Home › Schools › SEC › University of Alabama

University of Alabama

Conference (2026)
SEC
Control
Public
IPEDS UNITID
100751
City
Tuscaloosa, AL
City population
114,316 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
Metro area
Tuscaloosa, AL (Metropolitan): 281,850 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
TV market (DMA)
Birmingham (Anniston & Tuscaloosa), AL: rank #45, 771,860 TV homes (0.615% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank #46 (source)
Endowment
$2.59B (FY2025) · scope: Board of Trustees of The University of Alabama (Tuscaloosa entry in NACUBO) · source
Annual giving
$261.0M (FY2024) · total gifts (latest found; FY2025 total not found) · source
FY2025 university-wide total not found. Rising Tide 2.0 campaign passed $1.8B goal June 2025.

How to watch

Cheapest single package for every Alabama Crimson Tide game: ESPN Unlimited, $31.99/mo ($159.95 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $45.92 for the full season, $35.94 from Oct. 1. 5 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).

Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan

Sponsors, apparel & naming

  • Apparel: Nike brand: secondary source · $63M · 2013 deal to 2025; extension undisclosed
    2013 Nike deal: $63M cash+apparel (+$5M signing bonus) through June 2025. Alabama "quietly extended" a few years ago; new terms kept private via Crimson Tide Foundation. [SP35] [SP54] [SP34]

Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming

Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.

EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)

Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.

This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 3 of 19 years.

$0$66M$132M$198M$264MFY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
EADA total revenueEADA total expensesEADA football revenue (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal revenueTotal expensesFootball revenueFootball expensesFB share of rev. (calc)Men's BB revenueMen's BB expensesWomen's BB revenueWomen's BB expensesAthletic student aidRecruitingAvg head coach salary, men's teamsFootball participantsUndergrad enrollmentSource
FY2025$244,551,544$229,908,712$146,325,227$81,502,19160%$24,406,961$15,230,030$5,433,584$5,433,584$17,188,945$6,162,081$1,371,01313230,973source
FY2024$243,096,720$243,096,720$138,657,460$112,230,11857%$21,283,486$15,327,458$5,501,364$5,501,364$15,912,938$7,096,598$2,459,30414229,956source
FY2023$191,190,486$191,190,486$125,753,240$79,785,47066%$20,592,916$12,834,918$4,803,959$4,803,959$15,791,766$4,008,852$2,389,47713528,886source
FY2022$193,168,171$174,715,501$127,603,129$75,005,97166%$19,047,972$10,900,723$1,016,698$4,210,790$17,321,678$3,824,089$2,141,10713628,074source
FY2021$157,062,672$147,454,823$61,400,246$55,366,33839%$13,721,815$8,387,815$3,825,860$3,825,860$17,170,342$734,399$2,064,09213327,723source
FY2020$189,242,298$149,767,295$110,110,211$58,508,85358%$14,722,223$9,429,628$1,008,558$3,805,848$15,916,073$3,396,573$1,811,30313529,014source
FY2019$166,812,799$166,812,799$94,604,899$69,718,05957%$16,028,795$15,966,875$1,046,269$3,857,300$16,607,151$4,026,525$1,942,65213329,488source
FY2018$181,470,156$149,583,715$111,102,134$62,944,47261%$15,298,808$10,276,123$998,402$3,737,069$15,397,566$3,310,990$1,705,74113829,822source
FY2017$174,305,613$143,634,940$108,117,057$62,252,38962%$15,003,656$9,681,264$1,013,741$4,042,959$15,887,597$2,669,782$2,235,29613529,071source
FY2016$164,005,589$130,301,605$103,870,999$56,214,37663%$14,446,339$8,577,428$987,004$3,550,880$13,917,082$2,748,184$1,624,17213528,447source
FY2015$150,620,199$120,528,937$97,023,963$51,044,29264%$12,780,576$7,164,296$1,109,795$3,237,826$12,486,665$2,174,756$1,502,70813027,331source
FY2014$152,588,651$115,390,076$94,990,345$41,720,62962%$14,800,313$6,573,147$841,837$3,105,550$11,709,114$2,193,655$1,276,10113026,247source
FY2013$143,393,059$109,071,197$88,660,439$41,558,05862%$12,185,695$6,354,140$1,087,239$3,193,257$11,144,649$1,785,253$1,251,29114025,109source
FY2012$124,129,127$98,280,539$81,993,762$36,918,96366%$11,770,736$6,161,728$491,043$2,898,270$10,469,925$1,784,604$1,170,89313823,592source
FY2011$123,910,432$92,225,560$76,801,800$31,580,05962%$11,016,184$6,819,080$475,314$2,670,534$9,790,218$1,694,202$1,054,83013822,587source
FY2010$129,300,689$85,303,354$71,884,525$31,118,13456%$10,766,327$6,410,262$449,443$2,729,300$9,291,520$1,690,078$1,082,41614321,552source
FY2009$103,934,873$81,781,272$64,606,392$26,443,95562%$8,766,826$4,989,815$286,233$2,610,835$8,815,284$1,345,571$888,37411420,397source
FY2008$88,869,810$74,907,732$57,370,617$16,154,79365%$7,141,069$3,568,271$111,685$2,024,717$6,802,479$1,017,252$770,11213019,238source
FY2007$81,946,464$71,463,235$53,182,806$21,340,59365%$6,854,107$4,141,759$65,217$1,875,831$5,123,229$850,032$662,54112917,784source

Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)

NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.

$0$72M$144M$217M$289MFY05FY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
KN total athletic revenuesKN total athletic expensesKN subsidy (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal athletic revenuesTotal athletic expensesFootball spendingFootball coaching salariesConf./NCAA/media/postseasonTicket salesDonor contributionsSponsorship/licensingInst./govt supportStudent feesSubsidy (calc)Subsidy share (calc)Coaches comp.Non-coaching staff comp.Scholarships/aidFacilities/debt/equip.Coaching severanceInst. NIL rev. shareAnnual debt serviceAthletics debt outstandingSource
FY2025$267,435,520$234,739,406$82,859,480$25,209,845$80,066,615$49,107,903$67,428,250$17,233,822$29,988,389$0$29,988,38911%$44,103,588$44,306,483$27,387,926$53,919,542$0$0$27,346,106$265,545,396source
FY2024$234,825,632$262,789,471$113,835,360$49,278,632$77,562,527$42,964,525$76,080,563$16,498,912$2,644,611$0$2,644,6111%$67,202,625$41,512,838$17,468,453$57,989,800$69,911—$23,701,581$249,340,702source
FY2023$199,913,763$212,030,188$83,333,815$22,769,032$72,753,268$41,845,780$49,694,074$16,211,860$2,564,267$0$2,564,2671%$38,802,810$38,458,231$17,214,806$49,442,552$998,286—$20,806,772$226,784,979source
FY2022$214,365,357$195,881,911$78,521,050$22,576,651$75,614,337$44,211,016$53,113,300$15,160,050$11,378,871$0$11,378,8715%$37,062,029$34,278,979$18,952,318$42,823,378$612,003—$21,667,267$238,292,542source
FY2021$179,800,409$170,191,728$59,515,883$23,115,254$98,046,643$7,406,322$35,640,206$14,064,127$14,683,622$0$14,683,6228%$36,509,164$31,289,252$18,482,838$42,620,876$993,680—$21,905,524$246,287,867source
FY2020$189,282,549$173,141,125$58,508,851$19,752,703$63,986,703$39,360,461$20,213,208$13,020,960$4,567,979$0$4,567,9792%$31,908,828$32,183,991$17,365,698$40,068,942$850,044—$23,389,023$257,908,905source
FY2019$164,090,889$185,317,681$69,718,057$20,006,173$67,312,165$39,121,024$7,080,674$13,760,173$2,654,551$0$2,654,5512%$33,186,394$32,100,571$18,195,058$36,842,458$6,750,884—$18,557,268$218,836,572source
FY2018$177,481,937$166,533,013$62,944,471$15,299,757$63,316,330$38,243,997$30,213,518$13,028,564$2,627,707$0$2,627,7071%$27,979,991$29,501,703$16,741,760$37,408,509$844,883—$19,129,477$235,069,587source
FY2017$174,307,419$158,646,962$62,252,391$18,943,029$61,718,210$37,642,667$33,011,723$12,005,546$2,938,948$0$2,938,9482%$30,643,832$27,582,614$17,304,466$32,854,906$682,301—$14,954,536$212,688,989source
