Wake Forest University
- Conference (2026)
- ACC
- Control
- Private
- IPEDS UNITID
- 199847
- City
- Winston-Salem, NC
- City population
- 257,271 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
- Metro area
- Winston-Salem, NC (Metropolitan): 712,206 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
- TV market (DMA)
- Greensboro-High Point-Winston-Salem, NC: rank #46, 766,980 TV homes (0.611% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank #47 (source)
- Endowment
- $2.15B (FY2025) · scope: Wake Forest University · source
- Annual giving
- not available (no fundraising total found; nothing estimated) · searched source
Athletics alone raised >$33M cash
How to watch
Cheapest single package for every Wake Forest Demon Deacons game: ESPN Unlimited + Fox One bundle, $39.99/mo ($199.95 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $77.89 for the full season, $41.93 from Oct. 1. 6 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).
Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan
Sponsors, apparel & naming
- Apparel: Nike brand: secondary source · not disclosedCurrent deal value NOT FOUND in public reporting during this pass (private school, foundation-held contract, or not searched). [SP35]
- Stadium naming: Allegacy Federal Credit Union · not disclosedAllegacy Federal Credit Union Stadium (2023); value not disclosed. [SP70]
Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming
Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.
EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)
Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.
This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 12 of 19 years.
| Fiscal year | Total revenue | Total expenses | Football revenue | Football expenses | FB share of rev. (calc) | Men's BB revenue | Men's BB expenses | Women's BB revenue | Women's BB expenses | Athletic student aid | Recruiting | Avg head coach salary, men's teams | Football participants | Undergrad enrollment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $114,628,069 | $114,628,069 | $39,399,925 | $39,399,925 | 34% | $13,055,099 | $13,055,099 | $4,702,870 | $4,702,870 | $21,451,892 | $1,943,890 | $1,180,595 | 130 | 5,413 | source |
| FY2024 | $102,342,890 | $102,342,890 | $32,478,209 | $32,478,209 | 32% | $12,715,520 | $12,715,520 | $5,015,779 | $5,015,779 | $21,124,608 | $1,863,274 | $1,351,958 | 126 | 5,413 | source |
| FY2023 | $97,298,475 | $97,298,475 | $32,322,751 | $32,322,751 | 33% | $11,335,404 | $11,335,404 | $5,315,051 | $5,315,051 | $19,562,387 | $1,483,079 | $1,245,555 | 128 | 5,388 | source |
| FY2022 | $84,889,487 | $84,889,487 | $28,341,365 | $28,440,253 | 33% | $10,061,485 | $9,962,597 | $4,196,981 | $4,196,981 | $19,443,717 | $1,138,081 | $1,265,388 | 134 | 5,387 | source |
| FY2021 | $91,068,408 | $91,068,408 | $23,073,720 | $23,073,720 | 25% | $5,783,444 | $5,783,444 | $3,327,177 | $3,327,177 | $18,697,982 | $275,604 | $969,003 | 126 | 5,367 | source |
| FY2020 | $84,486,746 | $84,486,746 | $24,698,755 | $24,698,755 | 29% | $9,062,420 | $9,062,420 | $3,476,477 | $3,476,477 | $17,201,393 | $969,926 | $1,046,284 | 125 | 5,239 | source |
| FY2019 | $76,520,111 | $76,520,111 | $26,722,457 | $21,462,286 | 35% | $9,148,670 | $8,805,630 | $3,447,683 | $3,447,683 | $16,961,313 | $1,301,506 | $929,108 | 119 | 5,171 | source |
