Virginia Tech
- Conference (2026)
- ACC
- Control
- Public
- IPEDS UNITID
- 233921
- City
- Blacksburg, VA
- City population
- 45,104 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
- Metro area
- Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA (Metropolitan): 181,616 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
- TV market (DMA)
- Roanoke-Lynchburg, VA: rank #70, 460,000 TV homes (0.367% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank #70 (source)
Blacksburg (Montgomery County) is in the Roanoke-Lynchburg DMA - Endowment
- $2.09B (FY2025) · scope: Virginia Tech Foundation · source
- Annual giving
- $241.6M (FY2025) · new gifts and commitments (2nd-highest) · source
FY2026: $356.2M record (news.vt.edu 2026/08)
How to watch
Cheapest single package for every Virginia Tech Hokies game: ESPN Unlimited + Fox One bundle, $39.99/mo ($199.95 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $77.89 for the full season, $45.92 from Oct. 1. 6 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).
Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan
Sponsors, apparel & naming
- Apparel: Nike brand: secondary source · not disclosed
- Multimedia rights: Playfly Sports · not disclosedPlayfly MMR client (per SBJ); terms not captured. [SP24]
Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming
Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.
EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)
Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.
This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 3 of 19 years.
| Fiscal year | Total revenue | Total expenses | Football revenue | Football expenses | FB share of rev. (calc) | Men's BB revenue | Men's BB expenses | Women's BB revenue | Women's BB expenses | Athletic student aid | Recruiting | Avg head coach salary, men's teams | Football participants | Undergrad enrollment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $151,623,889 | $148,984,818 | $79,735,756 | $37,803,976 | 53% | $8,485,407 | $9,504,271 | $2,046,594 | $4,459,989 | $20,853,299 | $3,381,526 | $1,035,137 | 124 | 30,114 | source |
| FY2024 | $139,458,791 | $126,337,823 | $77,050,782 | $38,930,135 | 55% | $11,652,572 | $9,662,190 | $2,592,046 | $7,143,445 | $17,964,368 | $2,696,619 | $1,009,951 | 126 | 29,582 | source |
| FY2023 | $129,705,818 | $117,168,565 | $72,527,919 | $38,543,671 | 56% | $11,754,410 | $11,676,096 | $1,632,303 | $4,005,393 | $14,252,868 | $2,403,861 | $920,134 | 126 | 29,504 | source |
| FY2022 | $109,216,783 | $109,216,783 | $52,962,813 | $37,820,809 | 48% | $12,456,695 | $8,404,702 | $1,176,953 | $3,384,751 | $13,128,280 | $1,838,883 | $943,777 | 126 | 28,886 | source |
| FY2021 | $84,318,484 | $73,151,833 | $34,422,342 | $20,196,051 | 41% | $9,460,193 | $5,465,384 | $478,100 | $2,531,211 | $14,282,140 | $232,681 | $849,247 | 128 | 29,027 | source |
