Home › Schools › ACC › Southern Methodist University

Southern Methodist University

Conference (2026)
ACC (Joined ACC Aug 2, 2024 (from AAC); campus in University Park, TX (Dallas address))
Control
Private
IPEDS UNITID
228246
City
University Park (Dallas), TX
City population
25,323 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
Metro area
Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington, TX (Metropolitan): 8,477,157 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
TV market (DMA)
Dallas-Fort Worth, TX: rank #4, 3,264,490 TV homes (2.601% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank #4 (source)
Endowment
$2.34B (FY2025) · scope: Southern Methodist University · source
Annual giving
not available (no fundraising total found; nothing estimated) · searched source
SMU Ignited campaign closed at >$1.64B (May 31, 2025)

How to watch

Cheapest single package for every SMU Mustangs game: ESPN Unlimited, $31.99/mo ($159.95 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $56.90 for the full season, $34.94 from Oct. 1. 5 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).

Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan

Sponsors, apparel & naming

  • Apparel: Nike brand: secondary source · not disclosed
    Current deal value NOT FOUND in public reporting during this pass (private school, foundation-held contract, or not searched). [SP35]

Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming

Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.

EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)

Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.

This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 19 of 19 years.

$0$41M$81M$122M$162MFY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
EADA total revenueEADA total expensesEADA football revenue (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal revenueTotal expensesFootball revenueFootball expensesFB share of rev. (calc)Men's BB revenueMen's BB expensesWomen's BB revenueWomen's BB expensesAthletic student aidRecruitingAvg head coach salary, men's teamsFootball participantsUndergrad enrollmentSource
FY2025$150,225,313$150,225,313$45,315,587$45,315,58730%$16,735,281$16,735,281$7,327,986$7,327,986$26,107,776$3,058,270$1,760,7231227,145source
FY2024$99,506,414$99,506,414$31,960,585$31,960,58532%$8,307,389$8,307,389$4,609,735$4,609,735$25,285,582$1,568,350$903,4881286,947source
FY2023$86,044,162$86,044,162$30,108,796$30,108,79635%$10,618,903$10,618,903$4,273,266$4,273,267$24,937,207$1,887,805$893,2711286,880source
FY2022$79,414,946$79,414,946$27,075,598$27,075,59834%$8,143,677$8,143,677$4,160,189$4,160,189$23,926,215$906,582$868,5561256,727source
FY2021$65,584,866$65,584,866$21,148,167$21,148,16732%$6,421,688$6,421,688$3,186,130$3,186,130$23,588,650$206,623$859,1941256,615source
FY2020$68,812,414$68,812,414$21,199,002$21,199,00231%$7,373,594$7,373,594$3,429,479$3,429,479$22,208,336$1,052,286$687,9211406,516source
FY2019$70,501,474$70,501,474$20,519,325$20,519,32529%$7,590,481$7,590,481$3,715,222$3,715,222$21,165,218$1,504,559$583,8181226,273source
FY2018$64,607,467$64,607,467$20,465,957$20,465,95732%$7,497,541$7,497,541$3,728,980$3,728,980$19,221,020$1,539,465$701,1111126,235source
FY2017$57,193,821$57,193,821$17,637,584$17,637,58431%$7,269,481$7,269,481$3,549,466$3,549,466$18,886,345$1,233,739$660,3461206,294source
FY2016$56,909,290$56,909,290$17,267,570$17,267,57030%$7,086,547$7,086,547$3,217,719$3,217,719$18,253,885$1,382,787$906,5881176,156source
FY2015$55,349,010$55,349,010$16,448,366$16,448,36630%$6,416,266$6,416,266$2,860,007$2,860,007$16,985,893$1,047,654$786,9101116,189source
FY2014$49,657,375$49,657,375$12,937,923$12,937,92326%$7,057,072$7,057,072$2,787,577$2,787,577$9,987,344$775,327$666,6841196,116source
FY2013$52,029,002$52,029,002$14,586,736$14,586,73628%$6,582,998$6,582,998$2,413,321$2,413,321$16,075,686$848,004$870,3931205,992source
FY2012$42,632,627$42,632,627$13,163,599$13,163,60031%$4,562,905$4,562,905$2,106,601$2,106,601$14,155,607$541,350$581,8631315,962source
FY2011$37,471,381$37,471,381$12,569,956$12,569,95734%$3,235,313$3,235,313$1,983,187$1,983,187$13,182,140$444,732$526,8521135,924source
FY2010$36,034,263$36,034,263$12,493,293$12,493,29335%$2,882,888$2,882,888$2,011,128$2,011,128$12,894,649$468,502$524,3881185,910source
FY2009$35,386,090$35,386,090$11,121,190$11,121,19031%$3,178,720$3,178,720$1,982,008$1,982,008$12,495,177$547,710$489,563995,920source
FY2008$33,031,503$33,031,503$10,683,874$10,683,87432%$2,858,365$2,858,365$1,933,221$1,933,221$10,694,931$476,353$449,8891235,840source
FY2007$27,708,145$27,708,145$8,678,120$8,678,12331%$2,936,170$2,936,171$1,553,196$1,553,195$9,565,734$396,864$326,0761386,489source

Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)

NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.

Not covered: Knight-Newhouse includes public schools only.

Form 990 compensation (private school)

IRS Form 990 Schedule J / Part VII via ProPublica, FY2025 (990 tax year 2024, FYE May 2025). Total = reportable compensation from the filing organization and related organizations. Names and titles as filed. Only the highest-paid employees are listed, so “not listed” does not mean unpaid. Not comparable with EADA or Knight-Newhouse figures.

PositionName (as filed)Title (as filed)Total comp.BaseBonus
Football head coachThomas R LashleeHead Football Coach$4,929,298$443,694$4,400,000
Men's basketball head coachAndrew EnfieldHead Basketball Coach -Current$7,606,787$370,139$3,454,480
Athletic directorRick HartAthletic Director$1,450,170$846,849$199,566

All athletics people listed: Andrew Enfield (Head Basketball Coach -Current): $7,606,787 ; Thomas R Lashlee (Head Football Coach): $4,929,298 ; Robert Lanier (Head Basketball Coach): $4,775,095 ; Rick Hart (Athletic Director): $1,450,170 ; Scott Symons (Defensive Coordinator): $1,049,318. EIN 750800689. Filing on ProPublica.

Schedule J Part III severance note: Robert Lanier received a seperation payment of $4,266,707 during 2024