Home › Schools › ACC › University of California, Berkeley

University of California, Berkeley

Conference (2026)
ACC (Joined ACC Aug 2, 2024 (from Pac-12))
Control
Public
IPEDS UNITID
110635
City
Berkeley, CA
City population
121,911 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025); source)
Metro area
San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA (Metropolitan): 4,630,041 (July 1, 2025 (Census Vintage 2025; 2023 OMB delineations); source)
TV market (DMA)
San Francisco-Oakland-San Jose, CA: rank #10, 2,542,480 TV homes (2.026% of U.S.), Nielsen 2024-25 (source); 2025-26 rank #9 (source)
Endowment
$3.39B (FY2025) · scope: UC Berkeley Foundation (foundation-held only) · source
Excludes Berkeley funds held by UC Regents
Annual giving
$720.1M (FY2025) · cash gifts and pledge payments (CAE cash convention); accrual $705.0M · source
Alumni gifts $158.7M

How to watch

Cheapest single package for every California Golden Bears game: Fubo Sports + News, $64.99/mo ($324.95 for 5 months). Month-by-month: $110.91 for the full season, $82.96 from Oct. 1. 7 of 12 games still TBD (priced worst case).

Prices and TV assignments as of 2026-10-01. Schedule, networks and month-by-month plan

Sponsors, apparel & naming

  • Apparel: Nike brand: secondary source · not disclosed
    Current deal value NOT FOUND in public reporting during this pass (private school, foundation-held contract, or not searched). [SP35]
  • Stadium naming: Kabam (2014 list) historical, unverified · $18M ($1.2M/yr) · 15 yrs
    Kabam Field at California Memorial Stadium 15 yrs $18M (2014 list; ~$1.18M/yr per On3). [SP72] [SP60]

Apparel brands come from a user-generated r/CFB list (secondary; spot-check) [SP35]. All apparel deals · Multimedia rights · Stadium naming

Financial data comes from three sources shown separately, which are not interchangeable: EADA (federal), Knight-Newhouse/NCAA (public schools) and IRS Form 990 (private schools). Do not add or compare figures across them.

EADA budget history (U.S. Dept. of Education)

Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act data; FY = academic year ending (FY2025 = 2024-25). Schools have wide latitude in what they count, and many report total revenue equal to total expenses, so an EADA “surplus” is not meaningful. Head-coach salary is an average across all men’s-team head coaches, not the football coach’s pay. Nominal dollars. Definitions.

This school reported EADA total revenue exactly equal to total expenses in 8 of 19 years.