| FY2020 | $98,885,805 | $97,186,563 | $50,292,457 | $35,625,481 | 51% | $11,795,978 | $10,269,671 | $921,681 | $5,089,255 | $14,493,294 | $1,844,000 | $870,515 | 121 | 28,539 | source |
| FY2019 | $83,767,722 | $82,486,221 | $56,224,912 | $30,123,282 | 67% | $9,886,728 | $8,525,606 | $735,842 | $4,063,565 | $12,606,147 | $1,620,845 | $755,156 | 120 | 27,125 | source |
| FY2018 | $86,334,972 | $85,873,803 | $55,348,135 | $27,864,229 | 64% | $13,410,392 | $11,294,240 | $719,068 | $4,069,661 | $11,401,087 | $1,572,566 | $912,363 | 123 | 26,555 | source |
| FY2017 | $80,792,750 | $80,792,750 | $53,471,351 | $24,995,627 | 66% | $9,428,524 | $9,892,883 | $759,341 | $4,431,904 | $11,474,104 | $1,364,096 | $896,754 | 119 | 25,175 | source |
| FY2016 | $84,064,779 | $84,064,779 | $48,433,646 | $31,150,129 | 58% | $10,901,266 | $9,478,661 | $1,277,193 | $3,989,929 | $11,939,490 | $1,420,005 | $953,304 | 121 | 24,800 | source |
| FY2015 | $81,298,133 | $78,786,724 | $50,387,116 | $26,818,875 | 62% | $9,159,034 | $9,238,871 | $1,209,384 | $3,501,958 | $10,781,648 | $1,606,585 | $681,606 | 141 | 23,653 | source |
| FY2014 | $73,015,503 | $69,597,778 | $43,371,487 | $22,394,865 | 59% | $8,127,450 | $6,159,368 | $1,330,540 | $3,239,983 | $10,120,458 | $1,239,071 | $548,662 | 137 | 23,441 | source |
| FY2013 | $69,845,483 | $66,396,921 | $38,669,555 | $24,596,694 | 55% | $10,682,256 | $5,458,505 | $1,054,142 | $3,119,909 | $9,204,175 | $1,194,171 | $575,909 | 138 | 23,364 | source |
| FY2012 | $64,801,681 | $61,048,727 | $32,989,216 | $20,007,783 | 51% | $11,121,774 | $5,501,959 | $1,126,835 | $2,852,974 | $9,176,059 | $1,152,902 | $499,672 | 137 | 23,098 | source |
| FY2011 | $61,077,122 | $56,762,362 | $35,083,799 | $20,009,657 | 57% | $7,858,609 | $4,782,477 | $1,077,069 | $2,598,812 | $8,446,268 | $981,067 | $516,141 | 136 | 23,184 | source |
| FY2010 | $58,115,929 | $50,241,096 | $31,155,870 | $16,302,767 | 54% | $9,252,293 | $4,790,553 | $1,397,977 | $2,799,729 | $7,690,542 | $923,440 | $460,115 | 133 | 23,052 | source |
| FY2009 | $52,838,905 | $50,863,680 | $27,749,586 | $18,276,468 | 53% | $8,422,322 | $4,482,300 | $1,023,931 | $2,277,349 | $7,123,582 | $753,671 | $379,505 | 122 | 23,002 | source |
| FY2008 | $56,029,172 | $49,890,014 | $30,297,214 | $18,010,178 | 54% | $8,243,925 | $4,141,338 | $1,011,562 | $2,191,085 | $6,298,233 | $824,296 | $418,185 | 127 | 22,502 | source |
| FY2007 | $65,487,381 | $55,949,171 | $40,634,499 | $26,179,089 | 62% | $7,756,582 | $3,929,800 | $1,129,983 | $2,243,364 | $5,743,695 | $755,848 | $371,804 | 133 | 21,473 | source |
Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)
NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.