FY2016$164,009,745$145,277,366$56,214,375$14,019,693$59,515,443$40,118,302$29,651,491$11,997,146$2,462,289$0$2,462,2892%$24,998,474$24,628,811$15,546,729$30,285,093$733,634—$15,578,475$220,214,715source
FY2015$148,911,674$132,354,913$48,640,971$15,156,125$45,337,504$39,235,610$29,354,594$11,181,046$2,616,895$0$2,616,8952%$25,143,881$23,702,755$14,242,448$33,835,179$506,669—$14,956,022$222,567,213source
FY2014$153,234,273$120,184,128$41,993,027$13,100,055$36,945,141$37,219,343$32,196,689$15,471,366$5,997,100$0$5,997,1004%$23,159,068$21,812,565$13,932,875$25,066,847$272,140—$14,699,437$160,726,840source
FY2013$143,776,550$116,607,913$41,549,940$11,957,305$34,782,908$38,904,537$34,233,035$11,203,182$5,791,200$0$5,791,2004%$21,363,154$20,852,750$13,281,263$25,094,718$366,989—$15,980,449$181,873,032source
FY2012$124,899,945$108,204,867$37,774,386$10,859,812$32,536,955$33,043,253$30,390,598$9,989,783$5,461,200$0$5,461,2004%$19,687,779$19,626,420$12,539,992$24,094,921$633,428—$13,443,210$204,745,518source
FY2011$124,498,616$105,068,152$31,807,880$9,657,602$29,924,734$31,712,455$30,082,101$7,740,898$5,235,300$0$5,235,3004%$17,845,810$18,291,683$11,931,747$26,420,768$1,430,900—$13,317,980$207,197,936source
FY2010$130,542,153$98,961,214$32,078,815$10,504,073$29,733,239$29,874,977$33,739,056$9,270,917$4,980,000$0$4,980,0004%$18,436,630$15,663,138$11,505,829$20,145,809$1,783,528—$11,947,648$210,111,767source
FY2009$100,302,512$90,868,971$28,053,214$7,887,618$22,487,393$28,611,953$29,641,806$3,652,637$5,050,985$0$5,050,9855%$15,388,629$16,102,538$9,954,368$18,131,360$1,232,224—$8,266,162$126,188,902source
FY2008$123,769,841$123,370,004$27,638,909$7,265,674$16,055,389$28,410,419$29,860,400$4,506,056$9,457,262$0$9,457,2628%$14,799,299$14,521,199$8,824,492$27,231,065$646,452—$7,387,452$122,837,716source
FY2007$87,589,777$77,106,548$23,849,001$6,153,518$17,681,941$22,746,457$26,979,612$2,493,398$3,497,537$3,786,115$7,283,6528%$12,669,251$12,389,633$8,280,649$23,545,501$294,764—$7,487,540$235,422,336source
FY2006$67,730,762$60,636,961$15,937,538$3,589,605$14,699,193$18,669,242$22,397,071$1,188,376$0$2,803,256$2,803,2564%$9,206,400$10,376,312$6,662,755$16,480,425$95,924—$7,343,866$245,219,513source
FY2005$62,287,192$56,989,608$14,175,824$0$12,891,968$18,418,306$20,262,542$1,063,657$0$2,550,605$2,550,6054%$8,531,959$8,893,252$6,643,235$21,074,644$116,290—$7,192,681$130,190,648source
Data credit: Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database, a joint project of the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics and the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, Syracuse University.