| FY2018 | $70,856,132 | $70,856,132 | $25,793,812 | $19,360,660 | 36% | $8,656,761 | $8,296,973 | $3,081,408 | $3,081,408 | $16,189,537 | $1,352,245 | $798,497 | 105 | 5,046 | source |
| FY2017 | $66,995,224 | $66,995,224 | $23,955,942 | $18,880,147 | 36% | $8,101,958 | $7,905,826 | $3,137,721 | $3,137,721 | $15,579,981 | $1,184,546 | $697,977 | 110 | 4,899 | source |
| FY2016 | $62,053,971 | $62,053,971 | $19,922,855 | $16,611,110 | 32% | $7,685,562 | $7,647,068 | $3,034,834 | $3,034,834 | $15,196,087 | $1,048,484 | $618,694 | 106 | 4,805 | source |
| FY2015 | $58,672,116 | $57,865,117 | $20,797,837 | $15,440,704 | 35% | $7,492,904 | $7,374,832 | $2,897,086 | $2,897,086 | $13,880,005 | $1,117,042 | $597,051 | 107 | 4,803 | source |
| FY2014 | $56,247,495 | $56,247,495 | $18,690,208 | $18,690,208 | 33% | $7,425,435 | $7,425,435 | $2,649,198 | $2,649,198 | $13,184,085 | $1,006,711 | $592,473 | 105 | 4,752 | source |
| FY2013 | $48,830,266 | $46,737,274 | $15,143,335 | $14,054,107 | 31% | $8,477,699 | $5,247,106 | $2,660,004 | $2,660,003 | $12,049,575 | $977,616 | $699,412 | 98 | 4,741 | source |
| FY2012 | $48,776,185 | $45,190,017 | $17,664,266 | $14,648,169 | 36% | $8,158,064 | $4,850,811 | $2,518,444 | $2,518,444 | $11,719,455 | $838,417 | $575,926 | 106 | 4,720 | source |
| FY2011 | $42,286,588 | $42,286,588 | $9,433,418 | $13,225,460 | 22% | $8,261,666 | $4,773,315 | $70,775 | $2,338,699 | $11,348,638 | $759,648 | $574,807 | 104 | 4,587 | source |
| FY2010 | $42,253,156 | $41,364,196 | $10,227,922 | $12,517,505 | 24% | $9,064,780 | $4,196,104 | $539,914 | $2,208,570 | $10,828,671 | $679,651 | $529,885 | 113 | 4,511 | source |
| FY2009 | $44,649,063 | $43,880,429 | $10,346,081 | $13,419,935 | 23% | $8,758,849 | $4,185,149 | $37,098 | $2,186,637 | $10,531,191 | $657,170 | $478,837 | 111 | 4,396 | source |
| FY2008 | $39,961,624 | $39,599,165 | $14,866,810 | $13,085,407 | 37% | $12,227,191 | $3,770,052 | $19,811 | $2,185,342 | $9,594,932 | $622,669 | $504,727 | 112 | 4,347 | source |
| FY2007 | $36,827,089 | $36,559,084 | $12,114,647 | $10,142,491 | 33% | $11,652,079 | $4,037,861 | $16,798 | $1,846,668 | $9,316,403 | $597,334 | $392,835 | 102 | 4,332 | source |
Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)
NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.
Not covered: Knight-Newhouse includes public schools only.
Form 990 compensation (private school)
IRS Form 990 Schedule J / Part VII via ProPublica, FY2025 (990 tax year 2024, FYE June 2025). Total = reportable compensation from the filing organization and related organizations. Names and titles as filed. Only the highest-paid employees are listed, so “not listed” does not mean unpaid. Not comparable with EADA or Knight-Newhouse figures.
| Position | Name (as filed) | Title (as filed) | Total comp. | Base | Bonus |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Football head coach | David P Clawson | Football Coach | $4,951,073 | $4,763,190 | $30,000 |
| Men's basketball head coach | not listed | ||||
| Athletic director | John A Currie | Director of Athletics | $1,377,977 | $984,090 | $240,000 |
All athletics people listed: David P Clawson (Football Coach): $4,951,073 ; John A Currie (Director of Athletics): $1,377,977. EIN 560532138. Filing on ProPublica.