| Fiscal year | Total athletic revenues | Total athletic expenses | Football spending | Football coaching salaries | Conf./NCAA/media/postseason | Ticket sales | Donor contributions | Sponsorship/licensing | Inst./govt support | Student fees | Subsidy (calc) | Subsidy share (calc) | Coaches comp. | Non-coaching staff comp. | Scholarships/aid | Facilities/debt/equip. | Coaching severance | Inst. NIL rev. share | Annual debt service | Athletics debt outstanding | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2025 | $161,217,688 | $156,147,692 | $44,460,860 | $12,222,801 | $48,068,705 | $23,716,393 | $38,783,486 | $14,961,055 | $8,434,834 | $15,660,745 | $24,095,579 | 15% | $26,363,505 | $22,909,987 | $25,182,258 | $38,326,412 | $880,416 | $0 | $7,408,000 | $66,342,000 | source |
| FY2024 | $139,458,796 | $132,758,248 | $40,976,224 | $11,180,356 | $47,870,708 | $19,313,687 | $31,781,778 | $14,287,549 | $2,420,714 | $14,542,056 | $16,962,770 | 12% | $25,746,523 | $21,969,511 | $19,815,953 | $30,860,533 | $198,461 | — | $7,127,000 | $89,660,000 | source |
| FY2023 | $129,522,082 | $116,947,347 | $32,445,289 | $11,310,965 | $54,354,293 | $18,594,777 | $27,608,846 | $3,299,540 | $2,148,987 | $13,585,940 | $15,734,927 | 12% | $24,132,438 | $20,836,282 | $16,030,740 | $24,456,248 | $462,522 | — | $4,699,000 | $94,668,000 | source |
| FY2022 | $112,690,598 | $117,280,036 | $41,766,016 | $10,805,285 | $48,990,742 | $13,471,506 | $25,882,821 | $3,153,652 | $1,396,032 | $12,474,178 | $13,870,210 | 12% | $22,503,433 | $18,795,212 | $15,764,437 | $22,340,262 | $10,232,486 | — | $4,364,086 | $97,357,000 | source |
| FY2021 | $90,296,622 | $85,587,390 | $26,699,874 | $8,414,957 | $38,006,000 | $49,060 | $16,329,303 | $2,897,488 | $18,479,268 | $10,889,955 | $29,369,223 | 33% | $18,736,861 | $16,553,611 | $14,548,902 | $20,942,512 | $363,584 | — | $6,459,000 | $98,863,000 | source |
| FY2020 | $99,193,958 | $97,492,220 | $34,265,430 | $8,868,852 | $37,758,848 | $19,200,364 | $21,956,292 | $2,887,302 | $2,428 | $10,924,067 | $10,926,495 | 11% | $19,801,792 | $17,238,418 | $15,656,642 | $20,980,413 | $387,705 | — | $5,923,000 | $64,186,000 | source |
| FY2019 | $96,772,489 | $93,961,068 | $33,666,607 | $8,647,561 | $36,095,803 | $20,543,204 | $18,897,304 | $2,813,608 | $2,579 | $10,275,759 | $10,278,338 | 11% | $19,108,355 | $15,242,620 | $14,696,196 | $21,459,417 | $846,364 | — | $5,643,000 | $68,091,000 | source |
| FY2018 | $98,485,395 | $93,588,260 | $32,532,683 | $9,324,588 | $36,279,292 | $19,428,428 | $22,314,095 | $2,230,119 | $6,621 | $9,704,077 | $9,710,698 | 10% | $19,919,181 | $13,685,760 | $14,281,972 | $23,435,350 | $490,257 | — | $5,650,000 | $71,559,000 | source |
| FY2017 | $87,427,526 | $90,716,423 | $30,878,285 | $8,826,626 | $33,459,519 | $17,312,067 | $15,766,272 | $2,572,294 | $2,663 | $8,885,874 | $8,888,537 | 10% | $19,291,570 | $13,184,532 | $13,427,975 | $21,892,669 | $579,047 | — | $5,574,436 | $74,926,000 | source |