$0$47M$93M$140M$187MFY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
EADA total revenueEADA total expensesEADA football revenue (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal revenueTotal expensesFootball revenueFootball expensesFB share of rev. (calc)Men's BB revenueMen's BB expensesWomen's BB revenueWomen's BB expensesAthletic student aidRecruitingAvg head coach salary, men's teamsFootball participantsUndergrad enrollmentSource
FY2025$173,116,318$173,116,318$63,954,618$46,721,91137%$13,249,051$14,101,936$10,750,160$10,750,160$23,138,879$3,866,291$788,33612031,574source
FY2024$146,563,317$146,563,317$45,082,235$45,082,23531%$11,696,433$11,696,433$6,119,609$6,119,609$16,026,821$3,522,381$817,17212131,543source
FY2023$134,872,865$134,872,865$37,960,056$37,967,28028%$9,070,947$9,071,947$5,035,689$5,035,689$14,722,330$2,922,077$694,38411630,820source
FY2022$118,212,181$114,485,848$44,472,660$34,014,92038%$8,487,064$7,532,218$1,330,479$4,356,537$13,128,737$2,049,687$609,93112130,197source
FY2021$91,710,744$88,251,768$24,064,183$24,188,67726%$5,787,965$5,912,459$2,936,837$2,936,837$10,790,232$366,609$515,66411629,297source
FY2020$105,044,581$101,829,451$36,129,629$31,223,68434%$7,367,945$7,177,832$502,329$3,722,045$10,881,640$1,402,823$500,45312129,988source
FY2019$94,646,123$94,646,123$33,532,252$27,790,11835%$7,840,731$6,131,940$588,318$4,020,718$11,931,409$1,714,498$544,41112029,564source
FY2018$90,695,900$89,310,761$32,650,505$25,140,85436%$8,085,222$6,444,068$491,698$3,898,627$12,894,510$1,355,590$348,29111929,351source
FY2017$89,382,397$86,097,059$44,279,264$22,909,59250%$10,443,327$7,559,603$476,890$3,659,544$12,501,296$1,112,673$518,46213328,107source
FY2016$84,200,594$84,200,594$41,527,030$22,079,26549%$8,316,795$8,658,628$3,373,521$3,373,521$11,635,041$1,264,592$616,21815426,622source
FY2015$85,539,904$76,348,304$43,651,316$21,802,87051%$9,003,605$6,455,744$967,414$3,144,729$9,620,242$1,222,126$448,77313426,320source
FY2014$90,262,140$76,446,272$33,265,304$22,176,91737%$9,658,364$6,287,360$1,214,500$2,999,691$9,817,864$1,054,670$441,69813025,220source
FY2013$91,815,125$76,362,086$37,660,430$23,071,01041%$9,492,943$6,302,822$1,419,147$3,308,658$9,948,021$839,227$455,21012925,018source
FY2012$68,183,405$67,634,784$26,072,231$19,232,05738%$8,004,748$6,406,523$2,853,869$2,974,167$10,031,458$890,145$533,73111725,138source
FY2011$65,006,338$64,825,171$24,328,784$17,398,64937%$6,417,866$4,892,366$629,850$2,568,552$8,841,848$919,410$380,13411524,929source
FY2010$69,034,737$69,034,737$24,421,437$18,519,52335%$6,967,208$5,816,679$2,183,820$2,981,083$11,113,230$1,006,028$477,84812024,796source
FY2009$73,354,967$73,354,967$27,747,396$19,122,92538%$5,793,217$4,757,998$1,568,221$3,822,216$9,908,152$837,140$463,53311524,385source
FY2008$63,884,710$63,833,963$27,826,942$15,264,30744%$6,102,199$4,428,916$1,837,771$2,756,352$8,829,698$740,877$362,05311124,636source
FY2007$60,538,725$60,538,725$26,001,075$17,283,71743%$5,952,235$3,840,457$1,966,176$2,277,320$8,317,318$777,600$445,79511423,863source

Knight-Newhouse budget history (NCAA financial reports)

NCAA Membership Financial Reporting System categories as presented by the Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database. “Total athletic revenues” are net of transfers back to the institution. Subsidy = institutional/government support + student fees (Knight’s definition; summed by us from the same row). Debt figures before FY2015 are not comparable (NCAA definition change). Not comparable with the EADA figures above. Nominal dollars.

