Home › Schools › ACC › University of Virginia

University of Virginia

Conference (2026)
ACC
Control
Public
IPEDS UNITID
234076
City
Charlottesville, VA
City population
44,388 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
Metro area
Charlottesville, VA (Metropolitan): 228,597 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
TV market (DMA)
Charlottesville, VA: rank #176, 99,260 TV homes (0.079% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank not found
Endowment
$11.23B (FY2025) · scope: University of Virginia · source
Annual giving
$886.0M (FY2025) · philanthropic commitments (record; +43%) · source
Also reported as 'surpassed $885M' (infocville)

How to watch

Cheapest single package for every Virginia Cavaliers game: ESPN Unlimited, $31.99/mo ($159.95 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $68.88 for the full season, $45.92 from Oct. 1. 5 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).

Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan

Sponsors, apparel & naming

  • Apparel: Nike brand: secondary source · not disclosed
    Current deal value NOT FOUND in public reporting during this pass (private school, foundation-held contract, or not searched). [SP35] [SP34]

Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming

Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.

EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)

Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.

This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 7 of 19 years.

$0$41M$81M$122M$163MFY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
EADA total revenueEADA total expensesEADA football revenue (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal revenueTotal expensesFootball revenueFootball expensesFB share of rev. (calc)Men's BB revenueMen's BB expensesWomen's BB revenueWomen's BB expensesAthletic student aidRecruitingAvg head coach salary, men's teamsFootball participantsUndergrad enrollmentSource
FY2025$150,622,194$150,622,194$51,441,991$33,611,79634%$17,841,957$16,646,407$5,796,602$5,796,602$25,330,327$2,910,628$1,022,34712717,030source
FY2024$134,608,065$134,608,065$45,794,222$30,394,90734%$16,106,528$14,238,084$5,052,941$5,052,941$23,873,725$2,644,598$1,034,42312816,721source
FY2023$125,968,540$125,968,540$42,113,574$29,729,98833%$16,228,071$13,903,568$4,613,938$4,613,938$22,200,344$2,863,510$1,069,63212616,452source
FY2022$128,298,742$121,148,341$48,118,214$30,632,86138%$14,598,575$12,273,802$5,843,060$5,843,060$22,251,438$2,155,036$1,031,41512916,372source
FY2021$103,981,972$103,981,972$30,729,881$23,757,59930%$10,259,903$10,259,903$3,434,908$3,434,908$21,396,746$274,886$969,60512316,306source
FY2020$106,985,487$104,044,819$43,316,163$27,576,88640%$13,677,300$11,233,029$4,213,783$4,213,783$20,707,114$1,443,510$923,73213316,174source
FY2019$108,854,006$108,854,006$33,726,985$26,280,85531%$13,400,721$13,400,721$4,267,198$4,267,198$20,140,064$1,902,541$1,044,98012715,905source
FY2018$105,486,203$98,366,666$32,549,903$22,552,48931%$13,468,010$10,501,454$4,742,916$4,742,916$18,803,748$1,740,462$856,57610315,697source
FY2017$92,962,999$92,682,156$21,136,336$21,136,33623%$8,555,125$8,555,125$4,273,169$4,273,169$17,645,078$1,539,595$828,26210815,420source
FY2016$100,632,835$100,165,988$27,931,475$20,333,48128%$10,326,281$8,644,445$1,034,129$4,276,182$16,755,563$1,536,869$827,34311315,218source
FY2015$87,059,237$85,755,397$24,551,003$18,083,38328%$9,954,632$7,621,600$1,048,072$3,629,703$14,742,265$1,240,942$910,92011114,939source
FY2014$80,983,121$79,490,334$28,225,141$20,193,97735%$8,297,383$7,609,746$976,280$3,864,512$14,317,881$1,215,886$704,23811214,444source
FY2013$84,402,712$84,138,686$21,521,178$21,455,21726%$7,659,156$6,555,080$3,979,783$3,979,783$13,260,265$1,184,313$610,96011514,165source
FY2012$81,321,219$74,481,350$24,074,798$17,319,04230%$6,985,089$5,870,401$2,773,562$4,325,887$12,659,929$1,251,497$664,91612814,081source
FY2011$78,439,006$72,400,342$16,775,871$16,739,58721%$9,170,281$6,981,202$291,072$4,617,515$12,055,153$1,045,893$536,01312813,826source
FY2010$81,841,632$70,870,413$19,004,653$15,927,67523%$9,788,223$7,390,325$369,536$3,460,009$11,231,866$884,371$548,34012113,849source
FY2009$67,141,170$63,696,905$20,210,563$17,226,35030%$8,319,241$7,188,025$306,627$3,240,515$11,716,081$1,180,624$533,34011213,617source
FY2008$65,400,485$65,400,485$20,483,132$18,532,84631%$8,489,271$5,507,172$372,997$3,098,002$9,414,528$1,280,852$447,86611013,636source
FY2007$64,852,417$64,852,417$14,213,380$17,145,13822%$5,319,060$5,404,221$224,960$3,071,270$10,349,895$1,112,027$419,19210813,151source

Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)

NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.

$0$44M$88M$131M$175MFY05FY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
KN total athletic revenuesKN total athletic expensesKN subsidy (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal athletic revenuesTotal athletic expensesFootball spendingFootball coaching salariesConf./NCAA/media/postseasonTicket salesDonor contributionsSponsorship/licensingInst./govt supportStudent feesSubsidy (calc)Subsidy share (calc)Coaches comp.Non-coaching staff comp.Scholarships/aidFacilities/debt/equip.Coaching severanceInst. NIL rev. shareAnnual debt serviceAthletics debt outstandingSource
FY2025$155,120,584$162,066,043$34,257,393$10,165,045$47,352,404$15,902,119$34,618,654$8,166,062$19,881,360$17,335,632$37,216,99224%$31,027,981$22,669,747$31,097,346$32,120,563$1,441,964$0$562,641$24,939,741source
FY2024$153,535,955$145,613,036$33,041,491$10,266,101$47,870,589$16,586,280$38,857,053$11,060,211$9,474,999$16,667,498$26,142,49717%$30,312,526$21,089,582$24,375,852$30,807,913$0—$562,641$24,939,741source
FY2023$140,937,329$138,225,818$31,134,941$9,903,428$44,764,397$14,072,469$37,727,949$9,193,283$8,270,145$16,149,053$24,419,19817%$29,476,902$19,684,900$22,691,636$30,090,930$129,489—$2,707,250$24,939,741source
FY2022$161,916,231$150,584,173$31,075,143$10,281,881$42,022,268$15,114,983$62,646,969$10,569,287$8,635,778$15,833,065$24,468,84315%$27,218,894$19,267,825$22,635,692$48,228,687$995,386—$32,019,363$27,058,121source
FY2021$105,346,428$101,172,838$23,870,870$9,015,999$34,002,020$178,936$24,594,388$7,942,045$19,426,918$13,242,806$32,669,72431%$26,356,586$18,746,336$21,669,427$15,600,739$450,883—$1,158,120$58,016,295source
FY2020$110,283,933$111,779,897$27,425,860$9,125,096$30,835,905$15,547,037$28,252,413$10,617,187$2,625,665$14,715,353$17,341,01816%$25,443,005$20,033,762$20,906,060$20,571,366$225,759—$8,642,494$51,920,815source
FY2019$110,219,117$112,621,238$25,888,748$8,708,658$32,529,391$11,506,754$27,062,954$9,906,740$3,989,842$14,439,959$18,429,80117%$26,094,900$18,908,236$20,322,868$18,770,081$833,646—$3,951,718$11,314,601source
FY2018$106,581,570$106,926,915$22,712,557$7,484,293$32,301,342$13,885,527$27,594,417$9,457,752$2,340,634$14,231,359$16,571,99316%$22,518,057$18,066,114$18,961,246$21,015,534$680,717—$7,334,124$57,328,987source
FY2017$92,865,175$100,324,517$22,283,693$7,891,104$26,189,197$12,339,296$26,127,871$8,475,542$0$13,942,471$13,942,47115%$21,464,522$16,473,504$17,855,339$21,134,305$1,976,049—$8,781,217$62,478,876source
