Home › Schools › ACC › University of Louisville

University of Louisville

Conference (2026)
ACC
Control
Public
IPEDS UNITID
157289
City
Louisville (Louisville/Jefferson County balance)
City population
641,962 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
Metro area
Louisville/Jefferson County, KY-IN (Metropolitan): 1,402,509 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
TV market (DMA)
Louisville, KY: rank #49, 702,310 TV homes (0.560% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank not found
Endowment
$1.07B (FY2025) · scope: University of Louisville Foundation · source
Annual giving
not available (no fundraising total found; nothing estimated) · searched source
Accounting proxy (not a fundraising total): Proxy: UofL Foundation gift revenue $30.8M (excludes athletics, conditional pledges, bequests)

How to watch

Cheapest single package for every Louisville Cardinals game: ESPN Unlimited, $31.99/mo ($159.95 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $62.89 for the full season, $46.92 from Oct. 1. 6 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).

Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan

Sponsors, apparel & naming

  • Apparel: Adidas brand: secondary source · $160M ($16M/yr) · 10 yrs (to 2028)
    Adidas 10-yr extension (2017) worth $160M through 2027-28; USA Today lists among deals expiring 2027-28. [SP35] [SP53] [SP38] [SP34]
  • Stadium naming: L&N Federal Credit Union · $41M ($2M/yr) · 20 yrs
    L&N Federal Credit Union Stadium; 20 yrs, $41M (2023). Louisville paid Papa John's founder $9.5M to end prior deal. [SP61]

Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming

Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.

EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)

Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.

This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 4 of 19 years.

$0$45M$89M$134M$178MFY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
EADA total revenueEADA total expensesEADA football revenue (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal revenueTotal expensesFootball revenueFootball expensesFB share of rev. (calc)Men's BB revenueMen's BB expensesWomen's BB revenueWomen's BB expensesAthletic student aidRecruitingAvg head coach salary, men's teamsFootball participantsUndergrad enrollmentSource
FY2025$155,903,308$154,819,604$33,090,886$30,745,12521%$22,792,373$14,854,067$8,188,113$6,700,777$15,896,536$2,381,433$1,346,87512012,297source
FY2024$165,168,798$165,168,798$37,682,973$37,682,97323%$21,044,530$21,044,530$6,834,001$6,834,001$17,088,951$3,009,306$1,320,72711511,725source
FY2023$155,191,814$152,601,594$56,576,494$33,215,96136%$38,452,776$19,081,734$2,155,945$6,199,356$14,936,597$3,481,804$1,121,62612011,266source
FY2022$139,978,924$139,978,924$34,994,931$34,994,93125%$21,853,488$21,853,488$6,914,744$6,914,744$14,771,324$2,128,657$1,044,37111511,380source
FY2021$109,320,332$109,320,332$23,075,717$23,075,71721%$12,321,810$12,321,810$4,688,552$4,688,552$14,505,681$318,712$971,11112411,547source
FY2020$140,867,112$138,830,169$48,923,931$26,694,57535%$40,684,042$19,847,347$1,493,218$5,436,075$13,824,325$1,541,816$1,107,13911611,499source
FY2019$148,667,940$148,667,940$47,327,709$44,057,10632%$42,759,248$19,180,078$5,800,173$5,800,173$13,746,035$2,349,916$1,210,06712011,873source
FY2018$140,155,907$138,708,762$43,649,769$26,858,47331%$43,134,625$21,817,723$1,610,281$5,482,652$13,966,493$1,846,827$1,487,20510211,964source
FY2017$122,445,304$120,383,781$42,066,595$25,194,60934%$43,960,492$17,065,364$1,283,617$4,813,071$12,156,890$1,857,717$1,287,57612112,325source
FY2016$112,146,501$109,393,329$40,568,726$23,428,84136%$45,632,816$17,900,031$1,218,690$4,914,320$11,648,738$1,727,890$1,138,73611912,214source
FY2015$104,325,208$101,624,438$36,383,759$18,654,53035%$45,835,799$16,782,522$1,224,874$4,104,306$10,028,722$1,646,194$1,056,80112212,364source
FY2014$89,428,348$88,857,472$26,515,411$21,567,49430%$40,572,485$16,354,976$1,090,022$3,920,464$10,072,193$1,374,264$948,65612212,301source
FY2013$96,193,329$95,571,539$28,069,712$23,186,53629%$42,398,758$15,653,605$1,485,327$3,861,717$9,516,307$1,334,680$940,61212312,058source
FY2012$87,840,504$84,483,791$23,756,955$18,769,53927%$42,434,684$15,489,954$959,351$3,279,449$8,910,191$1,259,846$919,71911712,038source
FY2011$87,736,320$83,783,719$25,658,653$15,582,16129%$40,887,938$13,336,649$875,611$2,889,997$8,340,429$1,128,645$778,11313412,038source
FY2010$63,487,394$61,257,744$15,537,276$12,222,30724%$25,890,003$9,089,769$623,611$2,602,539$7,858,046$916,731$648,16411911,855source
FY2009$58,023,326$54,438,214$18,962,150$11,533,88533%$25,494,904$8,625,245$1,111,851$2,709,103$7,198,118$967,878$571,20712011,638source
FY2008$53,496,051$53,146,468$16,082,457$11,601,88430%$24,074,293$7,490,627$540,205$2,118,731$7,070,915$810,848$575,59612415,125source
FY2007$54,589,997$51,502,578$19,023,605$13,615,99135%$23,216,728$6,082,104$115,621$1,954,597$6,542,547$771,997$568,30011715,103source

Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)

NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.

$0$45M$89M$134M$178MFY05FY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
KN total athletic revenuesKN total athletic expensesKN subsidy (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal athletic revenuesTotal athletic expensesFootball spendingFootball coaching salariesConf./NCAA/media/postseasonTicket salesDonor contributionsSponsorship/licensingInst./govt supportStudent feesSubsidy (calc)Subsidy share (calc)Coaches comp.Non-coaching staff comp.Scholarships/aidFacilities/debt/equip.Coaching severanceInst. NIL rev. shareAnnual debt serviceAthletics debt outstandingSource
FY2025$146,912,011$160,408,294$31,710,311$12,365,759$48,957,394$34,240,447$21,203,827$24,645,765$5,965,092$903,695$6,868,7875%$30,267,040$25,319,487$19,464,202$38,968,731$2,762,735$12,657,868$12,899,978$83,484,550source
FY2024$150,603,594$165,168,804$38,777,030$13,632,430$45,658,742$32,823,030$23,060,390$27,064,018$10,361,855$800,000$11,161,8557%$32,302,092$23,084,733$17,753,592$28,071,134$7,580,655—$12,832,378$89,904,550source
FY2023$142,806,809$140,216,963$33,215,961$11,262,794$44,412,952$25,710,879$24,378,455$28,701,669$5,220,304$900,000$6,120,3044%$27,738,596$21,924,615$15,734,173$23,959,881$91,939—$12,286,243$97,537,950source
FY2022$146,225,965$139,978,927$34,994,933$9,776,832$39,247,870$27,045,669$30,413,091$24,681,920$5,167,836$900,000$6,067,8364%$26,136,852$19,877,513$15,198,642$18,611,113$5,886,894—$7,276,513$95,630,563source
FY2021$101,110,217$109,320,333$23,075,716$8,526,846$35,235,096$5,869,359$11,641,455$26,155,862$4,389,243$987,500$5,376,7435%$24,184,172$18,152,603$15,141,642$18,071,135$0—$19,632,167$85,438,632source
FY2020$140,867,112$138,830,169$26,694,575$9,719,940$32,526,505$27,501,377$36,361,594$16,124,670$4,542,393$900,272$5,442,6654%$25,869,324$20,705,725$13,824,325$24,925,685$576,137—$11,774,396$85,166,265source
FY2019$139,955,824$151,167,940$46,431,134$8,905,696$29,491,643$30,960,193$38,194,281$18,193,138$4,912,920$1,010,897$5,923,8174%$24,730,312$20,534,593$14,466,576$26,439,492$16,999,251—$11,581,550$95,566,353source
FY2018$134,155,908$132,708,762$26,435,741$9,756,460$29,912,865$30,193,960$35,612,331$10,935,605$5,352,834$1,975,000$7,327,8345%$26,603,245$22,536,702$14,792,057$27,062,623$7,986,325—$18,299,799$98,579,353source
FY2017$120,445,303$118,383,769$25,194,610$8,931,032$27,692,242$29,477,742$39,268,342$11,873,298$3,397,542$1,986,176$5,383,7184%$24,410,614$20,913,770$14,976,623$25,648,606$0—$21,077,564$102,898,000source
