Home › Schools › ACC › University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Conference (2026)
ACC
Control
Public
IPEDS UNITID
199120
City
Chapel Hill, NC
City population
63,565 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
Metro area
Durham-Chapel Hill, NC (Metropolitan): 625,485 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
TV market (DMA)
Raleigh-Durham (Fayetteville), NC: rank #22, 1,345,840 TV homes (1.072% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank #22 (source)
Endowment
$6.22B (FY2025) · scope: UNC-Chapel Hill · source
Annual giving
$471.2M (FY2025) · gifts and commitments · source
FY2026: $606M (UNC, July 2026)

How to watch

Cheapest single package for every North Carolina Tar Heels game: Fubo Sports + News, $64.99/mo ($324.95 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $104.92 for the full season, $93.94 from Oct. 1. 7 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).

Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan

Sponsors, apparel & naming

  • Apparel: Jordan (Nike) brand: secondary source · not disclosed
    Current deal value NOT FOUND in public reporting during this pass (private school, foundation-held contract, or not searched). [SP35] [SP34]

Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming

Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.

EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)

Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.

This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 6 of 19 years.

$0$49M$98M$146M$195MFY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
EADA total revenueEADA total expensesEADA football revenue (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal revenueTotal expensesFootball revenueFootball expensesFB share of rev. (calc)Men's BB revenueMen's BB expensesWomen's BB revenueWomen's BB expensesAthletic student aidRecruitingAvg head coach salary, men's teamsFootball participantsUndergrad enrollmentSource
FY2025$180,835,031$180,835,031$63,337,093$49,145,74935%$39,742,088$16,738,604$2,526,799$6,779,610$17,149,342$4,192,937$1,184,64812320,107source
FY2024$157,614,732$149,062,850$66,848,688$40,068,73042%$32,044,259$13,601,824$1,432,944$5,292,019$16,779,905$3,244,785$813,53112719,836source
FY2023$137,918,817$136,891,350$67,249,397$44,472,52549%$31,745,487$10,759,922$1,025,627$5,801,731$15,137,889$3,004,469$747,65912719,162source
FY2022$119,569,409$117,437,619$55,604,225$34,398,32346%$31,965,031$12,445,368$1,228,367$4,583,415$13,669,482$2,474,631$668,94411818,916source
FY2021$99,977,454$99,977,454$43,654,962$30,218,27944%$13,121,288$8,116,597$3,563,126$3,563,126$18,036,120$455,822$644,89412418,494source
FY2020$107,842,595$107,842,595$48,656,404$30,541,82145%$26,230,915$9,156,512$925,571$3,867,351$17,247,270$1,740,114$610,57413418,516source
FY2019$105,407,867$105,407,867$39,314,461$23,127,13837%$27,076,307$11,204,115$818,663$4,628,719$16,975,652$1,943,359$655,77612918,511source
FY2018$98,849,409$97,373,143$43,122,492$21,068,43444%$24,660,258$9,728,533$694,589$3,579,947$16,613,844$1,883,459$592,17613418,275source
FY2017$90,500,869$90,463,617$41,163,583$21,670,84745%$21,408,475$10,293,415$479,649$3,418,621$14,982,817$1,583,587$584,83213417,828source
FY2016$90,969,518$90,969,518$40,523,499$23,461,11445%$21,342,328$8,667,111$496,787$3,279,794$14,528,811$1,545,048$526,60112517,606source
FY2015$85,288,270$85,111,322$36,050,976$21,741,63542%$20,771,541$7,470,178$806,175$3,547,503$13,612,346$1,461,596$443,28412917,526source
FY2014$79,845,782$79,519,051$33,261,045$17,982,09042%$20,905,642$7,276,883$894,010$3,476,877$12,261,149$1,319,114$421,27313617,519source
FY2013$78,141,093$78,131,394$31,481,105$15,912,18840%$19,632,779$7,811,021$728,131$3,353,452$11,121,861$1,494,503$418,12313017,506source
FY2012$78,830,350$78,271,704$27,626,613$16,688,37635%$24,011,268$7,157,618$617,966$2,952,659$10,374,717$1,512,699$430,97511217,386source
FY2011$71,369,784$70,709,553$26,385,760$15,050,72137%$19,672,012$6,510,942$646,898$2,876,392$10,057,878$1,337,338$387,10212417,457source
FY2010$67,613,805$67,375,161$22,077,550$14,788,28733%$20,551,168$6,647,459$496,509$2,649,777$6,666,305$1,141,876$392,93712417,267source
FY2009$70,152,767$69,960,175$24,163,760$15,363,47234%$19,852,544$7,488,429$585,021$2,449,695$6,931,137$1,162,968$359,81512417,043source
FY2008$61,263,269$61,044,532$20,687,386$13,233,97734%$17,831,583$6,779,453$515,816$2,352,820$6,893,806$1,126,532$400,71011418,188source
FY2007$58,188,501$58,188,501$18,147,854$15,097,81831%$17,215,199$5,632,518$569,200$2,112,979$7,336,775$971,631$135,47612816,840source

Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)

NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.

$0$51M$102M$152M$203MFY05FY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
KN total athletic revenuesKN total athletic expensesKN subsidy (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal athletic revenuesTotal athletic expensesFootball spendingFootball coaching salariesConf./NCAA/media/postseasonTicket salesDonor contributionsSponsorship/licensingInst./govt supportStudent feesSubsidy (calc)Subsidy share (calc)Coaches comp.Non-coaching staff comp.Scholarships/aidFacilities/debt/equip.Coaching severanceInst. NIL rev. shareAnnual debt serviceAthletics debt outstandingSource
FY2025$172,951,034$187,967,260$49,145,748$16,583,864$51,930,806$32,116,531$40,215,448$23,973,222$1,918,664$8,504,951$10,423,6156%$37,935,724$29,663,687$21,489,966$35,562,241$3,978,201$0$5,213,340$48,677,171source
FY2024$164,476,330$155,935,513$40,066,790$14,222,856$47,594,207$31,233,681$28,468,524$14,028,230$21,355,328$8,106,107$29,461,43518%$31,894,781$27,252,049$16,199,335$32,806,936$1,005,929—$5,318,809$105,060,767source
FY2023$139,353,091$139,079,504$44,509,367$14,510,716$48,855,597$30,113,765$21,633,029$16,444,723$6,873,171$7,942,870$14,816,04111%$30,127,343$25,132,404$15,266,374$21,546,777$3,747,941—$0$108,214,904source
FY2022$122,603,567$120,314,967$34,451,491$12,555,094$43,254,839$30,224,001$20,615,893$12,798,792$1,738,279$7,864,743$9,603,0228%$27,040,442$21,405,637$13,669,481$17,107,013$3,190,361—$0$108,944,055source
FY2021$101,865,616$101,916,048$30,231,779$11,150,838$39,371,619$980,589$38,637,341$9,745,041$1,523,226$7,627,723$9,150,9499%$24,199,522$17,710,689$18,036,119$15,436,934$2,780,811—$0$111,642,173source
FY2020$110,410,009$113,022,409$30,648,706$9,844,276$33,902,645$24,819,323$22,311,409$12,863,503$1,693,426$7,409,258$9,102,6848%$23,178,619$18,950,511$17,247,270$21,705,638$2,965,240—$3,479,990$80,423,187source
FY2019$107,812,619$110,809,706$23,414,064$8,399,857$29,638,648$23,525,823$23,076,537$14,243,996$1,653,201$7,510,173$9,163,3748%$22,833,215$18,876,303$16,975,652$20,129,804$0—$2,305,346$75,629,285source
FY2018$104,571,404$102,430,558$21,251,447$6,678,662$29,952,739$26,335,953$20,752,770$12,330,897$1,813,707$7,532,534$9,346,2419%$18,978,962$16,879,694$16,613,846$18,418,504$0—$3,837,320$64,718,474source
FY2017$96,551,626$96,540,823$23,134,951$5,967,780$33,242,072$23,806,771$21,388,432$3,012,900$1,814,715$6,970,422$8,785,1379%$17,478,769$16,270,383$15,659,952$17,652,599$0—$4,525,467$61,719,291source