FY2016$103,272,319$99,801,739$20,443,566$6,604,313$24,180,624$14,612,987$31,556,907$14,369,930$0$13,730,496$13,730,49613%$20,112,176$15,370,857$17,212,051$22,893,967$2,636,918—$10,963,097$67,673,083source
FY2015$91,256,772$91,345,925$18,170,478$7,304,071$26,455,121$12,365,432$27,762,131$5,123,443$0$13,555,431$13,555,43115%$20,293,064$14,430,415$15,213,617$20,870,070$257,129—$9,542,384$75,803,527source
FY2014$83,697,971$87,426,105$22,459,835$6,027,781$18,925,939$15,872,912$25,125,724$4,733,274$0$13,235,814$13,235,81416%$18,089,569$14,386,910$14,317,881$16,366,588$508,681—$9,542,384$83,807,229source
FY2013$84,402,710$84,201,789$21,455,216$5,661,301$17,371,433$13,072,435$31,258,670$5,642,194$0$13,119,353$13,119,35316%$16,406,122$14,283,838$13,520,148$17,500,304$619,252—$9,542,384$91,096,703source
FY2012$80,835,566$75,437,849$17,319,041$5,012,335$17,505,094$12,723,485$30,706,516$3,858,361$0$13,131,129$13,131,12916%$15,638,130$13,278,065$12,842,671$11,149,209$1,964,692—$4,755,387$52,776,152source
FY2011$78,439,006$72,400,342$16,739,587$4,591,248$11,604,682$12,175,077$34,503,066$3,890,059$0$12,973,298$12,973,29817%$14,070,704$12,951,920$12,689,991$11,912,682$3,735,335—$5,024,342$55,167,489source
FY2010$81,841,633$70,870,412$15,927,675$4,345,888$11,428,793$14,444,012$33,975,775$6,968,961$0$12,160,103$12,160,10315%$13,001,200$11,951,891$11,684,196$11,040,717$3,871,036—$5,024,342$57,466,897source
FY2009$67,141,171$63,696,905$17,226,350$4,457,701$11,873,073$13,791,680$21,553,464$3,838,732$0$11,874,202$11,874,20218%$12,281,643$11,759,419$11,887,012$8,127,518$1,185,667—$4,900,000$56,100,000source
FY2008$64,396,612$65,838,543$18,532,848$4,130,222$11,321,126$14,895,325$18,933,467$3,561,647$0$11,119,358$11,119,35817%$10,558,573$11,774,092$9,567,702$10,189,885————source
FY2007$64,069,968$64,852,417$17,145,138$3,751,370$10,154,426$13,651,620$21,940,069$3,852,105$0$9,856,625$9,856,62515%$9,896,811$10,729,539$10,516,861$12,405,962$0—$4,867,712$60,800,792source
FY2006$52,898,726$51,591,398$14,032,284$4,062,600$10,502,068$12,153,501$14,567,256$2,240,604$0$9,127,368$9,127,36817%$9,785,621$10,000,452$8,775,941$6,064,285$306,916—$5,000,000$65,000,000source
FY2005$63,060,540$59,825,403$16,812,582$0$10,184,701$11,334,095$27,849,391$1,890,353$0$7,973,032$7,973,03213%$7,300,864$9,607,250$8,154,552$16,292,371$2,846,781—$3,000,000$45,000,000source
Data credit: Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database, a joint project of the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics and the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, Syracuse University.