FY2016$112,146,504$109,393,330$23,428,837$7,625,391$26,372,625$29,054,868$30,391,706$10,452,961$5,415,733$1,987,361$7,403,0947%$23,307,089$17,791,121$14,707,934$24,995,311$0—$13,299,100$69,793,900source
FY2015$104,325,207$101,624,437$18,654,530$7,619,406$22,537,198$29,586,555$29,166,033$6,774,915$5,138,220$2,001,061$7,139,2817%$20,921,751$17,977,610$12,992,253$23,998,233$0—$13,151,834$80,021,033source
FY2014$88,745,348$88,174,474$21,567,492$7,755,110$10,461,106$26,928,635$29,379,612$4,956,633$5,808,253$1,960,346$7,768,5999%$20,884,261$14,844,320$10,601,474$14,519,115$0—$11,499,487$89,809,701source
FY2013$96,193,330$92,383,221$23,186,537$6,838,337$15,349,134$25,888,524$28,935,662$5,013,963$8,987,690$1,926,432$10,914,12211%$18,312,640$14,804,225$10,112,951$17,723,710$149,648—$11,389,377$97,789,948source
FY2012$87,840,501$84,133,793$18,769,538$5,338,005$12,987,293$23,432,735$28,312,576$3,680,103$8,941,175$1,853,010$10,794,18512%$16,097,138$14,386,479$9,362,072$17,752,122$404,029—$9,215,000$67,554,000source
FY2011$87,736,323$81,837,054$15,582,160$4,728,858$9,809,513$26,467,598$28,224,908$3,527,018$8,199,510$1,861,502$10,061,01211%$14,542,865$12,162,533$8,891,379$16,191,570$100,000—$11,733,000$99,756,000source
FY2010$63,487,395$61,257,743$12,222,307$3,430,425$7,543,787$18,395,654$16,781,073$3,171,521$6,613,923$1,929,017$8,542,94013%$12,094,797$11,009,429$8,219,998$10,739,239$845,922—$5,750,000$80,246,000source
FY2009$62,516,648$58,931,534$11,533,885$2,947,983$8,262,159$20,711,850$14,265,682$2,787,933$6,606,288$1,873,531$8,479,81914%$11,206,057$10,411,048$7,805,349$10,586,502$139,940—$5,241,000$80,536,000source
FY2008$56,540,896$55,145,760$11,601,884$2,939,291$6,682,650$17,107,971$14,558,756$3,693,906$6,482,302$1,926,381$8,408,68315%$10,440,122$9,963,536$7,645,106$10,244,756——$1,468,000$11,445,000source
FY2007$58,819,120$55,731,701$13,615,991$3,653,051$8,103,510$17,287,093$14,129,020$3,395,424$6,072,623$1,857,286$7,929,90913%$9,590,703$8,523,248$7,114,089$9,578,467$0—$2,687,000$12,305,000source
FY2006$52,020,246$48,807,290$10,500,469$2,626,491$7,865,057$15,351,891$13,137,225$3,000,137$5,343,929$1,857,752$7,201,68114%$7,661,229$7,538,438$6,599,878$8,857,659$0—$1,613,000$14,992,000source
FY2005$41,183,859$38,629,661$8,988,147$2,388,435$4,073,693$12,767,307$11,507,810$2,875,850$3,052,369$1,633,024$4,685,39311%$7,239,663$6,657,123$5,761,648$6,184,331$0—$1,678,000$16,605,000source
Data credit: Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database, a joint project of the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics and the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, Syracuse University.