FY2016$95,175,985$95,175,985$24,818,093$5,393,238$30,508,475$23,332,957$22,926,465$2,325,000$1,848,014$7,302,963$9,150,97710%$15,963,077$15,930,254$14,528,812$21,214,187$0—$5,077,407$54,824,409source
FY2015$89,128,256$89,080,843$22,310,037$5,329,520$30,593,022$20,628,551$20,453,485$2,573,734$1,739,130$7,301,277$9,040,40710%$14,424,549$16,964,717$13,612,346$18,846,754$605,902—$5,190,674$58,058,409source
FY2014$83,771,913$83,463,221$20,322,442$4,589,351$25,800,265$23,012,533$18,234,593$2,733,096$1,762,971$7,315,622$9,078,59311%$13,642,676$16,221,542$12,392,051$17,064,161$609,319—$4,529,037$60,045,924source
FY2013$82,792,342$82,735,139$18,688,589$4,147,126$22,985,617$22,511,083$18,709,609$3,868,310$1,905,386$7,249,835$9,155,22111%$12,866,568$17,983,438$11,424,567$17,231,813$875,412—$4,987,274$60,881,913source
FY2012$82,424,430$81,921,783$0$0$22,739,857$23,655,855$17,478,749$3,708,892$1,918,214$7,173,868$9,092,08211%$13,155,455$17,131,587$10,601,110$17,556,017$1,046,071—$4,672,934$68,101,902source
FY2011$75,606,311$74,312,602$17,948,582$4,503,401$17,488,040$21,318,513$17,712,389$3,727,949$1,823,279$7,006,090$8,829,36912%$12,285,171$16,304,164$10,343,866$16,069,148$0—$4,209,567$64,359,305source
FY2010$72,825,407$72,685,335$16,701,632$4,432,440$17,015,732$23,280,829$14,634,189$4,167,881$1,977,534$6,859,868$8,837,40212%$12,204,437$15,421,662$7,208,755$16,950,525$618,139—$2,066,864$36,388,546source
FY2009$74,644,557$74,462,225$17,803,503$4,453,829$17,641,510$22,209,969$14,746,142$5,069,803$1,982,702$6,444,786$8,427,48811%$12,417,566$14,768,714$7,543,374$17,089,781$295,208—$2,257,183$28,058,487source
FY2008$66,148,186$65,929,532$15,256,404$3,932,538$15,224,406$17,861,212$15,892,163$2,653,080$1,846,129$6,205,790$8,051,91912%$11,404,126$14,774,807$7,521,420$12,616,522$25,674—$2,299,395$20,082,327source
FY2007$62,166,396$63,008,867$15,033,938$2,310,704$15,651,787$16,006,247$13,561,604$2,833,790$2,160,979$6,018,236$8,179,21513%$8,465,845$13,373,654$7,994,861$13,711,783$822,055—$2,355,732$18,768,700source
FY2006$60,034,233$59,943,877$9,939,501$2,069,111$16,047,993$14,273,067$12,463,719$2,738,658$3,481,044$4,829,532$8,310,57614%$7,672,705$11,870,287$7,930,166$14,807,805$0—$1,998,392$20,139,900source
FY2005$54,838,851$54,617,880$10,569,162$0$15,942,872$14,149,887$10,834,440$2,501,206$3,060,564$2,454,949$5,515,51310%$6,383,257$11,032,147$7,500,590$11,607,846$0—$1,665,731$21,491,100source
Data credit: Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database, a joint project of the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics and the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, Syracuse University.