$0$47M$93M$140M$187MFY05FY07FY09FY11FY13FY15FY17FY19FY21FY23FY25
KN total athletic revenuesKN total athletic expensesKN subsidy (nominal dollars; gaps = not reported)
Fiscal yearTotal athletic revenuesTotal athletic expensesFootball spendingFootball coaching salariesConf./NCAA/media/postseasonTicket salesDonor contributionsSponsorship/licensingInst./govt supportStudent feesSubsidy (calc)Subsidy share (calc)Coaches comp.Non-coaching staff comp.Scholarships/aidFacilities/debt/equip.Coaching severanceInst. NIL rev. shareAnnual debt serviceAthletics debt outstandingSource
FY2025$148,840,896$173,116,317$46,721,911$12,152,322$24,695,527$14,259,893$20,523,208$5,490,492$42,665,030$444,374$43,109,40428%$31,169,830$35,772,871$28,449,748$24,110,615$879,593$0$8,474,702$431,200,248source
FY2024$116,826,759$146,563,315$45,082,236$11,675,521$31,002,929$11,167,377$13,953,854$8,082,753$34,465,704$444,374$34,910,07830%$28,920,556$31,985,815$16,027,820$23,596,280$1,435,507—$8,754,830$431,833,505source
FY2023$126,090,323$134,872,860$37,967,279$10,587,865$34,158,631$10,227,443$14,577,964$14,449,998$33,273,931$444,374$33,718,30527%$26,673,513$29,464,818$14,746,854$24,085,708$415,581—$8,834,249$439,363,996source
FY2022$118,212,179$114,485,848$34,014,921$10,019,480$37,995,434$8,073,384$15,856,430$13,083,897$28,685,029$444,374$29,129,40325%$24,104,486$25,700,531$13,128,738$20,465,159$553,564—$9,004,767$439,974,051source
FY2021$91,997,368$88,539,090$24,188,678$8,860,768$21,072,253$121,832$12,163,867$9,202,835$17,621,063$444,374$18,065,43720%$21,973,516$22,546,669$10,798,732$16,590,007$976,055—$8,813,820$436,465,458source
FY2020$105,044,582$101,829,452$31,223,684$8,334,005$34,776,528$8,533,447$13,310,762$17,907,314$19,635,073$444,374$20,079,44719%$21,197,161$23,748,752$10,906,347$19,373,969$1,115,358—$9,306,938$438,690,000source
FY2019$87,500,758$106,676,734$36,251,313$8,606,742$35,753,176$11,430,872$15,301,922$17,201,102$0$0$00%$21,794,076$21,984,945$12,009,663$21,116,468$836,341—$9,431,659$438,564,941source
FY2018$91,247,489$110,558,630$39,569,523$6,271,723$32,407,966$10,528,294$18,107,982$21,490,730$0$0$00%$18,704,642$20,549,921$13,028,152$31,934,618$1,408,503—$19,071,191$438,018,196source
FY2017$90,976,576$106,959,739$37,182,528$6,302,615$30,925,407$13,483,996$20,539,482$12,847,555$0$0$00%$19,610,776$20,143,078$12,628,794$27,587,681$1,379,948—$18,881,198$438,161,849source
FY2016$81,653,024$103,381,770$32,580,960$6,504,681$28,674,573$10,690,053$19,774,870$8,789,179$0$389,362$389,3620%$20,008,183$19,428,058$11,681,595$27,006,959$236,351—$24,362,301$437,940,000source
FY2015$85,539,904$94,016,545$31,353,054$5,108,709$25,698,611$10,955,853$22,572,994$9,547,613$0$1,252,719$1,252,7191%$16,430,463$16,969,232$9,686,356$26,836,178$2,291,194—$23,211,000$437,940,000source
FY2014$90,262,142$90,108,023$31,140,564$4,510,260$22,593,502$14,219,724$22,693,205$9,468,564$3,537,799$1,444,374$4,982,1736%$14,669,054$17,250,198$9,864,873$7,649,227$2,403,280—$23,360,000$445,020,000source
FY2013$94,487,380$90,126,390$26,249,082$6,880,842$21,458,225$14,556,051$26,063,466$6,972,419$6,120,696$1,446,539$7,567,2358%$18,021,608$15,979,513$10,000,533$5,644,303$2,115,152—$24,280,000$428,268,000source
FY2012$71,183,404$68,578,362$20,643,873$5,347,734$15,278,707$11,126,452$12,977,962$7,204,042$7,071,517$2,446,595$9,518,11213%$15,783,515$14,713,392$10,052,886$3,818,130$5,375—$10,878$403,060source
FY2011$65,243,053$62,669,411$16,016,219$4,726,521$10,181,021$15,953,660$8,126,865$8,432,471$8,247,958$2,257,892$10,505,85016%$14,490,282$13,186,892$8,898,627$3,680,125$48,739—$9,021—source
FY2010$69,345,931$69,345,912$17,407,575$4,700,818$11,381,491$14,345,310$10,231,760$6,966,776$9,952,572$2,146,402$12,098,97417%$14,478,677$13,597,212$11,131,344$5,952,252$0—$235—source
FY2009$71,149,584$72,738,751$19,136,395$5,163,064$11,395,521$15,673,571$15,617,326$6,404,294$8,892,836$3,183,879$12,076,71517%$14,690,647$13,777,903$9,957,129$6,750,830$820,833—$239—source
FY2008$64,333,065$64,282,315$15,367,991$4,174,599$10,971,120$15,481,732$13,894,188$6,373,873$5,209,697$2,241,767$7,451,46412%$13,154,871$12,179,356$8,996,597$6,515,819$164,167—$237,000$2,990,000source
FY2007$60,826,660$60,826,660—$0$11,501,105$13,898,392$14,437,027$4,698,651$7,715,773$2,070,450$9,786,22316%$12,581,022$10,874,080$8,446,702$5,558,218————source
FY2006$48,444,444$53,722,726$12,590,098$3,432,225$9,977,029$9,493,791$12,238,572$4,377,090$3,640,146$1,968,367$5,608,51312%$10,647,548$10,015,686$8,402,347$5,120,048$272,241—$236,000$3,168,000source
FY2005$43,886,422$51,774,040—$0$9,442,026$9,994,602$9,506,519$4,143,889$3,273,942$1,910,736$5,184,67812%$9,908,123$9,316,993$8,043,265$4,506,055$175,220———source
Data credit: Knight-Newhouse College Athletics Database, a joint project of the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics and the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, Syracuse University.