sponsors, apparel & naming

  • Apparel: Adidas brand: secondary source · not disclosed
    Current deal value NOT FOUND in public reporting during this pass (private school, foundation-held contract, or not searched). [SP35]

Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming

Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.

EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)

Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.

This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 11 of 19 years.

$0$40M$81M$121M$161MFY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
EADA total revenueEADA total expensesEADA football revenue (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal revenueTotal expensesFootball revenueFootball expensesFB share of rev. (calc)Men's BB revenueMen's BB expensesWomen's BB revenueWomen's BB expensesAthletic student aidRecruitingAvg head coach salary, men's teamsFootball participantsUndergrad enrollmentSource
FY2025$149,346,605$149,346,605$50,352,139$50,352,13934%$10,063,114$10,063,114$6,733,622$6,733,622$19,572,580$2,513,287$1,426,85012360,277source
FY2024$126,892,086$126,892,086$40,162,578$40,162,57832%$9,127,982$9,127,982$4,409,177$4,409,177$16,927,522$2,936,432$1,103,91212559,551source
FY2023$128,265,591$128,265,591$50,870,945$43,280,98440%$10,057,620$9,009,832$4,391,507$4,391,507$16,309,904$1,836,485$972,79912259,765source
FY2022$107,133,368$107,133,368$55,202,023$31,642,56452%$9,458,824$8,969,411$4,647,905$4,647,905$16,782,290$1,269,015$1,090,61211058,993source
FY2021$102,558,046$88,655,232$24,420,556$22,153,27024%$6,505,245$6,505,245$3,343,507$3,343,507$16,549,463$380,466$1,025,53012057,410source
FY2020$101,855,268$101,855,268$49,676,376$32,000,57249%$9,776,983$8,244,857$711,301$3,905,463$16,011,177$1,342,097$864,10512640,958source
FY2019$101,836,361$98,541,911$39,007,842$26,245,54438%$10,609,465$8,349,598$938,604$3,995,174$14,912,756$1,617,133$725,20011739,205source
FY2018$122,327,384$122,327,384$47,463,786$50,151,44339%$8,622,647$7,972,900$890,343$4,044,625$13,325,553$1,543,683$1,239,37212538,634source
FY2017$98,972,378$96,217,912$43,012,682$31,371,36343%$7,693,224$6,581,872$797,215$3,724,553$12,973,531$1,482,432$757,56612138,761source
FY2016$92,146,148$86,570,189$42,892,151$26,601,76747%$7,223,131$6,199,000$702,603$3,537,229$12,883,130$1,201,961$842,43112537,753source
FY2015$83,706,393$83,139,866$49,016,140$28,083,38459%$9,095,360$10,057,921$555,293$3,567,565$10,247,293$1,174,263$1,346,10012135,770source
FY2014$72,775,808$72,599,644$48,982,647$27,124,19967%$7,679,732$7,170,588$515,002$3,353,085$11,721,515$1,121,109$919,71711634,852source
FY2013$63,770,785$63,697,017$39,210,883$23,509,31161%$7,684,922$6,264,174$731,671$3,264,053$11,204,962$1,172,091$785,93211249,870source
FY2012$63,750,557$63,750,557$34,859,343$23,994,49555%$7,355,143$5,950,806$1,052,371$3,556,656$10,501,535$1,075,065$648,00012350,394source
FY2011$55,378,783$55,378,783$27,842,879$16,564,59850%$8,530,479$6,220,193$1,740,622$4,550,041$9,654,947$723,111$542,95411946,894source
FY2010$57,059,932$57,059,932$29,587,236$17,977,98752%$8,591,421$5,527,849$1,435,907$3,585,180$9,336,623$796,769$547,53411545,490source
FY2009$53,297,963$53,297,963$29,857,334$17,211,21856%$6,668,542$4,349,834$320,282$2,326,447$8,440,344$676,453$571,77111543,026source
FY2008$53,479,441$52,904,827$29,473,997$18,426,27555%$5,844,941$4,280,518$418,822$2,311,783$8,622,292$758,146$498,73512929,747source
FY2007$53,473,276$53,473,276$23,519,742$18,629,48644%$5,368,916$4,132,636$401,725$2,342,040$8,084,474$751,269$425,53012032,722source

Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)

NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.