| FY2016 | $83,702,698 | $84,617,028 | $30,870,180 | $9,219,924 | $30,135,139 | $18,053,062 | $19,348,259 | $2,129,180 | $2,351 | $8,642,256 | $8,644,607 | 10% | $18,362,365 | $12,999,862 | $13,005,094 | $20,032,901 | $1,819,446 | — | $5,298,000 | $47,055,000 | source |
| FY2015 | $80,230,095 | $77,679,721 | $26,153,443 | $7,540,481 | $31,192,230 | $17,025,780 | $16,748,895 | $2,200,228 | $5,117 | $8,122,183 | $8,127,300 | 10% | $15,767,655 | $12,439,073 | $11,804,539 | $18,833,287 | $1,608,540 | — | $5,317,000 | $49,740,000 | source |
| FY2014 | $73,065,186 | $69,597,779 | $24,022,916 | $6,044,623 | $24,270,528 | $15,005,783 | $16,333,821 | $1,837,878 | $307,109 | $7,803,719 | $8,110,828 | 11% | $12,765,778 | $10,999,343 | $11,115,036 | $17,864,972 | $856,660 | — | $5,443,000 | $52,800,000 | source |
| FY2013 | $70,030,484 | $66,581,916 | $24,781,694 | $5,894,487 | $22,214,512 | $16,689,739 | $16,599,597 | $2,066,529 | $282,004 | $7,606,735 | $7,888,739 | 11% | $12,246,780 | $10,162,434 | $10,237,090 | $18,448,489 | $132,876 | — | $5,445,000 | $55,805,000 | source |
| FY2012 | $70,723,748 | $66,970,798 | $0 | $0 | $22,031,658 | $16,795,609 | $18,153,190 | $1,545,420 | $317,728 | $7,347,477 | $7,665,205 | 11% | $11,381,789 | $9,429,459 | $10,277,000 | $18,881,564 | $197,389 | — | $5,716,000 | $61,020,000 | source |
| FY2011 | $66,909,557 | $62,594,797 | $24,628,457 | $5,738,325 | $16,422,539 | $18,979,129 | $15,849,981 | $1,384,437 | $354,023 | $7,237,091 | $7,591,114 | 11% | $11,322,720 | $8,497,088 | $9,374,464 | $17,616,686 | $83,040 | — | $5,978,000 | $63,760,000 | source |
| FY2010 | $63,613,464 | $55,738,633 | $21,270,983 | $5,065,280 | $15,850,777 | $16,740,933 | $16,138,765 | $1,326,266 | $372,795 | $6,533,756 | $6,906,551 | 11% | $10,124,306 | $8,210,585 | $8,470,679 | $15,315,823 | $77,921 | — | $5,388,000 | $67,240,000 | source |
| FY2009 | $60,895,876 | $58,920,659 | $25,804,061 | $5,133,358 | $15,440,870 | $16,973,900 | $15,315,905 | $1,475,109 | $349,444 | $6,410,186 | $6,759,630 | 11% | $9,897,514 | $7,923,688 | $7,830,388 | $17,169,408 | $63,456 | — | $7,876,000 | $60,815,000 | source |
| FY2008 | $64,412,343 | $59,157,745 | $25,570,614 | $4,974,177 | $15,286,789 | $17,486,754 | $17,345,132 | $1,453,744 | $371,604 | $6,157,813 | $6,529,417 | 10% | $9,380,310 | $7,606,541 | $6,877,972 | $19,224,195 | $63,617 | — | $7,958,000 | $65,630,000 | source |
| FY2007 | $65,602,382 | $56,064,171 | $26,294,091 | $4,519,312 | $13,228,458 | $17,010,554 | $22,251,053 | $817,874 | $384,514 | $6,066,344 | $6,450,858 | 10% | $8,483,067 | $8,197,779 | $6,291,716 | $18,108,437 | $139,752 | — | $9,530,000 | $70,260,000 | source |
| FY2006 | $48,658,004 | $45,311,500 | $17,566,222 | $4,777,828 | $10,612,451 | $12,939,602 | $13,866,740 | $733,677 | $323,041 | $5,886,964 | $6,210,005 | 13% | $8,112,865 | $7,447,871 | $5,533,641 | $12,692,424 | $132,576 | — | $6,689,000 | $76,235,000 | source |
| FY2005 | $45,730,485 | $37,465,129 | $13,897,147 | $3,223,268 | $10,556,298 | $14,109,920 | $10,392,445 | $630,018 | $324,469 | $5,840,958 | $6,165,427 | 13% | $6,299,413 | $6,606,418 | $4,870,991 | $8,337,226 | $38,938 | — | $6,000,000 | $80,000,000 | source |