$0$45M$90M$135M$179MFY05FY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
KN total athletic revenuesKN total athletic expensesKN subsidy (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal athletic revenuesTotal athletic expensesFootball spendingFootball coaching salariesConf./NCAA/media/postseasonTicket salesDonor contributionsSponsorship/licensingInst./govt supportStudent feesSubsidy (calc)Subsidy share (calc)Coaches comp.Non-coaching staff comp.Scholarships/aidFacilities/debt/equip.Coaching severanceInst. NIL rev. shareAnnual debt serviceAthletics debt outstandingSource
FY2025$166,137,649$164,713,777$56,926,799$16,809,337$44,437,396$17,281,766$22,780,899$20,425,234$47,961,924$11,765,132$59,727,05635%$34,798,946$26,966,350$25,149,115$26,545,357$3,875,472$0$22,180,090$295,152,900source
FY2024$144,096,948$144,096,948$48,584,987$10,710,636$29,661,306$17,169,293$20,648,772$19,155,048$40,043,483$11,700,252$51,743,73536%$28,149,909$23,522,279$17,912,352$27,284,978$3,806,252—$22,224,000$304,025,600source
FY2023$114,507,872$141,717,696$47,449,451$10,076,610$34,442,044$13,600,838$19,371,914$20,206,152$9,258,781$11,840,391$21,099,17218%$24,534,902$23,564,596$17,548,799$29,347,177$7,638,506—$16,557,000$312,890,623source
FY2022$121,079,615$124,008,192$39,264,216$9,306,528$40,164,060$14,144,182$20,475,970$21,618,331$7,591,351$11,661,761$19,253,11216%$24,802,737$23,296,020$17,101,566$29,507,344$362,648—$15,431,000$318,762,000source
FY2021$117,675,310$103,772,499$26,093,543$8,899,443$21,484,281$342,176$7,940,129$17,802,019$57,869,086$11,301,712$69,170,79859%$22,357,899$21,438,876$17,350,884$28,390,717$501,313—$11,620,000$245,181,000source
FY2020$106,989,879$117,912,821$40,701,748$8,317,089$35,382,081$13,763,930$15,092,858$20,252,086$5,744,006$11,375,799$17,119,80516%$21,578,487$21,605,192$16,831,956$30,484,450$1,315,594—$11,623,000$205,406,000source
FY2019$121,698,840$118,404,377$31,977,970$7,072,896$35,028,359$12,872,569$30,588,642$18,959,051$8,398,905$10,957,229$19,356,13416%$19,920,882$20,545,569$16,576,282$35,353,166$120,599—$12,348,000$207,171,000source
FY2018$113,636,755$126,782,387$52,816,903$8,586,651$33,127,207$12,401,920$24,994,817$18,070,949$9,756,971$10,854,768$20,611,73918%$20,838,455$19,287,625$15,708,959$32,377,384$12,861,526—$12,549,000$209,565,000source
FY2017$101,579,860$98,825,395$31,724,820$8,332,187$31,855,182$10,033,481$19,802,494$16,611,557$8,060,927$10,805,444$18,866,37119%$19,134,263$17,058,673$14,775,932$25,686,286$352,457—$12,129,000$211,774,000source
FY2016$94,662,743$89,086,777$27,084,029$7,513,685$28,454,126$11,899,256$16,660,713$13,656,265$7,000,319$10,576,696$17,577,01519%$17,067,549$15,174,222$13,913,627$19,728,335$328,171—$9,726,000$150,359,000source
FY2015$84,440,040$83,873,516$27,569,960$8,328,373$25,298,010$11,042,051$14,770,823$10,279,135$9,421,830$9,957,302$19,379,13223%$17,775,568$12,506,364$11,344,540$14,915,036$2,741,105—$5,020,000$83,075,000source
FY2014$74,729,269$74,553,104$27,869,848$7,588,278$22,958,453$12,885,134$13,499,765$10,148,054$10,073,205$0$10,073,20513%$16,713,127$10,514,913$12,701,825$11,223,452$0—$3,741,000$29,930,000source
FY2013$65,673,955$65,600,187$23,582,003$5,915,554$20,241,809$9,589,992$12,737,532$9,028,905$10,120,409$0$10,120,40915%$13,608,615$8,700,444$12,136,090$10,317,155$0—$3,740,000$32,305,000source
FY2012$59,855,508$65,587,903$24,541,562$4,531,989$12,899,470$9,059,072$11,265,732$11,167,339$10,343,841$0$10,343,84117%$11,717,658$8,476,877$11,168,165$11,312,059$3,631,420—$4,844,000$29,734,000source
FY2011$55,294,113$57,080,884$16,608,509$3,607,121$8,910,646$8,103,692$11,982,854$10,816,783$10,660,952$0$10,660,95219%$10,699,714$7,864,633$10,362,086$11,326,142$0—$4,842,000$32,994,000source
FY2010$56,505,165$57,905,546$18,084,699$3,764,934$9,269,450$12,039,166$10,095,247$10,447,662$10,349,536$0$10,349,53618%$10,641,906$8,035,162$9,886,143$10,301,776$560,467—$4,849,000$36,133,000source
FY2009$51,892,026$53,032,149$17,278,227$3,626,896$9,560,769$13,418,157$10,989,254$4,626,539$8,416,921$0$8,416,92116%$10,132,711$6,960,310$9,296,638$7,979,160$56,614—$2,077,000$35,462,000source
FY2008$54,833,194$54,296,003$18,515,792$3,900,762$9,545,572$13,341,701$12,146,808$4,072,559$11,678,755$0$11,678,75521%$10,213,939$7,891,052$9,310,610$7,144,936$0—$2,200,000$43,956,430source
FY2007$54,735,433$54,832,410$18,702,358$0$8,520,259$8,811,409$11,823,287$4,084,468$16,852,246$0$16,852,24631%$9,079,318$6,550,544$9,057,244$7,713,067$3,373,259———source
FY2006$50,268,561$48,897,603$14,631,191$2,721,364$8,238,025$10,254,504$11,791,138$3,860,104$11,539,986$0$11,539,98623%$7,884,260$6,911,434$7,859,854$7,710,740$800,733—$3,100,000$35,600,000source
FY2005$41,334,126$39,749,018$10,584,738$2,428,340$8,202,006$7,179,440$8,580,779$3,403,024$10,195,482$0$10,195,48225%$7,146,830$6,037,246$7,110,620$5,417,528$0—$1,858,974$35,000,000source
Data credit: Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database, a joint project of the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics and the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, Syracuse University.